Province comparison
Sawfiler/fitter and Sawfitter Licensing by Province
Licence status by province and territory
Boundaries simplified for display. Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Canada. Source: Statistics Canada, 2021 Census boundary files.
- Voluntary certification
- Not confirmed yet
- British Columbia: Voluntary certification
- Alberta: Not confirmed yet
- Saskatchewan: Not confirmed yet
- Manitoba: Not confirmed yet
- Ontario: Not confirmed yet
- Quebec: Voluntary certification
- New Brunswick: Not confirmed yet
- Nova Scotia: Not confirmed yet
- Prince Edward Island: Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador: Not confirmed yet
- Yukon: Voluntary certification
- Northwest Territories: Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut: Not confirmed yet
| Where | Licence status | Regulator | Guide |
|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | Voluntary certification | SkilledTradesBC | Read the guide for British Columbia |
| Alberta | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Saskatchewan | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Manitoba | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Ontario | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Quebec | Voluntary certification | Centre administratif de la qualification professionnelle | Read the guide for Quebec |
| New Brunswick | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Nova Scotia | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Prince Edward Island | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Yukon | Voluntary certification | — | Read the guide for Yukon |
| Northwest Territories | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Nunavut | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
Moving between provinces
- Not stated (6)
All answers as a table
| Licensed in / moving to | British Columbia | Quebec | Yukon |
|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | Same place | Not stated, British Columbia to Quebec | Not stated, British Columbia to Yukon |
| Quebec | Not stated, Quebec to British Columbia | Same place | Not stated, Quebec to Yukon |
| Yukon | Not stated, Yukon to British Columbia | Not stated, Yukon to Quebec | Same place |
Demand and pay
Median wage
| Where | Low | Median | High |
|---|---|---|---|
| Canada | $21.63 | $34.72 | $47.85 |
| British Columbia | $26.00 | $37.32 | $50.00 |
| Alberta | $21.00 | $35.50 | $43.80 |
| Saskatchewan | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Manitoba | $21.10 | $30.67 | $36.15 |
| Ontario | $21.00 | $30.00 | $42.79 |
| Quebec | $16.50 | $28.00 | $34.90 |
| New Brunswick | $22.81 | $31.62 | $39.89 |
| Nova Scotia | $21.52 | $30.36 | $43.99 |
| Prince Edward Island | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | $19.00 | $36.15 | $65.71 |
| Yukon | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Northwest Territories | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Nunavut | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Job outlook
| Where | Outlook |
|---|---|
| British Columbia | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Alberta | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Saskatchewan | Good (4 of 5) |
| Manitoba | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Ontario | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Quebec | Limited (2 of 5) |
| New Brunswick | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Nova Scotia | Outlook not determined |
| Prince Edward Island | Outlook not determined |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Yukon | Outlook not determined |
| Northwest Territories | Outlook not determined |
| Nunavut | Outlook not determined |
Tools and tables
- Licence transfer checker Already licensed in one province? See what another province asks for.
- Roadmap builder Your steps, listed fees and time for one occupation and province.
- Language test scores Minimum IELTS, CELPIP and other scores, by occupation and province.
- Credential assessments Which regulators ask for an assessment of your education.
- Licensing exams Which exams each regulator asks for.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.