Province comparison
Rig Technician Licensing by Province
Licence status by province and territory
Boundaries simplified for display. Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Canada. Source: Statistics Canada, 2021 Census boundary files.
- Certification required
- Voluntary certification
- Not confirmed yet
- British Columbia: Voluntary certification
- Alberta: Certification required
- Saskatchewan: Voluntary certification
- Manitoba: Voluntary certification
- Ontario: Not confirmed yet
- Quebec: Not confirmed yet
- New Brunswick: Not confirmed yet
- Nova Scotia: Voluntary certification
- Prince Edward Island: Voluntary certification
- Newfoundland and Labrador: Voluntary certification
- Yukon: Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories: Voluntary certification
- Nunavut: Not confirmed yet
| Where | Licence status | Regulator | Guide |
|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | Voluntary certification | SkilledTradesBC | Read the guide for British Columbia |
| Alberta | Certification required | — | Read the guide for Alberta |
| Saskatchewan | Voluntary certification | Saskatchewan Apprenticeship and Trade Certification Commission | Read the guide for Saskatchewan |
| Manitoba | Voluntary certification | — | Read the guide for Manitoba |
| Ontario | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Quebec | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| New Brunswick | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Nova Scotia | Voluntary certification | — | Read the guide for Nova Scotia |
| Prince Edward Island | Voluntary certification | — | Read the guide for Prince Edward Island |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Voluntary certification | — | Read the guide for Newfoundland and Labrador |
| Yukon | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Northwest Territories | Voluntary certification | — | Read the guide for Northwest Territories |
| Nunavut | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
Compare the provinces
Listed one-time fees
| Where | Fees | Route | No-fee steps |
|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | $120 | Trained outside Canada | 4 |
| Saskatchewan | Not listed | — | — |
Listed time
Time not stated for every step: British Columbia and Saskatchewan.
Side by side
| Where | Routes | Exams | Language | Listed fees | Listed time | Median wage | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Certification exam, Practical assessment | — | $120 (Trained outside Canada) | 1.8 to 2.3 months (partial) | $43.00 an hour | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Saskatchewan | — | interprovincial journeyperson certification exam | — | Not listed | — | $42.00 an hour | Good (4 of 5) |
Moving between provinces
- Direct transfer (7)
- Not stated (49)
All answers as a table
Demand and pay
Median wage
| Where | Low | Median | High |
|---|---|---|---|
| Canada | $26.37 | $47.12 | $70.00 |
| British Columbia | $25.00 | $43.00 | $70.97 |
| Alberta | $25.00 | $48.50 | $70.00 |
| Saskatchewan | $34.50 | $42.00 | $57.00 |
| Manitoba | $32.00 | $35.77 | $52.00 |
| Ontario | $21.00 | $34.34 | $44.00 |
| Quebec | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| New Brunswick | $21.87 | $34.73 | $52.36 |
| Nova Scotia | $22.16 | $36.81 | $71.84 |
| Prince Edward Island | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | $28.75 | $35.00 | $60.00 |
| Yukon | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Northwest Territories | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Nunavut | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Job outlook
| Where | Outlook |
|---|---|
| British Columbia | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Alberta | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Saskatchewan | Good (4 of 5) |
| Manitoba | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Ontario | Very limited (1 of 5) |
| Quebec | Outlook not determined |
| New Brunswick | Outlook not determined |
| Nova Scotia | Very limited (1 of 5) |
| Prince Edward Island | Outlook not determined |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Very good (5 of 5) |
| Yukon | Outlook not determined |
| Northwest Territories | Outlook not determined |
| Nunavut | Outlook not determined |
Tools and tables
- Licence transfer checker Already licensed in one province? See what another province asks for.
- Roadmap builder Your steps, listed fees and time for one occupation and province.
- Language test scores Minimum IELTS, CELPIP and other scores, by occupation and province.
- Credential assessments Which regulators ask for an assessment of your education.
- Licensing exams Which exams each regulator asks for.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.