At a glance

Licence status
Licence required See the source
Routes
Annual fees
  • RPP annual membership fee (SPPI + CIP + Insurance): $589.74
    Source
    “RPP #### $294.00 #### $248.74 #### $47.00 #### $589.74”
    sppi.ca/membership-benefits
  • Candidate annual membership fee (SPPI + CIP + Insurance): $589.74
    Source
    “Candidate #### $294.00 #### $248.74 #### $47.00 #### $589.74”
    sppi.ca/membership-benefits
  • Pre-Candidate annual membership fee (SPPI + CIP): $542.74 (for Pre-Candidate members)
    Source
    “Pre-Candidate #### $294.00 #### $248.74 #### 542.74”
    sppi.ca/membership-benefits
  • Non-Practicing annual membership fee: $166 (for Non-Practicing members)
    Source
    “Non-Practicing #### $47.00 #### $75.00 #### $47.00 #### $166.00”
    sppi.ca/membership-benefits
  • Retired annual membership fee: $122
    Source
    “Retired #### $47.00 #### $75.00 #### $122.00”
    sppi.ca/membership-benefits
  • Public Subscriber annual membership fee: $393 (for Public Subscriber members)
    Source
    “Public Subscriber #### $294.00 #### $99.00 #### $393.00”
    sppi.ca/membership-benefits
  • Annual Membership Fees: Pre-Candidate, SPPI: $294
    Source
    “#### Pre-Candidate #### $294.00 #### $248.74 #### 542.74”
    sppi.ca/membership-benefits
  • Annual Membership Fees: Pre-Candidate, CIP: $248.74
    Source
    “#### Pre-Candidate #### $294.00 #### $248.74 #### 542.74”
    sppi.ca/membership-benefits
  • Annual Membership Fees: Candidate, SPPI: $294
    Source
    “#### Candidate #### $294.00 #### $248.74 #### $47.00 #### $589.74”
    sppi.ca/membership-benefits
  • Annual Membership Fees: Candidate, CIP: $248.74
    Source
    “#### Candidate #### $294.00 #### $248.74 #### $47.00 #### $589.74”
    sppi.ca/membership-benefits
  • Annual Membership Fees: Candidate, Insurance: $47
    Source
    “#### Candidate #### $294.00 #### $248.74 #### $47.00 #### $589.74”
    sppi.ca/membership-benefits
  • Annual Membership Fees: RPP, SPPI: $294
    Source
    “#### RPP #### $294.00 #### $248.74 #### $47.00 #### $589.74”
    sppi.ca/membership-benefits
  • Annual Membership Fees: RPP, CIP: $248.74
    Source
    “#### RPP #### $294.00 #### $248.74 #### $47.00 #### $589.74”
    sppi.ca/membership-benefits
  • Annual Membership Fees: RPP, Insurance: $47
    Source
    “#### RPP #### $294.00 #### $248.74 #### $47.00 #### $589.74”
    sppi.ca/membership-benefits

Your roadmap

Trained in Canada

  • 3 steps without a listed fee
  • Annual fees: $3,023.70
  1. Before being admitted as a Candidate member, you must first have your qualifications assessed by the Professional Standards Board for the planning profession in Canada.

    Source
    “Individuals seeking Candidate membership must first have their qualifications assessed by the nationally-based Professional Standards Board for the planning profession in Canada (PSB), prior to admission to Candidate membership in SPPI.”
    sppi.ca/applying-for-membership
  2. Only after the PSB has assessed you and recommended you for admission can you be admitted to Candidate membership.

    Source
    “Only once an applicant has been assessed by the PSB, and recommended for admission can they be admitted to Candidate membership.”
    sppi.ca/applying-for-membership
  3. Applicants for Candidate membership are directed to the Professional Standards Board to apply.

    Source
    “All applicants for candidate memberships are directed to the Professional Standards Board.”
    sppi.ca/applying-for-membership

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Saskatchewan Professional Planners Institute

3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Annual fees: $3,023.70 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total. 3 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total.

