How to Become a Personal Support Worker in Ontario
Do you need certification?
Certification is voluntary
Personal support worker is a voluntary trade in Ontario. You can work in the trade without a certificate.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“Registration with HSCPOA is currently voluntary. You will need to gain employment as a PSW in Ontario and apply and become eligible for PSW registration with HSCPOA before December 1, 2027.”
From hscpoa.com/faqs, checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Voluntary certification See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 2 steps
- Licensed in another province: 1 step
- Trained outside Canada: 2 steps
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with Health and Supportive Care Providers Oversight Authority
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 2 done
- 2 steps without a listed fee
-
You complete and submit the online Path 1 application form.
-
Source
“A certificate or diploma demonstrating you have successfully completed a personal support services education program in Ontario that meets the Ministry of Colleges and Universities requirements;”
hscpoa.com/applicants/ontario-psw-education
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Health and Supportive Care Providers Oversight Authority
2 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Licensed in another province
0 of 1 done
- 1 step without a listed fee
-
You apply for registration under the Labour Mobility pathway if you are currently registered with a PSW or health care aide registry in another Canadian jurisdiction and have worked as a PSW in the past three years.
Source
“Applicants applying for registration under Path 3: Labour Mobility, must have worked as a PSW (or equivalent) within the past three years, while being registered in their respective Canadian jurisdiction.”
hscpoa.com/faqs
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Health and Supportive Care Providers Oversight Authority
1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Trained outside Canada
0 of 2 done
- 2 steps without a listed fee
-
You apply to HSCPOA to undergo a competency assessment if you completed a personal support services education program outside Ontario of at least 600 hours.
Source
“Those who completed a 600-hour personal support services education program outside Ontario in Canada, not eligible for the Labour Mobility registration pathway, or those internationally educated, can apply to undergo a Competency Assessment.”
hscpoa.com/faqs -
You undergo an assessment of your PSW skills.
Source
“\* Internationally educated applicants with no Ontario work experience in the prevous three years, and Canadian trained applicants not eligible for registration through Labour Mobility, will undergo an assessment of their PSW skills.”
hscpoa.com/applicants/how-to-become-a-registrant
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Health and Supportive Care Providers Oversight Authority
2 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Requirements
Education
You must have graduated from an Ontario PSW program that meets the requirements of the Ontario Ministry of Colleges and Universities to issue a PSW certificate.
Source
“You are eligible for this registration pathway if you graduated from an Ontario Personal Support Worker (PSW) program that meets the requirements set by the Ontario Ministry of Colleges and Universities to issue a PSW certificate (a diploma or certificate of completion).”
hscpoa.com/applicants/ontario-psw-education
Experience
To be eligible for a competency assessment, you must have completed a personal support services education program outside Ontario that was a minimum of 600 hours in duration, including class and practical time.
Source
“To be eligible to complete a competency assessment an applicant must have completed a personal support services education program outside of Ontario that was a minimum of 600 hours in duration, including both class time and practical experience time.”
hscpoa.com/faqs
Police check
You must provide a Criminal Record Check (CRJM or Vulnerable Sector Check) completed within the past 12 months.
Source
“Criminal Record Check (Criminal Record and Judicial Matters (CRJM) or Vulnerable Sector Check), within the past 12 months”
hscpoa.com/applicants/ontario-psw-education
Already licensed in another province?
Not stated
The pages describe a Labour Mobility pathway for applicants registered in another Canadian jurisdiction who worked as a PSW in the past three years, but do not state whether registration is granted without an entry-to-practice exam or competence assessment. Source
“Applicants applying for registration under Path 3: Labour Mobility, must have worked as a PSW (or equivalent) within the past three years, while being registered in their respective Canadian jurisdiction.”
hscpoa.com/faqs
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Health and Supportive Care Providers Oversight Authority
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with Health and Supportive Care Providers Oversight Authority
Exams
-
Competency Assessment
Source
“All other applicants can apply under Path 4: Competency Assessment to demonstrate their current PSW knowledge and skills.”
hscpoa.com/faqs
Language tests
No minimum test score stated by the regulator Check with Health and Supportive Care Providers Oversight Authority
Exemptions: The pages require proof of language proficiency under the Language Proficiency Policy but do not name any specific tests or minimum scores. Source
“Proof of language proficiency, as required in the Language Proficiency Policy;”
hscpoa.com/applicants/employed-as-a-psw-in-ontario
Canadian experience
Applicants applying under Path 2 must have worked as a PSW within the past three years. Source
“Applicants applying for registration under Path 2: Employed as a PSW in Ontario must have worked as a PSW within the past three years.”
hscpoa.com/faqs
Supervised practice
Not required
The pages do not state any supervised practice requirement. Source
“Currently, there is no cost to apply, register, or renew your registration annually with HSCPOA.”
hscpoa.com/faqs
Demand and pay
No Job Bank wage or outlook data for this occupation yet.
Personal support workers in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Not confirmed yet
- Alberta Not confirmed yet
- Saskatchewan Not confirmed yet
- Manitoba Not confirmed yet
- Quebec Not confirmed yet
- New Brunswick Voluntary certification
- Nova Scotia Not confirmed yet
- Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Sources checked
- Applicant FAQs - HSCPOA hscpoa.com/faqs · fetched October 10, 2026
- Ontario PSW Education - HSCPOA hscpoa.com/applicants/ontario-psw-education · fetched October 10, 2026
- How to become a Registrant - HSCPOA hscpoa.com/applicants/how-to-become-a-registrant · fetched October 10, 2026
- Employed as a PSW in Ontario - HSCPOA hscpoa.com/applicants/employed-as-a-psw-in-ontario · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a personal support worker in Ontario?
No. Certification is available, but it is not required to work in the trade in Ontario. Certification is managed by the Health and Supportive Care Providers Oversight Authority.
Which exams are required?
Competency Assessment.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.