How to Become an Educational Assistant in Ontario
Do you need certification?
Certification is voluntary
Educational assistant is a voluntary trade in Ontario. You can work in the trade without a certificate.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“As this trade is non-compulsory, the information of individuals practicing this trade will not appear on the Skilled Trades Ontario Public Register.”
From skilledtradesontario.ca/trade-information/educational-assistant, checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Voluntary certification See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 4 steps
- Licensed in another province: 3 steps
- Trained outside Canada: no separate route
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with Skilled Trades Ontario
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 4 done
- 4 steps without a listed fee
- Listed time: 88.8 months (only 2 of 4 steps state a time)
-
The applicant begins an apprenticeship training program that combines on-the-job and in-school training.
Source
“An apprenticeship training program consists of on-the-job and in-school training.”
skilledtradesontario.ca/trade-information/educational-assistant -
The apprentice completes on-the-job practical training under a sponsor or trainer, who signs off the skills in the Apprenticeship Training Standard as they are demonstrated.
Time: 2,268 daysTime source
“Generally, the time-frame to become competent in the trade of Educational Assistant is 2700 hours (approximately one and a half years) consisting of 2268 hours of on-the-job work experience and 432 hours of in-school training.”
skilledtradesontario.ca/trade-information/educational-assistantSource
“As these essential skills are developed, the apprentice’s sponsor or trainer signs the relevant sections of the training standard to indicate that the apprentice has met the individual training objectives by demonstrating the skills required of a skilled worker, or journeyperson, in the trade.”
skilledtradesontario.ca/trade-information/educational-assistant -
The apprentice completes in-school theoretical training, which may be delivered in different ways depending on the training delivery agency.
Time: 432 daysTime source
“Generally, the time-frame to become competent in the trade of Educational Assistant is 2700 hours (approximately one and a half years) consisting of 2268 hours of on-the-job work experience and 432 hours of in-school training.”
skilledtradesontario.ca/trade-information/educational-assistantSource
“Depending on the training delivery agency, in-school training may be available in one of the following ways: block release (full-time, for a set number of weeks)”
skilledtradesontario.ca/trade-information/educational-assistant -
Upon completing the apprenticeship program, Skilled Trades Ontario issues a Certificate of Apprenticeship, which is the highest level of certification for this trade.
Source
“Upon completion of an apprenticeship program, Skilled Trades Ontario issues a Certificate of Apprenticeship. This is the highest level of certification available for the trade.”
skilledtradesontario.ca/trade-information/educational-assistant
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Skilled Trades Ontario
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Licensed in another province
0 of 3 done
- 3 steps without a listed fee
-
The applicant finds a sponsor in Ontario.
-
The applicant applies for an apprenticeship program in Ontario and checks off the section of the form indicating they have completed training in another province.
Source
“2. Apply for an apprenticeship program in Ontario. - On your application you will need to check off the section of the form that you have completed training in another province.”
skilledtradesontario.ca/apprenticeship/current-apprentices -
Skilled Trades Ontario contacts the applicant to verify their out-of-province training after the application has been submitted.
Source
“4. Skilled Trades Ontario will contact you to verify your out-of-province training after you have submitted your application.”
skilledtradesontario.ca/apprenticeship/current-apprentices
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Skilled Trades Ontario
3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Trained outside Canada
No separate route for this group. Source
“As there is no certifying exam in this trade, Skilled Trades Ontario does not issue a Certificate of Qualification and therefore cannot accept Trade Equivalency Assessment applications for this trade.”
skilledtradesontario.ca/trade-information/educational-assistant
Requirements
Not stated by the regulator Check with Skilled Trades Ontario
Already licensed in another province?
Not stated
The pages describe credit for out-of-province apprenticeship training, but do not state whether a person already licensed in another province can register based on their licence without further assessment. Source
“If you’re a registered apprentice in another province or territory, you may get credit for your training in Ontario.”
skilledtradesontario.ca/apprenticeship/current-apprentices
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Skilled Trades Ontario
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with Skilled Trades Ontario
Exams
Not stated by the regulator Check with Skilled Trades Ontario
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with Skilled Trades Ontario
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with Skilled Trades Ontario
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with Skilled Trades Ontario
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ontario | $17.60 | $26.00 | $32.42 | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Canada | $18.29 | $25.01 | $32.42 | — |
Educational assistants in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Not confirmed yet
- Alberta Not confirmed yet
- Saskatchewan Not confirmed yet
- Manitoba Not confirmed yet
- Quebec Not confirmed yet
- New Brunswick Not confirmed yet
- Nova Scotia Not confirmed yet
- Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Sources checked
- Educational Assistant - Skilled Trades Ontario skilledtradesontario.ca/trade-information/educational-assistant · fetched October 10, 2026
- Current apprentices - Skilled Trades Ontario skilledtradesontario.ca/apprenticeship/current-apprentices · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
1
Do you need a licence to work as an educational assistant in Ontario?
No. Certification is available, but it is not required to work in the trade in Ontario. Certification is managed by Skilled Trades Ontario.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.