  • RPP annual membership fee (SPPI + CIP + Insurance): $589.74
    Source
    “RPP #### $294.00 #### $248.74 #### $47.00 #### $589.74”
    sppi.ca/membership-benefits
  • Candidate annual membership fee (SPPI + CIP + Insurance): $589.74
    Source
    “Candidate #### $294.00 #### $248.74 #### $47.00 #### $589.74”
    sppi.ca/membership-benefits
  • Pre-Candidate annual membership fee (SPPI + CIP): $542.74 (for Pre-Candidate members)
    Source
    “Pre-Candidate #### $294.00 #### $248.74 #### 542.74”
    sppi.ca/membership-benefits
  • Non-Practicing annual membership fee: $166 (for Non-Practicing members)
    Source
    “Non-Practicing #### $47.00 #### $75.00 #### $47.00 #### $166.00”
    sppi.ca/membership-benefits
  • Retired annual membership fee: $122
    Source
    “Retired #### $47.00 #### $75.00 #### $122.00”
    sppi.ca/membership-benefits
  • Public Subscriber annual membership fee: $393 (for Public Subscriber members)
    Source
    “Public Subscriber #### $294.00 #### $99.00 #### $393.00”
    sppi.ca/membership-benefits
  • Annual Membership Fees: Pre-Candidate, SPPI: $294
    Source
    “#### Pre-Candidate #### $294.00 #### $248.74 #### 542.74”
    sppi.ca/membership-benefits
  • Annual Membership Fees: Pre-Candidate, CIP: $248.74
    Source
    “#### Pre-Candidate #### $294.00 #### $248.74 #### 542.74”
    sppi.ca/membership-benefits
  • Annual Membership Fees: Candidate, SPPI: $294
    Source
    “#### Candidate #### $294.00 #### $248.74 #### $47.00 #### $589.74”
    sppi.ca/membership-benefits
  • Annual Membership Fees: Candidate, CIP: $248.74
    Source
    “#### Candidate #### $294.00 #### $248.74 #### $47.00 #### $589.74”
    sppi.ca/membership-benefits
  • Annual Membership Fees: Candidate, Insurance: $47
    Source
    “#### Candidate #### $294.00 #### $248.74 #### $47.00 #### $589.74”
    sppi.ca/membership-benefits
  • Annual Membership Fees: RPP, SPPI: $294
    Source
    “#### RPP #### $294.00 #### $248.74 #### $47.00 #### $589.74”
    sppi.ca/membership-benefits
  • Annual Membership Fees: RPP, CIP: $248.74
    Source
    “#### RPP #### $294.00 #### $248.74 #### $47.00 #### $589.74”
    sppi.ca/membership-benefits
  • Annual Membership Fees: RPP, Insurance: $47
    Source
    “#### RPP #### $294.00 #### $248.74 #### $47.00 #### $589.74”
    sppi.ca/membership-benefits

Licensed in another province

  • Listed one-time fees: $150
  • Annual fees: $3,023.70
  1. A member in good standing of any CIP affiliate, or someone holding CIP international status, may apply for SPPI Non-Resident membership using the application form.

    Source
    “A member in good standing of any affiliate of CIP or who holds CIP international status, may also hold a SPPI Non-Resident membership even if they do not live in Saskatchewan.”
    sppi.ca/applying-for-membership

Listed fees for this route

One-time total listed: $150

One-time fees listed for Licensed in another province, by type
Fee typeAmountShare
Application $150 100%
One-time total $150 100%

Annual fees: $3,023.70 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total. 3 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total.

  • RPP annual membership fee (SPPI + CIP + Insurance): $589.74
    Source
    “RPP #### $294.00 #### $248.74 #### $47.00 #### $589.74”
    sppi.ca/membership-benefits
  • Candidate annual membership fee (SPPI + CIP + Insurance): $589.74
    Source
    “Candidate #### $294.00 #### $248.74 #### $47.00 #### $589.74”
    sppi.ca/membership-benefits
  • Pre-Candidate annual membership fee (SPPI + CIP): $542.74 (for Pre-Candidate members)
    Source
    “Pre-Candidate #### $294.00 #### $248.74 #### 542.74”
    sppi.ca/membership-benefits
  • Non-Practicing annual membership fee: $166 (for Non-Practicing members)
    Source
    “Non-Practicing #### $47.00 #### $75.00 #### $47.00 #### $166.00”
    sppi.ca/membership-benefits
  • Retired annual membership fee: $122
    Source
    “Retired #### $47.00 #### $75.00 #### $122.00”
    sppi.ca/membership-benefits
  • Public Subscriber annual membership fee: $393 (for Public Subscriber members)
    Source
    “Public Subscriber #### $294.00 #### $99.00 #### $393.00”
    sppi.ca/membership-benefits
  • Annual Membership Fees: Pre-Candidate, SPPI: $294
    Source
    “#### Pre-Candidate #### $294.00 #### $248.74 #### 542.74”
    sppi.ca/membership-benefits
  • Annual Membership Fees: Pre-Candidate, CIP: $248.74
    Source
    “#### Pre-Candidate #### $294.00 #### $248.74 #### 542.74”
    sppi.ca/membership-benefits
  • Annual Membership Fees: Candidate, SPPI: $294
    Source
    “#### Candidate #### $294.00 #### $248.74 #### $47.00 #### $589.74”
    sppi.ca/membership-benefits
  • Annual Membership Fees: Candidate, CIP: $248.74
    Source
    “#### Candidate #### $294.00 #### $248.74 #### $47.00 #### $589.74”
    sppi.ca/membership-benefits
  • Annual Membership Fees: Candidate, Insurance: $47
    Source
    “#### Candidate #### $294.00 #### $248.74 #### $47.00 #### $589.74”
    sppi.ca/membership-benefits
  • Annual Membership Fees: RPP, SPPI: $294
    Source
    “#### RPP #### $294.00 #### $248.74 #### $47.00 #### $589.74”
    sppi.ca/membership-benefits
  • Annual Membership Fees: RPP, CIP: $248.74
    Source
    “#### RPP #### $294.00 #### $248.74 #### $47.00 #### $589.74”
    sppi.ca/membership-benefits
  • Annual Membership Fees: RPP, Insurance: $47
    Source
    “#### RPP #### $294.00 #### $248.74 #### $47.00 #### $589.74”
    sppi.ca/membership-benefits

