At a glance

Licence status
Licence required See the source
Routes
Annual fees
Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Dental Technologists of Ontario

Your roadmap

Trained in Canada

  • 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
  • 4 steps without a listed fee
  1. Send your completed application form and required forms to the CDTO office by the posted deadline.

    Source
    “Part One: Send your completed application form and required forms to the CDTO office.”
    cdto.ca/2018-registration-examinations-application
  2. After the College reviews your application for completeness, access the applicant online self-service portal to activate your online application and pay the application evaluation and processing fee.

    Source
    “You will then receive an email providing you with access to the applicant online self-service portal to: Activate your online application; Pay the Application Evaluation & Processing Fee (non-refundable) of $260.”
    cdto.ca/2018-registration-examinations-application
  3. Have a final official transcript sent directly from George Brown College to the CDTO office confirming the Ontario College Advanced Diploma with a Major in Dental Technology.

    Source
    “Graduates of an approved dental technology program A final official transcript must be sent directly from George Brown College to the CDTO office. The transcript must state that the applicant has been awarded an Ontario College Advanced Diploma with a Major in Dental Technology.”
    cdto.ca/2018-registration-examinations-application
  4. Access the applicant online self-service portal again to pay the balance of the examination fees.

    Source
    “you will receive an email requesting that you once again access the applicant online self-service portal to pay the balance of examination fees.”
    cdto.ca/2018-registration-examinations-application
  5. Take the CDTO Registration Examination once all application requirements have been provided by the deadlines.

    Source
    “Applicants applying for the 2018 CDTO Registration Examinations must provide all application requirements by the posted deadlines to be eligible for the 2018 Registration Examination.”
    cdto.ca/2018-registration-examinations-application

Listed fees for this route

1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.

4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Licensed in another province

  • 3 steps without a listed fee
  1. Apply for a General Certificate of Registration with the CDTO while your out-of-province licence remains active.

    Source
    “To qualify for registration under Labour Mobility, an applicant must be registered in good standing, and hold a current, active and equivalent certificate of registration in another Canadian jurisdiction at the time the applicant applies for a General Certificate of Registration with the CDTO.”
    cdto.ca/labour-mobility
  2. Complete Section 1 of the Authorization Form, and have Section 2 completed by the regulator in the province where you are registered.

    Source
    “At the time you apply for registration with the CDTO you will be required to complete Section 1 of the Authorization Form and Section 2 must be completed by the DTR in which you are registered as an RDT, DT or TPAD.”
    cdto.ca/labour-mobility
  3. Provide certificates, letters or other evidence satisfactory to the Registrar or Registration Committee confirming good standing in every jurisdiction where you hold an out-of-province certificate.

    Source
    “provide one or more certificates or letters or other evidence satisfactory to the Registrar or a panel of the Registration Committee confirming that the applicant is in good standing as a dental technologist in every jurisdiction where the applicant holds an out-of-province certificate.”
    cdto.ca/labour-mobility

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with College of Dental Technologists of Ontario

3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Trained outside Canada

  • 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
  • 4 steps without a listed fee
  1. Send your completed application form and required forms to the CDTO office by the posted deadline.

    Source
    “Part One: Send your completed application form and required forms to the CDTO office.”
    cdto.ca/2018-registration-examinations-application
  2. After the College reviews your application for completeness, access the applicant online self-service portal to activate your online application and pay the application evaluation and processing fee.

    Source
    “You will then receive an email providing you with access to the applicant online self-service portal to: Activate your online application; Pay the Application Evaluation & Processing Fee (non-refundable) of $260.”
    cdto.ca/2018-registration-examinations-application
  3. Have a completed ICAS dental technology program assessment sent directly from ICAS to the CDTO office.

    Source
    “Graduates of a non-approved dental technology program A completed International Credential Assessment Services (ICAS) dental technology program assessment must be sent directly from ICAS to the CDTO office.”
    cdto.ca/2018-registration-examinations-application
  4. Access the applicant online self-service portal again to pay the balance of the examination fees.

    Source
    “you will receive an email requesting that you once again access the applicant online self-service portal to pay the balance of examination fees.”
    cdto.ca/2018-registration-examinations-application
  5. Take the CDTO Registration Examination if your program assessment shows the curriculum and training covered at least 80% of the competency profile.

    Source
    “The curriculum and actual training of the dental technology program must cover at least 80% of the Competency Profile of Canadian Dental Technicians/Technologist for an applicant to be eligible to take the CDTO's Registration Examination.”
    cdto.ca/2018-registration-examinations-application

Listed fees for this route

1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.

4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Requirements

Education

  • Graduates of an approved dental technology program must have a final official transcript sent directly from George Brown College stating they were awarded an Ontario College Advanced Diploma with a Major in Dental Technology.

    Source
    “The transcript must state that the applicant has been awarded an Ontario College Advanced Diploma with a Major in Dental Technology.”
    cdto.ca/2018-registration-examinations-application
  • Graduates of a non-approved dental technology program must have an ICAS assessment showing the program's curriculum and training covered at least 80% of the Competency Profile of Canadian Dental Technicians/Technologist.

    Source
    “The curriculum and actual training of the dental technology program must cover at least 80% of the Competency Profile of Canadian Dental Technicians/Technologist for an applicant to be eligible to take the CDTO's Registration Examination.”
    cdto.ca/2018-registration-examinations-application
  • PLAR pilot applicants need at least a high school or secondary education, or post-secondary education in a non-dental health program that meets Canadian standards.

