Province comparison
Power Engineer (3rd Class) Licensing by Province
Licence status by province and territory
Boundaries simplified for display. Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Canada. Source: Statistics Canada, 2021 Census boundary files.
- Certification required
- Voluntary certification
- Not confirmed yet
- British Columbia: Not confirmed yet
- Alberta: Not confirmed yet
- Saskatchewan: Not confirmed yet
- Manitoba: Not confirmed yet
- Ontario: Not confirmed yet
- Quebec: Certification required
- New Brunswick: Voluntary certification
- Nova Scotia: Voluntary certification
- Prince Edward Island: Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador: Not confirmed yet
- Yukon: Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories: Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut: Not confirmed yet
| Where | Licence status | Regulator | Guide |
|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Alberta | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Saskatchewan | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Manitoba | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Ontario | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Quebec | Certification required | Centre administratif de la qualification professionnelle | Read the guide for Quebec |
| New Brunswick | Voluntary certification | New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour | Read the guide for New Brunswick |
| Nova Scotia | Voluntary certification | Nova Scotia Apprenticeship Agency | Read the guide for Nova Scotia |
| Prince Edward Island | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Yukon | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Northwest Territories | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Nunavut | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
Compare the provinces
Listed one-time fees
| Where | Fees | Route | No-fee steps |
|---|---|---|---|
| Quebec | Not listed | Trained in Canada | 6 |
| New Brunswick | $350 | Trained outside Canada | 3 |
Listed time
Time not stated for every step: Quebec and New Brunswick.
Side by side
| Where | Routes | Exams | Language | Listed fees | Listed time | Median wage | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Quebec | Trained in Canada | — | — | Not listed | — | — | — |
| New Brunswick | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Certification Exam | — | $350 (Trained outside Canada) | — | — | — |
Moving between provinces
- Direct transfer (2)
- Not stated (4)
All answers as a table
| Licensed in / moving to | Quebec | New Brunswick | Nova Scotia |
|---|---|---|---|
| Quebec | Same place | Direct transfer, Quebec to New Brunswick | Not stated, Quebec to Nova Scotia |
| New Brunswick | Not stated, New Brunswick to Quebec | Same place | Not stated, New Brunswick to Nova Scotia |
| Nova Scotia | Not stated, Nova Scotia to Quebec | Direct transfer, Nova Scotia to New Brunswick | Same place |
Tools and tables
- Licence transfer checker Already licensed in one province? See what another province asks for.
- Roadmap builder Your steps, listed fees and time for one occupation and province.
- Language test scores Minimum IELTS, CELPIP and other scores, by occupation and province.
- Credential assessments Which regulators ask for an assessment of your education.
- Licensing exams Which exams each regulator asks for.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.