How to Become a Millwright in Quebec
Do you need certification?
Certification required
Millwright is a compulsory trade in Quebec. You need a certificate, or registration as an apprentice, to work in the trade.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“If they do not register, their work permit will be suspended.”
From ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/examen-qualification-2/adm..., checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Certification required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 4 steps, listed one-time fees $100
- Licensed in another province: 2 steps, listed one-time fees $100
- Trained outside Canada: 3 steps
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with Commission de la construction du Québec
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 4 done
- Listed one-time fees: $100
- 3 steps without a listed fee
-
A graduate of a CCQ-recognized study program in the trade can obtain an apprentice competency certificate.
Source
“A graduate who has successfully completed a study program recognized by the Commission de la construction du Québec (CCQ) in the trade covered by the application can obtain an apprentice competency certificate (ACC).”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/appr... -
The apprenticeship is completed in hours in the trade and in training, divided into apprenticeship periods of 2,000 hours each.
Source
“Apprenticeship in a trade in the construction industry is calculated in hours in the trade and in hours of training and upgrading. The duration of the apprenticeship is divided into apprenticeship periods of 2,000 hours each.”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/appr... -
The apprentice contacts Customer Services to set the exam date and location and pays the $100 registration fee, or mails a letter with payment to a regional office.
- Exam registration fee: $100
Source
“They must pay the $100 registration fee with a credit card”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/examen-qualification-2/adm...
Source
“Contact Customer Services at 1 888 842-8282 to determine the date and location of their examination. They must pay the $100 registration fee with a credit card”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/examen-qualification-2/adm... - Exam registration fee: $100
-
The apprentice takes the provincial qualification examination in their trade.
Source
“Apprentices are informed by the Commission de la construction du Québec (CCQ) that they are eligible for the provincial qualification examination in their trade when they have completed 85% of their apprenticeship.”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/examen-qualification-2/adm...
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $100
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Exams | $100 | 100% |
| One-time total | $100 | 100% |
3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Licensed in another province
0 of 2 done
- Listed one-time fees: $100
- 1 step without a listed fee
-
The worker obtains the Red Seal endorsement through the Interprovincial Standards Red Seal Program.
Source
“The Interprovincial Standards Red Seal Program has designated a list of trades and occupations for which workers may obtain Red Seal endorsement.”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/exterieur-quebec/sceau-rouge -
- Application fee: $100
Source
“Payment of the $100 fee required (cheque, money order, credit card, debit card, or cash)”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/exterieur-quebec/sceau-rouge
Source
“Workers who have obtained the Red Seal endorsement have their skills in this trade recognized and may apply for a competency certificate from the CCQ’s Customer Services by mail or by going to one of the regional offices.”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/exterieur-quebec/sceau-rouge - Application fee: $100
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $100
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $100 | 100% |
| One-time total | $100 | 100% |
1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Trained outside Canada
0 of 3 done
- 3 steps without a listed fee
- Listed time: 0.7 months (only 1 of 3 steps state a time)
-
The CCQ sends its decision by email about 20 working days after receiving the completed form and all required documents.
Time: 20 daysTime source
“The CCQ will send its decision to you by email about 20 working days after it receives the form, duly completed, and all the documents required.”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/appr...Source
“The CCQ will send its decision to you by email about 20 working days after it receives the form, duly completed, and all the documents required.”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/appr... -
After the preliminary analysis is accepted, the candidate may apply for an apprentice competency certificate, but only after arriving in Québec.
Source
“After the preliminary analysis is accepted, you may apply to obtain an ACC from the CCQ. IMPORTANT: This application can be made only once you arrive in Québec, even if some steps have been initiated before you immigrate to Canada.”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/appr... -
The candidate takes the 30-hour general health and safety course offered through schools or industry associations.
Source
“The 30-hour course Santé et sécurité générale sur les chantiers de construction is offered through the schools in the different school boards or through the construction industry’s employer and union associations.”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/appr...
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Commission de la construction du Québec
3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Health and safety equivalency attestation fee: $10
Source
“Pay the $10 fee required for attestation of recognition of a health and safety equivalency (cheque, money order, credit card, debit card, or cash)”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/exterieur-quebec/ententes-...
Requirements
Education
Applicants for the apprentice competency certificate must have successfully completed a study program recognized by the CCQ in the trade, or obtain a recognition of acquired competencies for a similar diploma obtained outside Québec.
Source
“A graduate who has successfully completed a study program recognized by the Commission de la construction du Québec (CCQ) in the trade covered by the application can obtain an apprentice competency certificate (ACC). If you have a similar diploma, obtained outside of Québec, you must obtain a recognition of acquired competencies from the Ministère de l'Éducation.”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/appr...
Experience
Candidates without an apprenticeship must demonstrate, with supporting documents, work experience in hours worked and, if applicable, training credits at least equal to the total duration of the apprenticeship for the trade.
Source
“Candidates must demonstrate, with supporting documents, that they have practised a trade or specialty and acquired experience in hours worked and, if applicable, in training credits, at least equal to the total duration of the apprenticeship for the trade or specialty covered.”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/examen-qualification-2/adm...
Residency
Holders of an Ontario certificate must supply proof of residential address in Ontario, with documents (except the driver's licence) issued within the last 3 months.
Source
“Supply proof of residential address in Ontario from among the following list (except for the driver’s licence, the document must have been issued within the last 3 months):”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/exterieur-quebec/ententes-...
Other
Holders of an Ontario certificate registering under the intergovernmental agreement must be at least 16 years of age and have a social insurance number.
Source
“Be at least 16 years of age - Have a social insurance number”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/exterieur-quebec/ententes-...Applicants under the intergovernmental agreements must prove that they have passed the Santé et sécurité générale sur les chantiers de construction course or another course deemed equivalent under the agreement.
Source
“Prove that you have passed the course Santé et sécurité générale sur les chantiers de construction or another course deemed equivalent under the agreement”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/exterieur-quebec/ententes-...
Already licensed in another province?
Direct transfer
Source
“Holders of an Ontario certificate in a trade or occupation recognized under the agreement must register with the CCQ to obtain a registration certificate. For the certificate to be granted, the following conditions must be met:”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/exterieur-quebec/ententes-...
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Commission de la construction du Québec
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with Commission de la construction du Québec
Exams
-
Provincial qualification examination
Source
“Apprentices are informed by the Commission de la construction du Québec (CCQ) that they are eligible for the provincial qualification examination in their trade when they have completed 85% of their apprenticeship.”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/examen-qualification-2/adm...
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with Commission de la construction du Québec
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with Commission de la construction du Québec
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with Commission de la construction du Québec
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Quebec | $24.00 | $33.33 | $49.00 | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Canada | $24.00 | $37.00 | $52.00 | — |
Millwrights in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Not confirmed yet
- Alberta Not confirmed yet
- Saskatchewan Not confirmed yet
- Manitoba Not confirmed yet
- Ontario Not confirmed yet
- New Brunswick Not confirmed yet
- Nova Scotia Not confirmed yet
- Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Sources checked
- Eligibility ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/examen-qualification-2/adm... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Apprentice ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/appr... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Red Seal ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/exterieur-quebec/sceau-rouge · fetched October 10, 2026
- Intergovernmental Agreements (ON, NB, NL) ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/exterieur-quebec/ententes-... · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a millwright in Quebec?
Yes. Certification, or registration as an apprentice, is required to work in the trade in Quebec. Certification is managed by the Commission de la construction du Québec.
Which exams are required?
Provincial qualification examination.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.