Province comparison
Travel Counsellor Licensing by Province
Licence status by province and territory
Boundaries simplified for display. Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Canada. Source: Statistics Canada, 2021 Census boundary files.
- Licence required
- Not confirmed yet
- British Columbia: Not confirmed yet
- Alberta: Not confirmed yet
- Saskatchewan: Not confirmed yet
- Manitoba: Not confirmed yet
- Ontario: Licence required
- Quebec: Not confirmed yet
- New Brunswick: Not confirmed yet
- Nova Scotia: Not confirmed yet
- Prince Edward Island: Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador: Not confirmed yet
- Yukon: Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories: Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut: Not confirmed yet
| Where | Licence status | Regulator | Guide |
|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Alberta | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Saskatchewan | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Manitoba | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Ontario | Licence required | Travel Industry Council of Ontario | Read the guide for Ontario |
| Quebec | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| New Brunswick | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Nova Scotia | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Prince Edward Island | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Yukon | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Northwest Territories | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Nunavut | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
What the Ontario guide lists
The Ontario guide does not state a time for every step.
Listed one-time fees
| Where | Fees | No-fee steps |
|---|---|---|
| Ontario | $200 | 2 |
| Where | Routes | Exams | Language | Listed fees | Listed time | Median wage | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ontario | Trained in Canada | TICO Certification Program exam | — | $200 (Trained in Canada) | 150.1 months (partial) | $25.00 an hour | Moderate (3 of 5) |
Demand and pay
Median wage
| Where | Low | Median | High |
|---|---|---|---|
| Canada | $17.50 | $24.00 | $35.00 |
| British Columbia | $17.85 | $27.00 | $36.06 |
| Alberta | $19.75 | $23.00 | $31.73 |
| Saskatchewan | $22.63 | $24.37 | $36.61 |
| Manitoba | $17.50 | $22.60 | $26.00 |
| Ontario | $17.60 | $25.00 | $33.54 |
| Quebec | $17.88 | $21.63 | $35.90 |
| New Brunswick | $15.65 | $22.00 | $25.64 |
| Nova Scotia | $16.50 | $22.00 | $25.64 |
| Prince Edward Island | $18.00 | $23.07 | $35.99 |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | $16.00 | $22.00 | $25.64 |
| Yukon | $21.66 | $29.78 | $31.92 |
| Northwest Territories | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Nunavut | $25.22 | $34.21 | $60.08 |
Job outlook
| Where | Outlook |
|---|---|
| British Columbia | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Alberta | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Saskatchewan | Good (4 of 5) |
| Manitoba | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Ontario | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Quebec | Limited (2 of 5) |
| New Brunswick | Outlook not determined |
| Nova Scotia | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Prince Edward Island | Outlook not determined |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Outlook not determined |
| Yukon | Outlook not determined |
| Northwest Territories | Outlook not determined |
| Nunavut | Outlook not determined |
Tools and tables
- Licence transfer checker Already licensed in one province? See what another province asks for.
- Roadmap builder Your steps, listed fees and time for one occupation and province.
- Language test scores Minimum IELTS, CELPIP and other scores, by occupation and province.
- Credential assessments Which regulators ask for an assessment of your education.
- Licensing exams Which exams each regulator asks for.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.