How to Become a Locksmith in Saskatchewan
Do you need certification?
Certification is voluntary
Locksmith is a voluntary trade in Saskatchewan. You can work in the trade without a certificate.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“Locksmith Agriculture, Tourism and Service Sector”
From saskapprenticeship.ca/designated-trades-searchable, checked October 11, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Voluntary certification See the source
- Routes
- Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC
Your roadmap
The steps are not listed yet.
Check the current steps with Saskatchewan Apprenticeship and Trade Certification Commission.
Requirements
Education
A completed Grade 12 transcript, Canadian Adult Education Credential (CAEC) or General Education Development (GED) guarantees entry into apprenticeship in Saskatchewan, though Grade 12 is not required for entry.
Source
“A completed Grade 12 transcript, Canadian Adult Education Credential (CAEC) or General Education Development (GED) guarantees entry into apprenticeship in Saskatchewan.”
saskapprenticeship.ca/entrance-requirements-for-apprenticeship-trai...Modified or general math and science classes do not meet entry requirements.
Source
“However, “modified” or “general” math and science classes don’t meet entry requirements.”
saskapprenticeship.ca/entrance-requirements-for-apprenticeship-trai...
Experience
To graduate from each level of the apprenticeship program, an apprentice must complete the required technical training and compile at least 1,800 hours of on-the-job experience each year.
Source
“To graduate from each level of the apprenticeship program, an apprentice must successfully complete the required technical training and compile enough on-the-job experience to total at least 1,800 hours each year.”
saskapprenticeship.ca/changes-to-the-locksmith-programThe total trade time required is 7,200 hours and at least four years in the trade.
Source
“Although technical training has been reduced from four to three levels, the total trade time required is still 7,200 hours and at least four (4) years in the trade.”
saskapprenticeship.ca/changes-to-the-locksmith-program
Already licensed in another province?
Not stated
The pages mention reducing inter-provincial barriers to labour mobility but do not state how someone licensed in another province registers in Saskatchewan. Source
“as part of its commitment to ensuring a quality apprenticeship system in the province, and to reducing inter-provincial barriers to labour mobility.”
saskapprenticeship.ca/amendments-to-apprenticeship-and-trade-certif...
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC
Exams
-
written exam
Source
“written exam fee will increase from $100 to $125;”
saskapprenticeship.ca/apprenticeship-fee-updates -
practical exam
Source
“practical exam fee will increase from $160 to $175;”
saskapprenticeship.ca/apprenticeship-fee-updates -
Provincial Journeyperson Examination
Source
“Provincial Journeyperson Examination Information”
saskapprenticeship.ca/designated_trades/locksmith
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Saskatchewan | — | — | — | Good (4 of 5) |
| Canada | $21.63 | $34.72 | $47.85 | — |
Locksmiths in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Voluntary certification
- Alberta Certification required
- Manitoba Not confirmed yet
- Ontario Voluntary certification
- Quebec Certification required
- New Brunswick Voluntary certification
- Nova Scotia Voluntary certification
- Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Voluntary certification
- Nunavut Voluntary certification
Sources checked
- Designated Trades | SATCC saskapprenticeship.ca/designated-trades-searchable · fetched October 11, 2026
- Entrance Requirements for Apprenticeship Training | SATCC saskapprenticeship.ca/entrance-requirements-for-apprenticeship-trai... · fetched October 9, 2026
- CHANGES TO THE LOCKSMITH PROGRAM | SATCC saskapprenticeship.ca/changes-to-the-locksmith-program · fetched October 11, 2026
- APPRENTICESHIP FEE UPDATES | SATCC saskapprenticeship.ca/apprenticeship-fee-updates · fetched October 9, 2026
- Locksmith | SATCC saskapprenticeship.ca/designated_trades/locksmith · fetched October 11, 2026
- AMENDMENTS TO APPRENTICESHIP AND TRADE CERTIFICATION REGULATIONS | SATCC saskapprenticeship.ca/amendments-to-apprenticeship-and-trade-certif... · fetched October 9, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a locksmith in Saskatchewan?
No. Certification is available, but it is not required to work in the trade in Saskatchewan. Certification is managed by the Saskatchewan Apprenticeship and Trade Certification Commission.
Which exams are required?
written exam, practical exam, Provincial Journeyperson Examination.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.