Other listed fees

The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.

Requirements

Education

  • A Registered Professional Planner member must have met all the membership requirements for education.

    Source
    “A RPP Member is a professional practicing planner who has met all the membership requirements for education and responsible professional planning experience.”
    sppi.ca/applying-for-membership

Experience

  • A Registered Professional Planner member must have met the membership requirements for responsible professional planning experience.

    Source
    “A RPP Member is a professional practicing planner who has met all the membership requirements for education and responsible professional planning experience.”
    sppi.ca/applying-for-membership

Other

  • For Non-Resident membership, the applicant must be a member in good standing of a CIP affiliate or hold CIP international status.

    Source
    “A member in good standing of any affiliate of CIP or who holds CIP international status, may also hold a SPPI Non-Resident membership even if they do not live in Saskatchewan.”
    sppi.ca/applying-for-membership

Already licensed in another province?

Direct transfer

A member in good standing of any CIP affiliate, or someone holding CIP international status, may hold SPPI Non-Resident membership even if they do not live in Saskatchewan.

Source
“A member in good standing of any affiliate of CIP or who holds CIP international status, may also hold a SPPI Non-Resident membership even if they do not live in Saskatchewan.”
sppi.ca/applying-for-membership

  1. Apply for Non-Resident membership

    Source
    “A member in good standing of any affiliate of CIP or who holds CIP international status, may also hold a SPPI Non-Resident membership even if they do not live in Saskatchewan.”
    sppi.ca/applying-for-membership

Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Saskatchewan Professional Planners Institute

Check a move between two provinces

Credential assessment

  • Qualifications assessment by the Professional Standards Board (PSB)

    admission to Candidate membership

    Source
    “Individuals seeking Candidate membership must first have their qualifications assessed by the nationally-based Professional Standards Board for the planning profession in Canada (PSB), prior to admission to Candidate membership in SPPI.”
    sppi.ca/applying-for-membership

Exams

Not stated by the regulator Check with Saskatchewan Professional Planners Institute

Language tests

Not stated by the regulator Check with Saskatchewan Professional Planners Institute

Compare scores across provinces and professions

Canadian experience

Not stated by the regulator Check with Saskatchewan Professional Planners Institute

Supervised practice

Not stated by the regulator Check with Saskatchewan Professional Planners Institute

Demand and pay

Job Bank wages and outlook in Saskatchewan and Canada
WhereLowMedianHighOutlook
Saskatchewan $21.50 $40.10 $53.00 Moderate (3 of 5)
Canada $28.21 $46.15 $65.00 —

Wages by region and job outlook in Saskatchewan

Wages in every province and territory

Community planners in other provinces and territories

  • British Columbia Not confirmed yet
  • Alberta Title protected
  • Manitoba Not confirmed yet
  • Ontario Not confirmed yet
  • Quebec Not confirmed yet
  • New Brunswick Not confirmed yet
  • Nova Scotia Not confirmed yet
  • Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
  • Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet
  • Yukon Not confirmed yet
  • Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
  • Nunavut Not confirmed yet

Compare community planner licensing across Canada

Sources checked

  1. Applying for Membership - Saskatchewan Professional Planners Institute sppi.ca/applying-for-membership · fetched October 10, 2026
  2. Membership Benefits - Saskatchewan Professional Planners Institute sppi.ca/membership-benefits · fetched October 10, 2026

Frequently asked questions

1

Do you need a licence to work as a community planner in Saskatchewan?

Yes. Registration with the Saskatchewan Professional Planners Institute is required to practise in Saskatchewan.

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.