How to Become a Food and Beverage Person in Saskatchewan
Do you need certification?
Certification is voluntary
Food and beverage person is a voluntary trade in Saskatchewan. You can work in the trade without a certificate.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“Food and Beverage Person Agriculture, Tourism and Service Sector”
From saskapprenticeship.ca/designated-trades-searchable, checked October 11, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Voluntary certification See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 7 steps
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 7 done
- 7 steps without a listed fee
-
Begin by going to the MyATC page on the SATCC website.
Source
“1. Begin by visiting the MyATC page here: satcc.service-now.com/myatc”
saskapprenticeship.ca/sask-youth-apprenticeship/register-for-sya -
Click the Register button on the Apprentice side of the login page.
Source
“2. Click the *Register* button on the Apprentice side of the login page.”
saskapprenticeship.ca/sask-youth-apprenticeship/register-for-sya -
On the Saskatchewan Accounts page, log in with existing credentials or create a new individual account using a personal email address.
Source
“3. You'll be taken to the Saskatchewan Accounts page. If you already have credentials, log in. If you do not, create a new individual account.”
saskapprenticeship.ca/sask-youth-apprenticeship/register-for-sya -
Once logged into your Saskatchewan Account, access My Services and link MyATC from the menu, then click the "use service" button.
Source
“4. Once logged into your Saskatchewan Account, access My Services and link MyATC from the menu. 5. After linking the service, click the "use service" button.”
saskapprenticeship.ca/sask-youth-apprenticeship/register-for-sya -
Follow through the sections to accept the Terms of Use, check prerequisites, set notification settings, and start the application.
Source
“6. Follow through to the following sections: 1. Accept Terms of Use 2. Check prerequisites - unless you were issued a PIN in the mail, choose "no" for the first part of this section. 3. Notification Settings 4. Start Application”
saskapprenticeship.ca/sask-youth-apprenticeship/register-for-sya -
In MyATC, select Browse Service Catalogue on the home page and then select the SYA Application tile.
Source
“8. Once in MyATC, select "Browse Service Catalogue" on the home page. 9. Select the "SYA Application" tile.”
saskapprenticeship.ca/sask-youth-apprenticeship/register-for-sya -
Complete the form and hit submit, after which your SYA Champion will receive a notification for pending approval.
Source
“10. Complete the form and hit submit. Your SYA Champion will receive a notification for pending approval.”
saskapprenticeship.ca/sask-youth-apprenticeship/register-for-sya
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with SATCC
7 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Registration fee: $200
Source
“registration fee will increase from $175 to $200;”
saskapprenticeship.ca/apprenticeship-fee-updates - Written exam fee: $125
Source
“written exam fee will increase from $100 to $125;”
saskapprenticeship.ca/apprenticeship-fee-updates - Practical exam fee: $175
Source
“practical exam fee will increase from $160 to $175;”
saskapprenticeship.ca/apprenticeship-fee-updates - Examination review fee: $125
Source
“examination review fee will increase from $100 to $125.”
saskapprenticeship.ca/apprenticeship-fee-updates - Tuition fees: $105
Source
“Tuition fees are increasing by $10 per week, from $95 per week to $105 per week for most programs.”
saskapprenticeship.ca/apprenticeship-fee-updates
Requirements
Education
A completed Grade 12 transcript, Canadian Adult Education Credential (CAEC) or General Education Development (GED) guarantees entry into apprenticeship in Saskatchewan, though modified or general math and science classes do not meet entry requirements.
Source
“A completed Grade 12 transcript, Canadian Adult Education Credential (CAEC) or General Education Development (GED) guarantees entry into apprenticeship in Saskatchewan. However, “modified” or “general” math and science classes don’t meet entry requirements.”
saskapprenticeship.ca/entrance-requirements-for-apprenticeship-trai...Completing Grade 12 before registering as an apprentice is recommended but is not a requirement for apprenticeship entry.
Source
“While completing Grade 12 is encouraged, it is not a requirement for apprenticeship entry.”
saskapprenticeship.ca/entrance-requirements-for-apprenticeship-trai...
Already licensed in another province?
Not stated
The pages do not state how someone already licensed in another Canadian province or territory registers in Saskatchewan.
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC
Exams
Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC
Demand and pay
No Job Bank wage or outlook data for this occupation yet.
Foods and beverage people in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Not confirmed yet
- Alberta Not confirmed yet
- Manitoba Not confirmed yet
- Ontario Not confirmed yet
- Quebec Voluntary certification
- New Brunswick Not confirmed yet
- Nova Scotia Not confirmed yet
- Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Sources checked
- Designated Trades | SATCC saskapprenticeship.ca/designated-trades-searchable · fetched October 11, 2026
- SYA Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) | SATCC saskapprenticeship.ca/sask-youth-apprenticeship/sya-frequently-aske... · fetched October 11, 2026
- How To Register for SYA in MyATC | SATCC saskapprenticeship.ca/sask-youth-apprenticeship/register-for-sya · fetched October 11, 2026
- Entrance Requirements for Apprenticeship Training | SATCC saskapprenticeship.ca/entrance-requirements-for-apprenticeship-trai... · fetched October 9, 2026
- APPRENTICESHIP FEE UPDATES | SATCC saskapprenticeship.ca/apprenticeship-fee-updates · fetched October 9, 2026
Frequently asked questions
1
Do you need a licence to work as a food and beverage person in Saskatchewan?
No. Certification is available, but it is not required to work in the trade in Saskatchewan. Certification is managed by the Saskatchewan Apprenticeship and Trade Certification Commission.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.