How to Become a Counselling Therapist in Ontario
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the College of Registered Psychotherapists of Ontario to work as a counselling therapist in Ontario or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- Registered Psychotherapist
Show the source
“Unless the therapist is registered with one of five other Ontario regulatory bodies* whose registrants practise psychotherapy, the therapist cannot: - use the title “psychotherapist”, “Registered Psychotherapist” or any abbreviation or variation thereof in any language;”
From crpo.ca/registrant-information/professional-practice-information/cr..., checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 5 steps, listed one-time fees $330 (1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total)
- Licensed in another province: 3 steps, listed one-time fees $330
- Trained outside Canada: 4 steps, listed one-time fees $438 (1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total)
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Registered Psychotherapists of Ontario
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 5 done
- Listed one-time fees: $330
- 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
- 3 steps without a listed fee
-
Check whether your training program appears on CRPO's list of recognized programs.
Source
“Please review the list of recognized programs linked below. Is your training program listed?”
crpo.ca/apply-to-crpo/how-to-apply/determining-your-crpo-applicatio... -
Complete the online application and pay the required fees, after which the application is automatically submitted.
- Recognized Program Application Fee: $173
Source
“Recognized Program Application Fee $173 +HST”
crpo.ca/apply-to-crpo/how-to-apply/application-overview - Jurisprudence e-Learning Module (all applications): $157
Source
“Jurisprudence e-Learning Module (all applications) $157 +HST”
crpo.ca/apply-to-crpo/how-to-apply/application-overview
Source
“On the “Application Fee/Frais de demande” page of the application, click “Add to Cart” and proceed to paying the required fee(s).”
crpo.ca/apply-to-crpo/how-to-apply/application-overview - Recognized Program Application Fee: $173
-
Enroll in and successfully complete the Professional Practice & Jurisprudence eLearning Module.
Source
“Under the “JRP Details” tab, click “Enroll in JRP”. Pay for and successfully complete the Professional Practice & Jurisprudence eLearning Module.”
crpo.ca/apply-to-crpo/how-to-apply/application-overview -
As a Qualifying member, write the registration exam required for registration as a Registered Psychotherapist.
- Exam fee: $545 (set by and paid directly to COMPASS)
Source
“Exam fee: $545 + HST The fee to write the Registration Examination is set by and paid directly to COMPASS, the third-party organization that developed and administers the exam.”
crpo.ca/registrant-information/registrant-requirements/requirements...
Source
“In order to fulfill the requirements for registration as a Registered Psychotherapist (RP), all Qualifying members are required to write the registration exam.”
crpo.ca/registrant-information/registrant-requirements/requirements... - Exam fee: $545 (set by and paid directly to COMPASS)
-
Once registered, complete the required direct client contact and clinical supervision hours to transfer from RP (Qualifying) to RP and practise independently.
Source
“There are requirements for DCC and clinical supervision once registered in order to transfer from RP (Qualifying) to RP and for RP independent practice (i.e. practice without clinical supervision)”
crpo.ca/apply-to-crpo/how-to-apply/application-overview
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $330
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $173 | 52% |
| Exams | $157 | 48% |
| One-time total | $330 | 100% |
1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Licensed in another province
0 of 3 done
- Listed one-time fees: $330
- 1 step without a listed fee
-
Apply for registration with CRPO under the labour mobility route if you hold an equivalent certificate of registration in another Canadian province or territory.
- Labour Mobility Application Fee: $173
Source
“Labour Mobility Application Fee $173 +HST”
crpo.ca/apply-to-crpo/how-to-apply/application-overview
Source
“Under labour mobility laws, the College is legally required to accept the professional qualifications of individuals who hold “equivalent” certificates of registration in another Canadian province or territory and who have worked in that profession in their province within the previous three years.”
crpo.ca/apply-to-crpo/how-to-apply/labour-mobility - Labour Mobility Application Fee: $173
-
Successfully complete the Jurisprudence e-Learning Module, which CRPO can require under the labour mobility rules.
- Jurisprudence e-Learning Module (all applications): $157
Source
“Jurisprudence e-Learning Module (all applications) $157 +HST”
crpo.ca/apply-to-crpo/how-to-apply/application-overview
Source
“require the applicant to successfully complete the Jurisprudence e-Learning Module;”
crpo.ca/apply-to-crpo/how-to-apply/labour-mobility - Jurisprudence e-Learning Module (all applications): $157
-
After meeting the independent practice requirement of direct client contact and clinical supervision hours, submit the Labour Mobility Independent Practice Form.
