Province comparison
Physician Licensing by Province
Licence status by province and territory
Boundaries simplified for display. Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Canada. Source: Statistics Canada, 2021 Census boundary files.
- Licence required
- Not confirmed yet
- British Columbia: Licence required
- Alberta: Licence required
- Saskatchewan: Licence required
- Manitoba: Licence required
- Ontario: Licence required
- Quebec: Licence required
- New Brunswick: Licence required
- Nova Scotia: Licence required
- Prince Edward Island: Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador: Licence required
- Yukon: Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories: Licence required
- Nunavut: Not confirmed yet
Compare the provinces
Listed one-time fees
| Where | Fees | Route | No-fee steps |
|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | Not listed | Trained outside Canada | 1 |
| Alberta | Not listed | Trained outside Canada | 6 |
| Manitoba | $240 | Trained outside Canada | 4 |
| Ontario | Not listed | Trained outside Canada | 3 |
| Quebec | Not listed | Trained outside Canada | 3 |
| New Brunswick | Not listed | Trained outside Canada | 3 |
| Nova Scotia | Not listed | Trained outside Canada | 3 |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Not listed | Trained in Canada | 3 |
| Northwest Territories | Not listed | Trained in Canada | 2 |
Listed time
Time not stated for every step: British Columbia, Alberta, Manitoba, Ontario, Quebec, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Newfoundland and Labrador, and Northwest Territories.
Side by side
| Where | Routes | Exams | Language | Listed fees | Listed time | Median wage | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | Trained outside Canada | MCCQE Part I, Comprehensive Osteopathic Medical Licensing Examinations, Practice Ready Assessment – British Columbia (PRA-BC) program | — | Not listed | — | $160,960 a year | Good (4 of 5) |
| Alberta | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Therapeutics Decision-Making (TDM) Exam, Practice Readiness Assessment (PRA), MCCQE Part I, NAC Examination | — | Not listed | 3 months (partial) | $178,213 a year | Very good (5 of 5) |
| Manitoba | Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Practice Ready Assessment – Family Practice, Practice Ready Assessment – Specialty Practice, NAC Examination | — | $240 (Trained outside Canada) | — | $240,395 a year | Very good (5 of 5) |
| Ontario | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Medical Council of Canada Evaluating Examination, MCCQE Part I | — | Not listed | — | $233,752 a year | Good (4 of 5) |
| Quebec | Trained in Canada, Trained outside Canada | United States Medical Licensing Examination (USMLE), OQLF exam, examen d’évaluation du Conseil médical du Canada (EECMC), examen d’aptitude du Conseil médical du Canada (EACMC), USMLE/Step 2 CK, MCCQE Part I, examens de spécialité en médecine de famille du Collège des médecins de famille du Canada (CMFC), examens du Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada | — | Not listed | 3.8 to 6.6 months (partial) | $268,808 a year | Good (4 of 5) |
| New Brunswick | Trained outside Canada | MCCQE Part I, National Assessment Collaboration Examination | — | Not listed | 2.8 months (partial) | $187,297 a year | Very good (5 of 5) |
| Nova Scotia | Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | MCCQE Part I, College of Family Physicians of Canada certification examinations (written and oral), Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada certification examinations (written and oral), practice ready assessment (PRA) | IELTS Academic | Not listed | 0 to 0.1 months (partial) | $187,135 a year | Very good (5 of 5) |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province | MCCQE Part I, Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS), Practice Ready Assessment (PRA-NL) | — | Not listed | — | $204,492 a year | Very good (5 of 5) |
| Northwest Territories | Trained in Canada | — | — | Not listed | — | — | Very good (5 of 5) |
Moving between provinces
- Direct transfer (45)
- Extra steps (9)
- Not stated (36)
All answers as a table
Demand and pay
Median wage
| Where | Low | Median | High |
|---|---|---|---|
| Canada | $90,826 | $232,227 | $435,240 |
| British Columbia | $56,864 | $160,960 | $348,082 |
| Alberta | $66,798 | $178,213 | $327,151 |
| Saskatchewan | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Manitoba | $97,422 | $240,395 | $487,678 |
| Ontario | $84,266 | $233,752 | $451,418 |
| Quebec | $95,137 | $268,808 | $505,024 |
| New Brunswick | $89,344 | $187,297 | $346,082 |
| Nova Scotia | $75,058 | $187,135 | $345,667 |
| Prince Edward Island | $89,508 | $209,676 | $333,708 |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | $86,738 | $204,492 | $396,356 |
| Yukon | $82,632 | $219,382 | $424,378 |
| Northwest Territories | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Nunavut | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Job outlook
| Where | Outlook |
|---|---|
| British Columbia | Good (4 of 5) |
| Alberta | Very good (5 of 5) |
| Saskatchewan | Very good (5 of 5) |
| Manitoba | Very good (5 of 5) |
| Ontario | Good (4 of 5) |
| Quebec | Good (4 of 5) |
| New Brunswick | Very good (5 of 5) |
| Nova Scotia | Very good (5 of 5) |
| Prince Edward Island | Very good (5 of 5) |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Very good (5 of 5) |
| Yukon | Good (4 of 5) |
| Northwest Territories | Very good (5 of 5) |
| Nunavut | Outlook not determined |
Tools and tables
- Licence transfer checker Already licensed in one province? See what another province asks for.
- Roadmap builder Your steps, listed fees and time for one occupation and province.
- Language test scores Minimum IELTS, CELPIP and other scores, by occupation and province.
- Credential assessments Which regulators ask for an assessment of your education.
- Licensing exams Which exams each regulator asks for.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.