Province comparison
Power System Electrician Licensing by Province
Licence status by province and territory
Boundaries simplified for display. Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Canada. Source: Statistics Canada, 2021 Census boundary files.
- Certification required
- Voluntary certification
- Not confirmed yet
- British Columbia: Not confirmed yet
- Alberta: Voluntary certification
- Saskatchewan: Not confirmed yet
- Manitoba: Certification required
- Ontario: Not confirmed yet
- Quebec: Not confirmed yet
- New Brunswick: Not confirmed yet
- Nova Scotia: Not confirmed yet
- Prince Edward Island: Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador: Not confirmed yet
- Yukon: Voluntary certification
- Northwest Territories: Certification required
- Nunavut: Voluntary certification
| Where | Licence status | Regulator | Guide |
|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Alberta | Voluntary certification | Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training | Read the guide for Alberta |
| Saskatchewan | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Manitoba | Certification required | Apprenticeship Manitoba | Read the guide for Manitoba |
| Ontario | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Quebec | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| New Brunswick | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Nova Scotia | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Prince Edward Island | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Yukon | Voluntary certification | Apprenticeship Training | Read the guide for Yukon |
| Northwest Territories | Certification required | Apprenticeship, Trades and Occupations | Read the guide for Northwest Territories |
| Nunavut | Voluntary certification | Apprenticeship, Trade and Occupations Certification | Read the guide for Nunavut |
Compare the provinces
Listed one-time fees
No one-time fees are listed in the guides for Alberta, Manitoba, Yukon, Northwest Territories, and Nunavut.
Listed time
Time not stated for every step: Alberta, Manitoba, Yukon, Northwest Territories, and Nunavut.
Side by side
| Where | Routes | Exams | Language | Listed fees | Listed time | Median wage | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alberta | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province | Theory exam, Entrance exam, Red Seal exam | — | Not listed | — | $51.64 an hour | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Manitoba | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Level Placement Exam | — | Not listed | — | $41.83 an hour | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Yukon | Trained outside Canada | — | — | Not listed | — | — | Undetermined |
| Northwest Territories | Trained in Canada | Written Certification Examination | — | Not listed | — | — | Undetermined |
| Nunavut | — | Written Level Examinations | — | Not listed | — | — | Undetermined |
Moving between provinces
- Extra steps (4)
- Not stated (16)
All answers as a table
| Licensed in / moving to | Alberta | Manitoba | Yukon | Northwest Territories | Nunavut |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alberta | Same place | Not stated, Alberta to Manitoba | Not stated, Alberta to Yukon | Not stated, Alberta to Northwest Territories | Not stated, Alberta to Nunavut |
| Manitoba | Extra steps, Manitoba to Alberta | Same place | Not stated, Manitoba to Yukon | Not stated, Manitoba to Northwest Territories | Not stated, Manitoba to Nunavut |
| Yukon | Extra steps, Yukon to Alberta | Not stated, Yukon to Manitoba | Same place | Not stated, Yukon to Northwest Territories | Not stated, Yukon to Nunavut |
| Northwest Territories | Extra steps, Northwest Territories to Alberta | Not stated, Northwest Territories to Manitoba | Not stated, Northwest Territories to Yukon | Same place | Not stated, Northwest Territories to Nunavut |
| Nunavut | Extra steps, Nunavut to Alberta | Not stated, Nunavut to Manitoba | Not stated, Nunavut to Yukon | Not stated, Nunavut to Northwest Territories | Same place |
Demand and pay
Median wage
| Where | Low | Median | High |
|---|---|---|---|
| Canada | $36.26 | $46.55 | $60.00 |
| British Columbia | $36.10 | $50.99 | $67.95 |
| Alberta | $33.03 | $51.64 | $69.92 |
| Saskatchewan | $38.66 | $49.37 | $59.02 |
| Manitoba | $25.50 | $41.83 | $49.64 |
| Ontario | $38.00 | $50.85 | $61.98 |
| Quebec | $36.46 | $39.30 | $56.25 |
| New Brunswick | $31.29 | $43.98 | $59.04 |
| Nova Scotia | $23.53 | $43.39 | $63.61 |
| Prince Edward Island | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | $35.29 | $49.79 | $59.89 |
| Yukon | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Northwest Territories | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Nunavut | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Job outlook
| Where | Outlook |
|---|---|
| British Columbia | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Alberta | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Saskatchewan | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Manitoba | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Ontario | Good (4 of 5) |
| Quebec | Limited (2 of 5) |
| New Brunswick | Outlook not determined |
| Nova Scotia | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Prince Edward Island | Outlook not determined |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Outlook not determined |
| Yukon | Outlook not determined |
| Northwest Territories | Outlook not determined |
| Nunavut | Outlook not determined |
Tools and tables
- Licence transfer checker Already licensed in one province? See what another province asks for.
- Roadmap builder Your steps, listed fees and time for one occupation and province.
- Language test scores Minimum IELTS, CELPIP and other scores, by occupation and province.
- Credential assessments Which regulators ask for an assessment of your education.
- Licensing exams Which exams each regulator asks for.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.