Source
“If you are applying through the Labour Mobility application route for registration in the Registered Psychotherapist category, you will be asked to submit this form once you have met the independent practice requirement (completion of at least 1,000 direct client contact (DCC) hours and 150 clinical supervision hours).”
crpo.ca/apply-to-crpo/how-to-apply/labour-mobility
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $330
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $173 | 52% |
| Exams | $157 | 48% |
| One-time total | $330 | 100% |
1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Trained outside Canada
0 of 4 done
- Listed one-time fees: $438
- 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
- 2 steps without a listed fee
-
Have a third-party evaluator send CRPO a final credential assessment confirming your degree or diploma has been awarded or conferred.
Source
“If you completed your psychotherapy program outside of Canada, you must submit a final credential assessment confirming the degree or diploma has been awarded or conferred.”
crpo.ca/registrant-information/registrant-requirements/requirements... -
Complete the application and pay the application fee plus the education assessment fee required for graduates of non-recognized programs.
- Non Recognized Program Application Fees: $173
Source
“Non Recognized Program Application Fees $173 +HST”
crpo.ca/apply-to-crpo/how-to-apply/application-overview - Education Assessment Fee: $108
- Jurisprudence e-Learning Module (all applications): $157
Source
“Jurisprudence e-Learning Module (all applications) $157 +HST”
crpo.ca/apply-to-crpo/how-to-apply/application-overview
Source
“All applicants are required to pay the application fee. If you completed a non-recognized program, you will also be required to pay the education assessment fee. Your application is automatically submitted once payment is made.”
crpo.ca/apply-to-crpo/how-to-apply/application-overview - Non Recognized Program Application Fees: $173
-
Enroll in and successfully complete the Professional Practice & Jurisprudence eLearning Module.
Source
“Under the “JRP Details” tab, click “Enroll in JRP”. Pay for and successfully complete the Professional Practice & Jurisprudence eLearning Module.”
crpo.ca/apply-to-crpo/how-to-apply/application-overview -
As a Qualifying member, write the registration exam required for registration as a Registered Psychotherapist.
- Exam fee: $545 (set by and paid directly to COMPASS)
Source
“Exam fee: $545 + HST The fee to write the Registration Examination is set by and paid directly to COMPASS, the third-party organization that developed and administers the exam.”
crpo.ca/registrant-information/registrant-requirements/requirements...
Source
“In order to fulfill the requirements for registration as a Registered Psychotherapist (RP), all Qualifying members are required to write the registration exam.”
crpo.ca/registrant-information/registrant-requirements/requirements... - Exam fee: $545 (set by and paid directly to COMPASS)
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $438
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $173 | 39% |
| Assessment | $108 | 25% |
| Exams | $157 | 36% |
| One-time total | $438 | 100% |
1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
2 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Emergency Registration Fee: $350
- Temporary Registration Application Fees: $173
Source
“Temporary Registration Application Fees $173 +HST”
crpo.ca/apply-to-crpo/how-to-apply/application-overview - Indigenous Registration Pathway Fee: $173
Source
“Indigenous Registration Pathway Fee $173 +HST”
crpo.ca/apply-to-crpo/how-to-apply/application-overview - Education and training assessment fee: $108
Source
“Education and training assessment fee: $108 +HST”
crpo.ca/apply-to-crpo/how-to-apply/application-overview
Requirements
Education
The minimum education requirement for registration is a graduate-level psychotherapy program that meets all of the criteria in the Program Definition policy.
Source
“The minimum education requirement for registration is a graduate-level psychotherapy program that meets all of the criteria in the Program Definition policy.”
crpo.ca/apply-to-crpo/how-to-apply/determining-your-crpo-applicatio...
Experience
Labour mobility applicants must have worked in the profession in their province within the previous three years.
Source
“the College is legally required to accept the professional qualifications of individuals who hold “equivalent” certificates of registration in another Canadian province or territory and who have worked in that profession in their province within the previous three years.”
crpo.ca/apply-to-crpo/how-to-apply/labour-mobility
Insurance
Once registered, registrants must maintain professional liability insurance in the amount and form required under CRPO's By-laws.
Source
“Once registered, registrants are required to maintain PLI in the amount and in the form required under CRPO’s By-laws.”
crpo.ca/registrant-information/registrant-requirements/liability-in...
