At a glance

Licence status
Licence required See the source
Routes
Annual fees

Your roadmap

Trained in Canada

  • 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
  • 4 steps without a listed fee
  • Annual fees: $1,311
  1. Review the list of recognized programs to confirm your training program is listed.

    Source
    “Please review the list of recognized programs linked below. Is your training program listed?”
    crpo.ca/apply-to-crpo/how-to-apply/determining-your-crpo-applicatio...
  2. Check that your graduation date is after the program's date of recognition or within the five years prior to recognition.

    Source
    “Please review the date of recognition listed for your program. Is your graduation date after the date of recognition or within the five years prior to recognition?”
    crpo.ca/apply-to-crpo/how-to-apply/determining-your-crpo-applicatio...
  3. Based on the assessment responses, select the appropriate application type and submit your application.

    Source
    “Based on your responses, you can select the Indigenous registration pathway application type.”
    crpo.ca/apply-to-crpo/how-to-apply/determining-your-crpo-applicatio...
  4. Have your school send a final transcript confirming the degree or diploma has been awarded directly to CRPO.

    Source
    “If you completed your psychotherapy program in Canada, you must submit a final transcript confirming the degree or diploma has been awarded or conferred.”
    crpo.ca/registrant-information/registrant-requirements/requirements...
  5. Write the registration exam offered by the COMPASS Centre for Examination Development.

    Source
    “In order to fulfill the requirements for registration as a Registered Psychotherapist (RP), all Qualifying members are required to write the registration exam (also known as the Canadian Professional Standard for Counselling and Psychotherapy (CPSCP): Entry to Practice Competency Assessment).”
    crpo.ca/registrant-information/registrant-requirements/requirements...

Listed fees for this route

1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.

4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Annual fees: $1,311 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.

Licensed in another province

  • 4 steps without a listed fee
  • Annual fees: $1,311
  1. Be an active registrant in good standing with one of the listed regulatory bodies in Prince Edward Island, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia or Québec.

    Source
    “To be eligible, practitioners must be an active registrant with at least one of the following regulatory bodies:”
    crpo.ca/apply-to-crpo/how-to-apply/labour-mobility
  2. Select the Labour mobility application type and submit the application.

    Source
    “Based on your response, you can select the Labour mobility application type. CRPO staff will make a final determination on which application type applies to your situation after you submit the application.”
    crpo.ca/apply-to-crpo/how-to-apply/determining-your-crpo-applicatio...
  3. Successfully complete the Jurisprudence e-Learning Module as required under the labour mobility rules.

    Source
    “require the applicant to successfully complete the Jurisprudence e-Learning Module;”
    crpo.ca/apply-to-crpo/how-to-apply/labour-mobility
  4. After meeting the independent practice requirement, submit the Labour Mobility Independent Practice Form, which can be done at any time after registration.

    Source
    “If you are applying through the Labour Mobility application route for registration in the Registered Psychotherapist category, you will be asked to submit this form once you have met the independent practice requirement (completion of at least 1,000 direct client contact (DCC) hours and 150 clinical supervision hours).”
    crpo.ca/apply-to-crpo/how-to-apply/labour-mobility

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with College of Registered Psychotherapists of Ontario

4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Annual fees: $1,311 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.

Trained outside Canada

  • 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
  • 4 steps without a listed fee
  • Annual fees: $1,311
  1. Complete the Bridge to Registration and Employment in Mental Health (Registration Stream) program, for which admission decisions are made solely by BREM.

    Source
    “The Registration Committee accepts successful completion of the Bridge to Registration and Employment in Mental Health (Registration Stream) program as satisfying Section 6(1)(1)(iv) of the Registration Regulation”
    crpo.ca/apply-to-crpo/how-to-apply/recognized-non-recognized-programs
  2. Ask BREM to send a transcript confirming completion of the BREM (Registration Stream) program, which removes the need to submit credential assessments to CRPO.

    Source
    “BREM participants applying for registration with the CRPO can ask BREM to send a transcript confirming that they have completed or substantially completed the BREM (Registration Stream) program.”
    crpo.ca/apply-to-crpo/how-to-apply/recognized-non-recognized-programs
  3. Submit an application for registration once you have completed 90% of the program, including practicum placements.

    Source
    “Applicants are eligible to submit an application for registration once they have completed 90% of the program, including practicum placements.”
    crpo.ca/apply-to-crpo/how-to-apply/accepted-bridging-program-2
  4. If you did not complete the BREM program, have a third-party credential assessment agency send a final credential assessment confirming your degree or diploma directly to CRPO.

    Source
    “If you completed your psychotherapy program outside of Canada, you must submit a final credential assessment confirming the degree or diploma has been awarded or conferred.”
    crpo.ca/registrant-information/registrant-requirements/requirements...
  5. Write the registration exam offered by the COMPASS Centre for Examination Development.

    Source
    “In order to fulfill the requirements for registration as a Registered Psychotherapist (RP), all Qualifying members are required to write the registration exam (also known as the Canadian Professional Standard for Counselling and Psychotherapy (CPSCP): Entry to Practice Competency Assessment).”
    crpo.ca/registrant-information/registrant-requirements/requirements...

Listed fees for this route

1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.

4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Annual fees: $1,311 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.

Other listed fees

The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.

Requirements

Education

  • The minimum education requirement for registration is a graduate-level psychotherapy program that meets all of the criteria in the Program Definition policy.

