How to Become a Powerline Technician in Prince Edward Island
Do you need certification?
Certification is voluntary
Powerline technician is a voluntary trade in Prince Edward Island. You can work in the trade without a certificate.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“Compulsory/Voluntary (C/V) Certification Required by Apprenticeship Authority Provinces and Territories designate each trade as compulsory or voluntary. Work in Compulsory trades can only be performed by certified journeypersons or registered apprentices. Work in Voluntary trades may legally be performed with or without certification or apprenticeship training | V | V | V | V | C | V | V | V | V | C | V | V | V”
From ellischart.ca/eng/trades/powerline-tech/ellis-chart.shtml, checked October 11, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Voluntary certification See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 4 steps
- Licensed in another province: no separate route
- Trained outside Canada: 2 steps
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Section
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 4 done
- 4 steps without a listed fee
-
The province provides a designated apprenticeship training program for the powerline technician trade that a person can register in.
Source
“Apprenticeship Training Provided (Yes/No) Indicates whether or not the province or territory provides a designated apprenticeship training program for this trade | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | No | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes”
ellischart.ca/eng/trades/powerline-tech/ellis-chart.shtml -
Source
“Levels of Technical Training Technical training is also called "in-school" training; it is often delivered across several levels, or blocks of time. This indicates the number of levels or blocks available in each participating province or territory's program for the trade | 4 | 4 | 4 | 4 | Not applicable | 4 | Not applicable | 4 | 3 | 4 | 4 | 3 | 4”
ellischart.ca/eng/trades/powerline-tech/ellis-chart.shtml -
The apprentice must pass written examinations to successfully complete and advance past each level of training.
Source
“Written Level Examinations Indicates if written examinations are required to successfully complete and advance past each level of training | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not applicable | No | Not applicable | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes”
ellischart.ca/eng/trades/powerline-tech/ellis-chart.shtml -
The apprentice writes the written certification examination required for certification in the trade.
Source
“Written Certification Examination Indicates if there is a written examination required for certification. In many provinces and territories, the Red Seal examination is used for both certification and Red Seal endorsement. In some provinces and territories, there may be a different examination used for certification in that jurisdiction, written prior to attempting the Red Seal examination for Red Seal endorsement | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes”
ellischart.ca/eng/trades/powerline-tech/ellis-chart.shtml
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Apprenticeship Section
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Licensed in another province
No separate route for this group. Source
“Other Certification/Licensing Requirements (Yes/No – if Yes, see P/T website for details) In some cases, there are external bodies that require certification/licensing to practice a trade, besides the apprenticeship authority. If this is the case, individual provinces or territories can provide further details | No | No | No | No | No | No | No | No | No | No | No | No | No”
ellischart.ca/eng/trades/powerline-tech/ellis-chart.shtml
Trained outside Canada
0 of 2 done
- 2 steps without a listed fee
-
An experienced worker who has not completed an apprenticeship program in Canada must demonstrate proof of eligible trade experience.
Source
“Trade Qualifier Challenge Option (Yes/No) Trade qualifiers are people who have experience working in the trade, but have not completed an apprenticeship program in Canada. This indicates if the province or territory allows these experienced but uncertified workers to challenge certification examinations once they have demonstrated proof of eligible trade experience | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not applicable | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes”
ellischart.ca/eng/trades/powerline-tech/ellis-chart.shtml -
After demonstrating eligible trade experience, the trade qualifier may challenge the certification examination for the trade.
Source
“Trade Qualifier Challenge Option (Yes/No) Trade qualifiers are people who have experience working in the trade, but have not completed an apprenticeship program in Canada. This indicates if the province or territory allows these experienced but uncertified workers to challenge certification examinations once they have demonstrated proof of eligible trade experience | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not applicable | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes”
ellischart.ca/eng/trades/powerline-tech/ellis-chart.shtml
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Apprenticeship Section
2 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Requirements
Experience
A trade qualifier must have at least 10800 hours of work experience in the trade to be eligible to challenge the certification examination.
Source
“Required Hours for Trade Qualifier Provinces and Territories dictate a minimum number of required hours working in a trade for a trade qualifier to be eligible to challenge any certification examination; candidates must also demonstrate experience that covers the trade’s practices | 10800 | 10800 | 10800 | 10800 | Not applicable | 8000 | 10800 | 10800 | 9563 | 10080 | 10800 | 9000 | 9000”
ellischart.ca/eng/trades/powerline-tech/ellis-chart.shtml
Already licensed in another province?
Not stated
The pages do not state how someone already licensed in another Canadian province or territory registers in Prince Edward Island. Source
“Other Certification/Licensing Requirements (Yes/No – if Yes, see P/T website for details) In some cases, there are external bodies that require certification/licensing to practice a trade, besides the apprenticeship authority. If this is the case, individual provinces or territories can provide further details | No | No | No | No | No | No | No | No | No | No | No | No | No”
ellischart.ca/eng/trades/powerline-tech/ellis-chart.shtml
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Section
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Section
Exams
-
Written Level Examinations
Source
“Written Level Examinations Indicates if written examinations are required to successfully complete and advance past each level of training | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not applicable | No | Not applicable | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes”
ellischart.ca/eng/trades/powerline-tech/ellis-chart.shtml -
Written Certification Examination
Source
“Written Certification Examination Indicates if there is a written examination required for certification. In many provinces and territories, the Red Seal examination is used for both certification and Red Seal endorsement. In some provinces and territories, there may be a different examination used for certification in that jurisdiction, written prior to attempting the Red Seal examination for Red Seal endorsement | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes”
ellischart.ca/eng/trades/powerline-tech/ellis-chart.shtml
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Section
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Section
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Section
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Prince Edward Island | $27.00 | $42.00 | $45.00 | Undetermined |
| Canada | $28.40 | $46.00 | $62.00 | — |
Powerline technicians in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Certification required
- Alberta Voluntary certification
- Saskatchewan Voluntary certification
- Manitoba Certification required
- Ontario Voluntary certification
- Quebec Certification required
- New Brunswick Voluntary certification
- Nova Scotia Voluntary certification
- Newfoundland and Labrador Voluntary certification
- Yukon Voluntary certification
- Northwest Territories Voluntary certification
- Nunavut Voluntary certification
Sources checked
- Powerline Technician – Ellis Chart ellischart.ca/eng/trades/powerline-tech/ellis-chart.shtml · fetched October 9, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a powerline technician in Prince Edward Island?
No. Certification is available, but it is not required to work in the trade in Prince Edward Island. Certification is managed by Apprenticeship Section.
Which exams are required?
Written Level Examinations, Written Certification Examination.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.