At a glance

Licence status
Certification required See the source
Annual fees
Not stated by the regulator Check with Skilled Trades Ontario

Your roadmap

Trained in Canada

  • 6 steps without a listed fee
  1. The applicant registers a Registered Training Agreement to begin the apprenticeship program administered by Skilled Trades Ontario.

    Source
    “This trade has an apprenticeship program that is administered by Skilled Trades Ontario.”
    skilledtradesontario.ca/trade-information/electrician-domestic-and-...
  2. The apprentice completes the required on-the-job work experience hours, with the sponsor or trainer signing off skills in the Apprenticeship Training Standard as they are demonstrated.

    Source
    “As these essential skills are developed, the apprentice’s sponsor or trainer signs the relevant sections of the training standard to indicate that the apprentice has met the individual training objectives by demonstrating the skills required of a skilled worker, or journeyperson, in the trade.”
    skilledtradesontario.ca/trade-information/electrician-domestic-and-...
  3. The apprentice completes two levels of theoretical in-school training, which may be delivered as block release, day release, part-time or alternative delivery depending on the training delivery agency.

    Source
    “An Electrician — Domestic and Rural apprenticeship includes two levels of theoretical training”
    skilledtradesontario.ca/trade-information/electrician-domestic-and-...
  4. Upon completion of the apprenticeship program, Skilled Trades Ontario issues a Certificate of Apprenticeship.

    Source
    “Upon completion of an apprenticeship program, Skilled Trades Ontario issues a Certificate of Apprenticeship.”
    skilledtradesontario.ca/trade-information/electrician-domestic-and-...
  5. The applicant passes the certifying exam for the trade.

    Source
    “This trade has a certifying exam. Upon passing the certifying exam, Skilled Trades Ontario issues a Certificate of Qualification in this trade.”
    skilledtradesontario.ca/trade-information/electrician-domestic-and-...
  6. After passing the certifying exam, Skilled Trades Ontario issues a Certificate of Qualification in the trade.

    Source
    “Upon passing the certifying exam, Skilled Trades Ontario issues a Certificate of Qualification in this trade.”
    skilledtradesontario.ca/trade-information/electrician-domestic-and-...

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Skilled Trades Ontario

6 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Licensed in another province

  • 3 steps without a listed fee
  1. The applicant finds a sponsor in Ontario.

    Source
    “1. Find a sponsor in Ontario.”
    skilledtradesontario.ca/apprenticeship/current-apprentices
  2. The applicant applies for an apprenticeship program in Ontario, checking off the section of the form indicating they have completed training in another province.

    Source
    “Apply for an apprenticeship program in Ontario. - On your application you will need to check off the section of the form that you have completed training in another province.”
    skilledtradesontario.ca/apprenticeship/current-apprentices
  3. Skilled Trades Ontario contacts the applicant to verify their out-of-province training after the application has been submitted.

    Source
    “Skilled Trades Ontario will contact you to verify your out-of-province training after you have submitted your application.”
    skilledtradesontario.ca/apprenticeship/current-apprentices

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Skilled Trades Ontario

3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Requirements

Experience

  • The apprenticeship for this trade is set at 7,200 hours, consisting of 6,390 hours of on-the-job work experience and 810 hours of in-school training.

    Source
    “has set the hours of apprenticeship training for the trade Electrician – Domestic and Rural at 7,200 (approximately four years), which consists of 6,390 hours on the job work experience and 810 hours of in-school training.”
    skilledtradesontario.ca/trade-information/electrician-domestic-and-...

Already licensed in another province?

Not stated

The pages state that holders of a certificate, licence or credential from another Canadian province or territory must submit a PDF application form to Skilled Trades Ontario to obtain an Ontario Certificate of Qualification, but they do not state whether an exam or competence assessment is required.

Source
“If you have a certificate, license or credential from another Canadian province or territory and would like to obtain an Ontario Certificate of Qualification, please note that the Canadian certificate holder application is currently not available through the Skilled Trades Ontario Portal.”
skilledtradesontario.ca/skilled-trades-ontario-portal

  1. Submit Canadian certificate application

    Source
    “If you have a certificate, license or credential from another Canadian province or territory and would like to obtain an Ontario Certificate of Qualification, please note that the Canadian certificate holder application is currently not available through the Skilled Trades Ontario Portal. You must use the PDF application form and email or mail your application to Skilled Trades Ontario.”
    skilledtradesontario.ca/skilled-trades-ontario-portal

Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Skilled Trades Ontario

Check a move between two provinces

Credential assessment

Not stated by the regulator Check with Skilled Trades Ontario

Exams

Language tests

Not stated by the regulator Check with Skilled Trades Ontario

Compare scores across provinces and professions

Canadian experience

Not stated by the regulator Check with Skilled Trades Ontario

Supervised practice

Not stated by the regulator Check with Skilled Trades Ontario

Demand and pay

Job Bank wages and outlook in Ontario and Canada
WhereLowMedianHighOutlook
Ontario $20.00 $34.00 $50.50 Moderate (3 of 5)
Canada $20.00 $35.00 $48.00 —

Wages by region and job outlook in Ontario

Wages in every province and territory

Electricians - domestic and rural in other provinces and territories

  • British Columbia Not confirmed yet
  • Alberta Not confirmed yet
  • Saskatchewan Not confirmed yet
  • Manitoba Not confirmed yet
  • Quebec Not confirmed yet
  • New Brunswick Not confirmed yet
  • Nova Scotia Not confirmed yet
  • Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
  • Newfoundland and Labrador Certification required
  • Yukon Not confirmed yet
  • Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
  • Nunavut Not confirmed yet

Compare electrician - domestic and rural licensing across Canada

Sources checked

  1. Electrician - Domestic and Rural - Skilled Trades Ontario skilledtradesontario.ca/trade-information/electrician-domestic-and-... · fetched October 11, 2026
  2. Current apprentices - Skilled Trades Ontario skilledtradesontario.ca/apprenticeship/current-apprentices · fetched October 10, 2026
  3. Skilled Trades Ontario Portal - Skilled Trades Ontario skilledtradesontario.ca/skilled-trades-ontario-portal · fetched October 10, 2026

Frequently asked questions

2

Do you need a licence to work as an electrician - domestic and rural in Ontario?

Yes. Certification, or registration as an apprentice, is required to work in the trade in Ontario. Certification is managed by Skilled Trades Ontario.

Which exams are required?

certifying exam.

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.