Good character
CRPO can ask labour mobility applicants about prior misconduct, offenses, and negligence findings and whether they are in good standing with their current regulatory body.
Source
“ask about prior misconduct, offenses, and negligence findings;”
crpo.ca/apply-to-crpo/how-to-apply/labour-mobility
Other
Currently, no direct client contact or clinical supervision hours are required to apply, but from January 1, 2027 a minimum of 125 DCC and 30 clinical supervision hours will be required.
Source
“Currently, for all application types, zero direct client contact (DCC) and clinical supervision hours are required to apply. Effective January 1, 2027, a minimum of 125 DCC and 30 clinical supervision hours will be required to apply.”
crpo.ca/apply-to-crpo/how-to-apply/application-overview
Already licensed in another province?
Direct transfer
Under the labour mobility rules, CRPO cannot require applicants already registered in the equivalent of the Registered Psychotherapist category to write the Registration Exam or look at their educational qualifications. Source
“require them to write the Registration Exam if the applicant is already registered in the equivalent of the Registered Psychotherapist category.”
crpo.ca/apply-to-crpo/how-to-apply/labour-mobility
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Registered Psychotherapists of Ontario
Credential assessment
Final credential assessment
exam_eligibility
Source
“If you completed your psychotherapy program outside of Canada, you must submit a final credential assessment confirming the degree or diploma has been awarded or conferred.”
crpo.ca/registrant-information/registrant-requirements/requirements...
Exams
-
Registration Exam (Canadian Professional Standard for Counselling and Psychotherapy (CPSCP): Entry to Practice Competency Assessment)
Source
“all Qualifying members are required to write the registration exam (also known as the Canadian Professional Standard for Counselling and Psychotherapy (CPSCP): Entry to Practice Competency Assessment)”
crpo.ca/registrant-information/registrant-requirements/requirements... -
Professional Practice & Jurisprudence eLearning Module
Source
“Pay for and successfully complete the Professional Practice & Jurisprudence eLearning Module.”
crpo.ca/apply-to-crpo/how-to-apply/application-overview
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Registered Psychotherapists of Ontario
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Registered Psychotherapists of Ontario
Supervised practice
Required
Once registered, registrants must meet additional requirements before they can practise independently, including completion of the registration exam and obtaining a set number of clinical supervision and direct client contact hours. Source
“Once a registrant is registered, they must meet additional requirements before they can practise independently – these include completion of the registration exam and obtaining a set number of clinical supervision and direct client contact hours.”
crpo.ca/registrant-information/registrant-requirements/requirements...
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ontario | $23.00 | $33.00 | $48.00 | Very good (5 of 5) |
| Canada | $23.00 | $34.00 | $50.00 | — |
Counselling therapists in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Not confirmed yet
- Alberta Not confirmed yet
- Saskatchewan Not confirmed yet
- Manitoba Not confirmed yet
- Quebec Licence required
- New Brunswick Licence required
- Nova Scotia Licence required
- Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Sources checked
- Cross Border Therapy Tool - CRPO crpo.ca/registrant-information/professional-practice-information/cr... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Determining Your CRPO Application Type - CRPO crpo.ca/apply-to-crpo/how-to-apply/determining-your-crpo-applicatio... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Application Overview - CRPO crpo.ca/apply-to-crpo/how-to-apply/application-overview · fetched October 10, 2026
- Requirements & Writing the Exam - CRPO crpo.ca/registrant-information/registrant-requirements/requirements... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Labour Mobility - CRPO crpo.ca/apply-to-crpo/how-to-apply/labour-mobility · fetched October 10, 2026
- Liability Insurance - CRPO crpo.ca/registrant-information/registrant-requirements/liability-in... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Emergency Category - CRPO crpo.ca/apply-to-crpo/how-to-apply/emergency-category · fetched October 10, 2026
- Requirements Overview - CRPO crpo.ca/registrant-information/registrant-requirements/requirements... · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a counselling therapist in Ontario?
Yes. Registration with the College of Registered Psychotherapists of Ontario is required to practise in Ontario, and to use the title Registered Psychotherapist.
Which exams are required?
Registration Exam (Canadian Professional Standard for Counselling and Psychotherapy (CPSCP): Entry to Practice Competency Assessment), Professional Practice & Jurisprudence eLearning Module.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.