    Source
    “At least a high school/secondary education or post-secondary education in a non-dental health program that meets Canadian standards”
    cdto.ca/new-opportunity-plar-pilot-program-for-experienced-dental-t...

Experience

  • PLAR pilot applicants need at least five years (6,500 hours) of verifiable work experience in dental technology, with at least one year (1,300 hours) completed within the past 36 months.

    Source
    “A minimum of five years (6,500 hours) of verifiable work experience in dental technology, with at least one year (1,300 hours) completed within the past 36 months”
    cdto.ca/new-opportunity-plar-pilot-program-for-experienced-dental-t...

Residency

Other

  • Labour mobility applicants must be registered in good standing and hold a current, active and equivalent certificate of registration in another Canadian jurisdiction when they apply.

    Source
    “To qualify for registration under Labour Mobility, an applicant must be registered in good standing, and hold a current, active and equivalent certificate of registration in another Canadian jurisdiction at the time the applicant applies for a General Certificate of Registration with the CDTO.”
    cdto.ca/labour-mobility

Already licensed in another province?

Direct transfer

Applicants registered in another Canadian jurisdiction can register under Labour Mobility provisions based on their equivalent out-of-province certificate, with no entry-to-practice exam or competence assessment required, though they must provide evidence of good standing and a completed Authorization Form.

Source
“To qualify for registration under Labour Mobility, an applicant must be registered in good standing, and hold a current, active and equivalent certificate of registration in another Canadian jurisdiction at the time the applicant applies for a General Certificate of Registration with the CDTO.”
cdto.ca/labour-mobility

  1. Apply for General Certificate

    Source
    “To qualify for registration under Labour Mobility, an applicant must be registered in good standing, and hold a current, active and equivalent certificate of registration in another Canadian jurisdiction at the time the applicant applies for a General Certificate of Registration with the CDTO.”
    cdto.ca/labour-mobility
  2. Complete Authorization Form

    Source
    “At the time you apply for registration with the CDTO you will be required to complete Section 1 of the Authorization Form and Section 2 must be completed by the DTR in which you are registered as an RDT, DT or TPAD.”
    cdto.ca/labour-mobility
  3. Provide good standing evidence

    Source
    “provide one or more certificates or letters or other evidence satisfactory to the Registrar or a panel of the Registration Committee confirming that the applicant is in good standing as a dental technologist in every jurisdiction where the applicant holds an out-of-province certificate.”
    cdto.ca/labour-mobility

Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Dental Technologists of Ontario

Check a move between two provinces

Credential assessment

  • ICAS dental technology program assessment

    Assesses postsecondary dental technology education for graduates of non-approved dental technology programs.

    Source
    “A completed International Credential Assessment Services (ICAS) dental technology program assessment must be sent directly from ICAS to the CDTO office.”
    cdto.ca/2018-registration-examinations-application

Exams

  • Dental Technology Entry-to-Practice Assessment (DTETPA)

    Source
    “Applicants who have never challenged the CDTO licensure exams will have the opportunity to challenge the new national Dental Technology Entry-to-Practice Assessment (DTETPA).”
    cdto.ca/17828
  • Knowledge Based Assessment (KBA)

    Source
    “Knowledge Based Assessment (KBA): 150 – 200 questions – multiple choice, multiple select, and image-based selection”
    cdto.ca/17828
  • Performance Based Assessment (PBA)

    Source
    “Practical Based Assessment (PBA): 10 – 12 stations”
    cdto.ca/17828
  • Jurisprudence & Ethics Examination

    Source
    “Individuals applying for licensing in Ontario will also be required to successfully complete the CDTO's Jurisprudence & Ethics Examination as part of the requirements for registration.”
    cdto.ca/17828

Language tests

Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Dental Technologists of Ontario

Compare scores across provinces and professions

Canadian experience

Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Dental Technologists of Ontario

Supervised practice

Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Dental Technologists of Ontario

Demand and pay

Job Bank wages and outlook in Ontario and Canada
WhereLowMedianHighOutlook
Ontario $20.94 $29.41 $41.74 Moderate (3 of 5)
Canada $19.00 $29.00 $45.00 —

Wages by region and job outlook in Ontario

Wages in every province and territory

Dental technicians in other provinces and territories

Compare dental technician licensing across Canada

Sources checked

  1. ontario.ca/page/work-your-profession-or-trade ontario.ca/page/work-your-profession-or-trade
  2. For Applicant | College of Dental Technologists of Ontario cdto.ca/applicant · fetched October 10, 2026
  3. 2018 Registration Examinations Application | College of Dental Technologists of Ontario cdto.ca/2018-registration-examinations-application · fetched October 10, 2026
  4. Labour Mobility | College of Dental Technologists of Ontario cdto.ca/labour-mobility · fetched October 10, 2026
  5. PLAR Pilot Program for Experienced Dental Technology Professionals | College of Dental Technologists of Ontario cdto.ca/new-opportunity-plar-pilot-program-for-experienced-dental-t... · fetched October 10, 2026
  6. An Important Message About COVID-19 and The 2020 Licensure Examinations | College of Dental Technologists of Ontario cdto.ca/17828 · fetched October 10, 2026

Frequently asked questions

2

Do you need a licence to work as a dental technician in Ontario?

Yes. Registration with the College of Dental Technologists of Ontario is required to practise in Ontario.

Which exams are required?

Dental Technology Entry-to-Practice Assessment (DTETPA), Knowledge Based Assessment (KBA), Performance Based Assessment (PBA), Jurisprudence & Ethics Examination.

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.