How to Become an Auto Body and Collision Technician in Saskatchewan
Do you need certification?
Certification is voluntary
Auto body and collision technician is a voluntary trade in Saskatchewan. You can work in the trade without a certificate.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“Auto Body and Collision Technician workers service, repair, replace and refinish motor vehicle bodies and frames.”
From saskapprenticeship.ca/designated_trades/auto-body-collision-technician, checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Voluntary certification See the source
- Routes
- Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC
Your roadmap
The steps are not listed yet.
Check the current steps with Saskatchewan Apprenticeship and Trade Certification Commission.
Requirements
Education
A completed Grade 12 transcript, Canadian Adult Education Credential (CAEC) or General Education Development (GED) guarantees entry into apprenticeship in Saskatchewan, but modified or general math and science classes do not meet entry requirements.
Source
“A completed Grade 12 transcript, Canadian Adult Education Credential (CAEC) or General Education Development (GED) guarantees entry into apprenticeship in Saskatchewan. However, “modified” or “general” math and science classes don’t meet entry requirements.”
saskapprenticeship.ca/entrance-requirements-for-apprenticeship-trai...
Already licensed in another province?
Not stated
The pages do not state how someone already licensed in another Canadian province or territory registers in Saskatchewan. Source
“Auto Body and Collision Technician workers service, repair, replace and refinish motor vehicle bodies and frames.”
saskapprenticeship.ca/designated_trades/auto-body-collision-technician
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC
Exams
-
Interprovincial Journeyperson Examination
Source
“Interprovincial Journeyperson Examination Information”
saskapprenticeship.ca/designated_trades/auto-body-collision-technician -
Level One Examination
Source
“Level One Examination Information”
saskapprenticeship.ca/designated_trades/auto-body-collision-technician -
Level Two Examination
Source
“Level Two Examination Information”
saskapprenticeship.ca/designated_trades/auto-body-collision-technician -
Practical Examination
-
Red Seal Written Examination
Source
“Red Seal Written Examination Study Guide”
saskapprenticeship.ca/designated_trades/auto-body-collision-technician
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Saskatchewan | $17.00 | $27.50 | $40.38 | Good (4 of 5) |
| Canada | $18.50 | $27.00 | $40.00 | — |
Auto bodies and collision technicians in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Voluntary certification
- Alberta Certification required
- Manitoba Voluntary certification
- Ontario Certification required
- Quebec Not confirmed yet
- New Brunswick Voluntary certification
- Nova Scotia Certification required
- Prince Edward Island Voluntary certification
- Newfoundland and Labrador Voluntary certification
- Yukon Voluntary certification
- Northwest Territories Voluntary certification
- Nunavut Voluntary certification
Compare auto body and collision technician licensing across Canada
Sources checked
- Auto Body and Collision Technician | SATCC saskapprenticeship.ca/designated_trades/auto-body-collision-technician · fetched October 10, 2026
- Entrance Requirements for Apprenticeship Training | SATCC saskapprenticeship.ca/entrance-requirements-for-apprenticeship-trai... · fetched October 9, 2026
- APPRENTICESHIP FEE UPDATES | SATCC saskapprenticeship.ca/apprenticeship-fee-updates · fetched October 9, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as an auto body and collision technician in Saskatchewan?
No. Certification is available, but it is not required to work in the trade in Saskatchewan. Certification is managed by the Saskatchewan Apprenticeship and Trade Certification Commission.
Which exams are required?
Interprovincial Journeyperson Examination, Level One Examination, Level Two Examination, Practical Examination, Red Seal Written Examination.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.