How to Become an Occupational Therapist in Ontario
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the College of Occupational Therapists of Ontario to work as an occupational therapist in Ontario or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- occupational therapist, OT
Show the source
“It’s illegal in Ontario for someone to use the title “occupational therapist”, the initials “OT” or any variation if they are not registered with the College.”
From coto.org/employers/hiring-an-occupational-therapist, checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 0 steps
- Licensed in another province: 10 steps, listed one-time fees $271.20
- Trained outside Canada: 2 steps
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Occupational Therapists of Ontario
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
Steps not listed by the regulator Check with College of Occupational Therapists of Ontario
Licensed in another province
0 of 10 done
- Listed one-time fees: $271.20
- 8 steps without a listed fee
-
If you are in Ontario and want to start working before registering, complete the As of Right Attestation form.
Source
“If you are in Ontario and want to start work prior to registering with COTO, you can do so by completing the As of Right Attestation form.”
coto.org/applicants/registered-in-another-province -
Complete all sections of the As of Right Attestation Form, making sure every section marked with an asterisk is filled in.
Source
“Complete all sections of the As of Right Attestation Form (English | French), ensuring all sections marked with an asterisk (*) are filled in.”
coto.org/applicants/registered-in-another-province/as-of-right -
Pay the As of Right fee through your bank as an online payment by adding the College as a payee name.
- As of Right fee: $45.20
Source
“Please pay the $45.20 “As of Right” fee through your bank as an online payment by adding the College of Occupational Therapists of Ontario as a payee name.”
coto.org/applicants/registered-in-another-province/as-of-right
Source
“Please pay the $45.20 “As of Right” fee through your bank as an online payment by adding the College of Occupational Therapists of Ontario as a payee name.”
coto.org/applicants/registered-in-another-province/as-of-right - As of Right fee: $45.20
-
Email your completed form and proof of payment to the College's registration email address.
Source
“Email your completed form and proof of payment to [email protected].”
coto.org/applicants/registered-in-another-province/as-of-right -
You will receive email confirmation that you are authorized to practice in Ontario.
Source
“You will receive email confirmation that you are authorized to practice in Ontario.”
coto.org/applicants/registered-in-another-province/as-of-right -
If applying to register now, complete all sections of the College's standard online application form for registrants of another province under Labour Mobility.
Source
“Complete all sections of COTO’s standard registration online application form for registrants of another province (Labour Mobility).”
coto.org/applicants/registered-in-another-province/labour-mobility-... -
Pay the application fee for the Labour Mobility registration application.
- Application fee: $226
Source
“Pay the $226.00 application fee.”
coto.org/applicants/registered-in-another-province/labour-mobility-...
Source
“Pay the $226.00 application fee.”
coto.org/applicants/registered-in-another-province/labour-mobility-... - Application fee: $226
-
Arrange for the organization where you are currently registered to complete the Labour Mobility Application Form and the Regulatory History Form.
Source
“Arrange for completion of the Labour Mobility Application Form (English | French) and the Regulatory History Form (English | French) by the organization where you are currently registered.”
coto.org/applicants/registered-in-another-province/labour-mobility-... -
Meet all other registration requirements listed on the Labour Mobility page.
Source
“Meet all other registration requirements (see below)”
coto.org/applicants/registered-in-another-province/labour-mobility-... -
Pay the registration fee to finish the Labour Mobility registration process.
Source
“Pay the registration fee.”
coto.org/applicants/registered-in-another-province/labour-mobility-...
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $271.20
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Other | $271.20 | 100% |
| One-time total | $271.20 | 100% |
8 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Trained outside Canada
0 of 2 done
- 2 steps without a listed fee
-
Complete the Substantial Equivalency Assessment System process, which determines whether your education and competencies are substantially equivalent to an Ontario-educated occupational therapist.
Source
“SEAS will determine whether your educational qualifications and competencies are substantially equivalent to an Ontario-educated occupational therapist. The Association of Canadian Occupational Therapy Regulatory Organizations (ACOTRO) administers SEAS as a service provider to the College.”
coto.org/applicants/internationally-educated -
Pass the National Occupational Therapy Certification Examination, which you can write once the College confirms you meet the education requirement.
Source
“The approved exam is the National Occupational Therapy Certification Examination (NOTCE or ‘the exam’) which is administered by the Canadian Association of Occupation Therapists (CAOT).”
coto.org/applicants/internationally-educated
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with College of Occupational Therapists of Ontario
2 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Requirements
Education
You must have a Bachelor of Science or Master of Science in Occupational Therapy obtained in Canada, or an occupational therapy degree considered equivalent by the College's Registration Committee.
Source
“A Bachelor of Science degree or Master of Science in Occupational Therapy obtained in Canada, or An occupational therapy degree considered equivalent by the College’s Registration Committee.”
coto.org/applicants/becoming-a-registered-otIf you were educated outside of Canada, your education is reviewed by ACOTRO to ensure it is substantially equivalent to the content of an Ontario occupational therapy program.
Source
“If you were educated outside of Canada, your education is reviewed by the Association of Canadian Occupational Therapy Regulatory Organizations (ACOTRO) to ensure that it is substantially equivalent to the content of an Ontario occupational therapy program.”
coto.org/applicants/becoming-a-registered-ot
Experience
You must have successfully completed 1000 hours of fieldwork or clinical practicum as part of your education program.
Source
“Successful completion of 1000 hours of fieldwork or clinical practicum as part of the education program.”
coto.org/applicants/becoming-a-registered-otYou must meet the currency requirement by graduating from an approved occupational therapy program within the past 18 months, or completing 600 hours of occupational therapy practice within the past 3 years, or successfully completing a College-approved Refresher Program within the last 18 months.
