Province comparison
Stonemason Licensing by Province
Licence status by province and territory
Boundaries simplified for display. Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Canada. Source: Statistics Canada, 2021 Census boundary files.
- Voluntary certification
- Not confirmed yet
- British Columbia: Not confirmed yet
- Alberta: Not confirmed yet
- Saskatchewan: Not confirmed yet
- Manitoba: Not confirmed yet
- Ontario: Not confirmed yet
- Quebec: Not confirmed yet
- New Brunswick: Not confirmed yet
- Nova Scotia: Not confirmed yet
- Prince Edward Island: Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador: Voluntary certification
- Yukon: Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories: Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut: Not confirmed yet
| Where | Licence status | Regulator | Guide |
|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Alberta | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Saskatchewan | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Manitoba | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Ontario | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Quebec | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| New Brunswick | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Nova Scotia | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Prince Edward Island | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Voluntary certification | Apprenticeship and Trades Certification Division | Read the guide for Newfoundland and Labrador |
| Yukon | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Northwest Territories | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Nunavut | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
What the Newfoundland and Labrador guide lists
The Newfoundland and Labrador guide lists no one-time fees and does not state a time for every step.
| Where | Routes | Exams | Language | Listed fees | Listed time | Median wage | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | certification exam, Red Seal exam | — | Not listed | — | $38.50 an hour | Undetermined |
Demand and pay
Median wage
| Where | Low | Median | High |
|---|---|---|---|
| Canada | $25.78 | $40.00 | $48.78 |
| British Columbia | $27.50 | $38.00 | $50.00 |
| Alberta | $28.00 | $41.85 | $54.00 |
| Saskatchewan | $25.45 | $36.30 | $42.67 |
| Manitoba | $25.41 | $38.88 | $44.20 |
| Ontario | $25.00 | $38.00 | $50.83 |
| Quebec | $26.31 | $40.89 | $43.85 |
| New Brunswick | $21.00 | $32.00 | $48.31 |
| Nova Scotia | $22.50 | $31.00 | $36.63 |
| Prince Edward Island | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | $25.00 | $38.50 | $52.47 |
| Yukon | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Northwest Territories | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Nunavut | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Job outlook
| Where | Outlook |
|---|---|
| British Columbia | Very limited (1 of 5) |
| Alberta | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Saskatchewan | Outlook not determined |
| Manitoba | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Ontario | Good (4 of 5) |
| Quebec | Very limited (1 of 5) |
| New Brunswick | Outlook not determined |
| Nova Scotia | Good (4 of 5) |
| Prince Edward Island | Outlook not determined |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Outlook not determined |
| Yukon | Outlook not determined |
| Northwest Territories | Outlook not determined |
| Nunavut | Outlook not determined |
Tools and tables
- Licence transfer checker Already licensed in one province? See what another province asks for.
- Roadmap builder Your steps, listed fees and time for one occupation and province.
- Language test scores Minimum IELTS, CELPIP and other scores, by occupation and province.
- Credential assessments Which regulators ask for an assessment of your education.
- Licensing exams Which exams each regulator asks for.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.