    Source
    “The minimum education requirement for registration is a graduate-level psychotherapy program that meets all of the criteria in the Program Definition policy.”
    crpo.ca/apply-to-crpo/how-to-apply/determining-your-crpo-applicatio...
  • Applicants must demonstrate they have completed formal, structured, graduate-level coursework covering each entry-to-practice competency, and professional experience cannot substitute for this training.

    Source
    “In order to satisfy the education requirement for registration, applicants must demonstrate that they have completed formal, structured, graduate-level coursework that developed their understanding of each competency. Professional experience cannot be substituted for formal training in meeting the education requirement for registration.”
    crpo.ca/apply-to-crpo/how-to-apply/recognized-non-recognized-programs

Experience

  • Qualifying registrants must complete a minimum of 450 hours of direct client contact and 100 clinical supervision hours approved by staff.

    Source
    “a minimum of 450 hours of direct client contact and 100 clinical supervision hours approved by staff and passing the exam”
    crpo.ca/registrant-information/registrant-requirements/requirements...
  • Under labour mobility, applicants may be asked about their direct client and clinical supervision hours for the purpose of independent practice.

    Source
    “inquire about their direct client and clinical supervision hours for the purpose of ‘independent’ practice;”
    crpo.ca/apply-to-crpo/how-to-apply/labour-mobility

Insurance

Good character

  • Under the labour mobility rules, CRPO can ask about prior misconduct, offenses, and negligence findings and whether the applicant is in good standing with their current regulatory body.

    Source
    “ask about prior misconduct, offenses, and negligence findings;”
    crpo.ca/apply-to-crpo/how-to-apply/labour-mobility

Other

  • Applicants must have successfully completed their psychotherapy program before being eligible to write the exam.

    Source
    “2. You have successfully completed your psychotherapy program. CRPO must have received your final transcript/credential assessment directly from the education institution/credential assessment agency.”
    crpo.ca/registrant-information/registrant-requirements/requirements...

Already licensed in another province?

Direct transfer

Under labour mobility rules, CRPO cannot look at the applicant's educational qualifications or require them to write the Registration Exam if they are already registered in the equivalent category, though it can require the Jurisprudence e-Learning Module, language proficiency in some cases, and professional liability insurance.

Source
“Under the labour mobility rules, CRPO cannot: - look at the applicant’s educational qualifications; or - require them to write the Registration Exam if the applicant is already registered in the equivalent of the Registered Psychotherapist category.”
crpo.ca/apply-to-crpo/how-to-apply/labour-mobility

Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Registered Psychotherapists of Ontario

Check a move between two provinces

Credential assessment

  • Final credential assessment

    Confirming that an internationally earned degree or diploma has been awarded or conferred

    Source
    “If you completed your psychotherapy program outside of Canada, you must submit a final credential assessment confirming the degree or diploma has been awarded or conferred.”
    crpo.ca/registrant-information/registrant-requirements/requirements...

Exams

Language tests

Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Registered Psychotherapists of Ontario

Compare scores across provinces and professions

Canadian experience

Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Registered Psychotherapists of Ontario

Supervised practice

Required

Demand and pay

Job Bank wages and outlook in Ontario and Canada
WhereLowMedianHighOutlook
Ontario $23.00 $33.00 $48.00 Very good (5 of 5)
Canada $23.00 $34.00 $50.00 —

Wages by region and job outlook in Ontario

Wages in every province and territory

Registered psychotherapists in other provinces and territories

  • British Columbia Not confirmed yet
  • Alberta Not confirmed yet
  • Saskatchewan Not confirmed yet
  • Manitoba Not confirmed yet
  • Quebec Not confirmed yet
  • New Brunswick Not confirmed yet
  • Nova Scotia Not confirmed yet
  • Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
  • Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet
  • Yukon Not confirmed yet
  • Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
  • Nunavut Not confirmed yet

Compare registered psychotherapist licensing across Canada

Sources checked

  1. Registration Categories - CRPO crpo.ca/registrant-information/registrant-requirements/registration... · fetched October 10, 2026
  2. Determining Your CRPO Application Type - CRPO crpo.ca/apply-to-crpo/how-to-apply/determining-your-crpo-applicatio... · fetched October 10, 2026
  3. Requirements & Writing the Exam - CRPO crpo.ca/registrant-information/registrant-requirements/requirements... · fetched October 10, 2026
  4. Labour Mobility - CRPO crpo.ca/apply-to-crpo/how-to-apply/labour-mobility · fetched October 10, 2026
  5. Recognized/Non-recognized Programs - CRPO crpo.ca/apply-to-crpo/how-to-apply/recognized-non-recognized-programs · fetched October 10, 2026
  6. Accepted Bridging Program - CRPO crpo.ca/apply-to-crpo/how-to-apply/accepted-bridging-program-2 · fetched October 10, 2026
  7. Registration Renewal - CRPO crpo.ca/registrant-information/registrant-requirements/registration... · fetched October 10, 2026
  8. Emergency Category - CRPO crpo.ca/apply-to-crpo/how-to-apply/emergency-category · fetched October 10, 2026

Frequently asked questions

2

Do you need a licence to work as a registered psychotherapist in Ontario?

Yes. Registration with the College of Registered Psychotherapists of Ontario is required to practise in Ontario, and to use the title Registered Psychotherapist or psychotherapist.

Which exams are required?

Registration Exam (Canadian Professional Standard for Counselling and Psychotherapy (CPSCP): Entry to Practice Competency Assessment), Jurisprudence e-Learning Module.

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.