Source
“Graduation from an approved occupational therapy program within the past 18 months, or 600 hours of occupational therapy practice within the past 3 years, or Successful completion of a College approved Refresher Program within the last 18 months.”
coto.org/applicants/becoming-a-registered-ot
Police check
You must submit a current Vulnerable Sector (VS) Check as part of the suitability to practise requirement.
Source
“This requirement includes submission of a current Vulnerable Sector (VS) Check.”
coto.org/applicants/becoming-a-registered-ot
Insurance
Professional liability insurance with a sexual abuse therapy and counseling fund endorsement is mandatory for registration with the College.
Source
“Professional liability insurance with a sexual abuse therapy and counseling fund endorsement is mandatory for registration with the College.”
coto.org/applicants/becoming-a-registered-ot
Good character
The College must be satisfied that you will practice occupational therapy safely and ethically.
Source
“The College must be satisfied that you will practice occupational therapy safely and ethically.”
coto.org/applicants/becoming-a-registered-ot
Residency
You must be a Canadian citizen or a permanent resident of Canada, or be authorized under the Canadian Immigration and Refugee Protection Act, 2001 to engage in work as an occupational therapist.
Source
“Must be a Canadian citizen or a permanent resident of Canada, or Be authorized under the Canadian Immigration and Refugee Protection Act, 2001 to engage in work as an occupational therapist.”
coto.org/applicants/becoming-a-registered-otUnder As of Right, you must be physically present in Ontario to provide services to Ontario residents.
Source
“Be physically present in Ontario to provide services to Ontario residents.”
coto.org/applicants/registered-in-another-province/as-of-right
Other
You must be able to speak and write either English or French with reasonable fluency, and provide evidence of fluency if English or French is not your first language or your education was not in English or French.
Source
“Must be able to speak and write either English or French with reasonable fluency. If English or French is not your first language, or your education was not in English or French, you will need to provide evidence of fluency.”
coto.org/applicants/becoming-a-registered-otUnder As of Right, you must not have been refused registration in another Canadian jurisdiction within the past two years.
Source
“Not been refused registration in another Canadian jurisdiction within the past two years.”
coto.org/applicants/registered-in-another-province/as-of-rightUnder As of Right, you must have the equivalent of an Ontario General Practicing certificate of registration in a Canadian jurisdiction.
Source
“You must have the equivalent of an Ontario General Practicing certificate of registration.”
coto.org/applicants/registered-in-another-province/as-of-right
Already licensed in another province?
Direct transfer
Occupational therapists registered in another Canadian province can register in Ontario and, under As of Right, can begin working based on their existing registration in a Canadian jurisdiction without completing SEAS or retaking the entry-to-practice exam. Source
“applicants who are currently registered in Canada and applying through the labour mobility provisions do not complete SEAS and should review Applicants Registered in Another Province.”
coto.org/applicants/internationally-educated
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Occupational Therapists of Ontario
Credential assessment
Substantial Equivalency Assessment System (SEAS)
Determines whether the educational qualifications and competencies of internationally educated applicants are substantially equivalent to an Ontario-educated occupational therapist.
Source
“SEAS will determine whether your educational qualifications and competencies are substantially equivalent to an Ontario-educated occupational therapist.”
coto.org/applicants/internationally-educated
Exams
-
National Occupational Therapy Certification Examination (NOTCE)
Source
“The approved exam is the National Occupational Therapy Certification Examination (NOTCE or ‘the exam’) which is administered by the Canadian Association of Occupation Therapists (CAOT).”
coto.org/applicants/internationally-educated
Language tests
No minimum test score stated by the regulator Check with College of Occupational Therapists of Ontario
Exemptions: You meet the language fluency requirement if your first language is English or French, or the language of your occupational therapy program instruction is English or French, or you have achieved an acceptable score on a College accepted test. Source
“your first language is English or French; or the language of your occupational therapy program instruction is English or French; or you have achieved an acceptable score on a College accepted test”
coto.org/applicants/registered-in-another-province/labour-mobility-...
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Occupational Therapists of Ontario
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Occupational Therapists of Ontario
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ontario | $33.33 | $45.00 | $55.90 | Good (4 of 5) |
| Canada | $36.17 | $46.00 | $55.00 | — |
Occupational therapists in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Licence required
- Alberta Licence required
- Saskatchewan Licence required
- Manitoba Licence required
- Quebec Licence required
- New Brunswick Licence required
- Nova Scotia Licence required
- Prince Edward Island Licence required
- Newfoundland and Labrador Licence required
- Yukon Licence required
- Northwest Territories Licence required
- Nunavut Licence required
Sources checked
- Hiring an OT | College of Occupational Therapists of Ontario coto.org/employers/hiring-an-occupational-therapist · fetched October 10, 2026
- Becoming an OT | College of Occupational Therapists of Ontario coto.org/applicants/becoming-a-registered-ot · fetched October 10, 2026
- Registered in Another Province – The College of Occupational Therapists of Ontario coto.org/applicants/registered-in-another-province · fetched October 10, 2026
- As of Right – The College of Occupational Therapists of Ontario coto.org/applicants/registered-in-another-province/as-of-right · fetched October 10, 2026
- Labour Mobility Support Agreement – The College of Occupational Therapists of Ontario coto.org/applicants/registered-in-another-province/labour-mobility-... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Internationally Educated Applicants – The College of Occupational Therapists of Ontario coto.org/applicants/internationally-educated · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as an occupational therapist in Ontario?
Yes. Registration with the College of Occupational Therapists of Ontario is required to practise in Ontario, and to use the title occupational therapist or OT.
Which exams are required?
National Occupational Therapy Certification Examination (NOTCE).
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.