How to Become an Ironworker (Reinforcing) in Quebec
Do you need certification?
Certification required
Ironworker (Reinforcing) is a compulsory trade in Quebec. You need a certificate, or registration as an apprentice, to work in the trade.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“the making of interprovincial agreements and terms aiming to encourage worker mobility outside of Quebec, and the implementation of measures to make sure that workers have the skills they need.”
From ccq.org/en/En-tete/qui-sommes-nous/mission, checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Certification required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 3 steps, listed one-time fees $100
- Licensed in another province: 3 steps (1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total)
- Trained outside Canada: 4 steps
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with Commission de la construction du Québec
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 3 done
- Listed one-time fees: $100
- 2 steps without a listed fee
-
The applicant completes their apprenticeship, or at least 85% of it, in the trade.
Source
“Apprentices who have completed 85% of their apprenticeship. If desired, apprentices can decide to complete their apprenticeship 100 % before registering for the exam”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/examen-qualification-2/adm... -
The applicant contacts CCQ Customer Services or writes to a regional office to register for the provincial qualification examination and pays the registration fee.
- Exam registration fee: $100
Source
“They must pay the $100 registration fee with a credit card”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/examen-qualification-2/adm...
Source
“Contact Customer Services at 1 888 842-8282 to determine the date and location of their examination. They must pay the $100 registration fee with a credit card”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/examen-qualification-2/adm... - Exam registration fee: $100
-
The applicant takes the provincial qualification examination on the date and at the location arranged with the CCQ.
Source
“The date and location of their examination will be sent to them by mail.”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/examen-qualification-2/adm...
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $100
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Exams | $100 | 100% |
| One-time total | $100 | 100% |
2 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Licensed in another province
0 of 3 done
- 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
- 2 steps without a listed fee
-
The applicant sends the CCQ the completed application form with proof of qualification or apprentice card, an official identity document, and proof of residential address in their province.
Source
“Attach the form Application for registration or modification of identification file or choice of union association, duly filled out”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/exterieur-quebec/ententes-... -
The applicant proves they have passed the general health and safety course on construction sites, or another course deemed equivalent under the agreement, or pays for an attestation recognizing a health and safety equivalence.
- Health and safety equivalence attestation fee: $10 (applicants proving health and safety equivalence under an interprovincial agreement)
Source
“Pay the $10 fee required for attestation of recognition of a health and safety equivalence (cheque, money order, credit card, debit card, or cash)”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/exterieur-quebec/ententes-...
Source
“Pay the $10 fee required for attestation of recognition of a health and safety equivalence (cheque, money order, credit card, debit card, or cash)”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/exterieur-quebec/ententes-... - Health and safety equivalence attestation fee: $10 (applicants proving health and safety equivalence under an interprovincial agreement)
-
Once the conditions are met, the CCQ grants the applicant a registration certificate.
Source
“Holders of a Newfoundland and Labrador certificate in a trade or occupation recognized under the agreement must register with the CCQ to obtain a registration certificate.”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/exterieur-quebec/ententes-...
Listed fees for this route
1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
2 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Trained outside Canada
0 of 4 done
- 4 steps without a listed fee
- Listed time: 0.7 months (only 1 of 4 steps state a time)
-
The applicant sends the completed preliminary analysis form for recognition of work hours and training hours by email with all the required documents.
Time: 20 daysTime source
“The CCQ will send its decision to you by email about 20 working days after it receives the form, duly completed, and all the documents required.”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/appr...Source
“The form Application for preliminary analysis – Recognition of work hours and training hours (international recruitment) for a trade (except crane operator) and all the documentation required must be sent”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/appr... -
The applicant must be in Québec before applying for the apprentice competency certificate, even if earlier steps were started before immigrating.
Source
“IMPORTANT: This application can be made only once you arrive in Québec, even if some steps have been initiated before you immigrate to Canada.”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/appr... -
After the preliminary analysis is accepted, the applicant applies to the CCQ to obtain an apprentice competency certificate.
Source
“After the preliminary analysis is accepted, you may apply to obtain an ACC from the CCQ.”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/appr... -
The applicant takes the 30-hour general health and safety course on construction sites offered through schools or industry associations.
Source
“The 30-hour course Santé et sécurité générale sur les chantiers de construction is offered through the schools in the different school boards or through the construction industry’s employer and union associations.”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/appr...
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Commission de la construction du Québec
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Competency certificate application fee: $100
Source
“Payment of the $100 fee required (cheque, money order, credit card, debit card, or cash)”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/exterieur-quebec/sceau-rouge - Exemption application fee: $100
Source
“Pay the $100 fee required (cheque, money order, credit card, debit card, or cash)”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/exterieur-quebec/ententes-...
Requirements
Experience
Apprentice applicants must have completed at least 85% of their apprenticeship to be eligible for the provincial qualification examination.
Source
“Apprentices who have completed 85% of their apprenticeship.”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/examen-qualification-2/adm...Experienced candidates must demonstrate with supporting documents that they have practised the trade and acquired experience at least equal to the total duration of apprenticeship for the trade.
Source
“Candidates must demonstrate, with supporting documents, that they have practised a trade or specialty and acquired experience in hours worked and, if applicable, in training credits, at least equal to the total duration of the apprenticeship for the trade or specialty covered.”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/examen-qualification-2/adm...Applicants for an apprentice competency certificate through recognition of experience must show hours in work experience and vocational training equivalent to at least 35% of the apprenticeship duration.
Source
“Individuals who demonstrate that they have acquired, in work experience and in hours in vocational training courses, the number of hours equivalent to at least 35% of the duration of apprenticeship in a trade (except the trade of crane operator) may apply for an apprentice competency certificate (ACC).”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/appr...
Residency
Applicants under the interprovincial agreements must supply proof of residential address in their province, issued within the last three months except for a driver's licence.
Source
“Supply proof of residential address in New Brunswick from among the following list (except for driver’s licence, the document must have been issued within the last 3 months):”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/exterieur-quebec/ententes-...
Other
Red Seal endorsement holders applying for a competency certificate must provide proof that they passed the general health and safety course on construction sites.
Source
“Proof that they have passed the course Santé et sécurité générale sur les chantiers de construction”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/exterieur-quebec/sceau-rougeApplicants under the interprovincial agreements must be at least 16 years of age and have a social insurance number.
Source
“Be at least 16 years of age - Have a social insurance number”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/exterieur-quebec/ententes-...Applicants under the interprovincial agreements must prove they passed the general health and safety course on construction sites or another course deemed equivalent under the agreement.
Source
“Prove that you have passed the course Santé et sécurité générale sur les chantiers de construction or another course deemed equivalent under the agreement”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/exterieur-quebec/ententes-...
Already licensed in another province?
Direct transfer
Holders of a trade certificate recognized under an agreement with Ontario, New Brunswick, or Newfoundland and Labrador can register with the CCQ for a registration certificate based on their existing qualification, provided they meet conditions such as age, a social insurance number, proof of address, and health and safety training. Source
“Holders of a Newfoundland and Labrador certificate in a trade or occupation recognized under the agreement must register with the CCQ to obtain a registration certificate.”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/exterieur-quebec/ententes-...
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Commission de la construction du Québec
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with Commission de la construction du Québec
Exams
-
Provincial qualification examination
Source
“Apprentices are informed by the Commission de la construction du Québec (CCQ) that they are eligible for the provincial qualification examination in their trade when they have completed 85% of their apprenticeship.”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/examen-qualification-2/adm...
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with Commission de la construction du Québec
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with Commission de la construction du Québec
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with Commission de la construction du Québec
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Quebec | $35.10 | $44.23 | $48.60 | Very limited (1 of 5) |
| Canada | $29.00 | $43.00 | $49.80 | — |
Ironworkers (Reinforcing) in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Voluntary certification
- Alberta Certification required
- Saskatchewan Voluntary certification
- Manitoba Not confirmed yet
- Ontario Voluntary certification
- New Brunswick Voluntary certification
- Nova Scotia Voluntary certification
- Prince Edward Island Voluntary certification
- Newfoundland and Labrador Voluntary certification
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Sources checked
- A mission anchored in Québec law ccq.org/en/En-tete/qui-sommes-nous/mission · fetched October 9, 2026
- Eligibility ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/examen-qualification-2/adm... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Intergovernmental Agreements (ON, NB, NL) ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/exterieur-quebec/ententes-... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Occupation ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/occu... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Apprentice ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/appr... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Red Seal ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/exterieur-quebec/sceau-rouge · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as an ironworker (Reinforcing) in Quebec?
Yes. Certification, or registration as an apprentice, is required to work in the trade in Quebec. Certification is managed by the Commission de la construction du Québec.
Which exams are required?
Provincial qualification examination.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.