How to Become a Meat Cutter - (slaughterer Endorsement) in Saskatchewan
Do you need certification?
Certification is voluntary
Meat cutter - (slaughterer endorsement) is a voluntary trade in Saskatchewan. You can work in the trade without a certificate.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“Work in Voluntary trades may legally be performed with or without certification or apprenticeship training”
From ellischart.ca/eng/trades/non-red-seal/meat-cut-slaught-end.shtml, checked October 11, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Voluntary certification See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: no separate route
- Licensed in another province: no separate route
- Trained outside Canada: no separate route
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
No separate route for this group. Source
“Trade qualifiers are people who have experience working in the trade, but have not completed an apprenticeship program in Canada.”
ellischart.ca/eng/trades/non-red-seal/meat-cut-slaught-end.shtml
Licensed in another province
No separate route for this group. Source
“Trade qualifiers are people who have experience working in the trade, but have not completed an apprenticeship program in Canada.”
ellischart.ca/eng/trades/non-red-seal/meat-cut-slaught-end.shtml
Trained outside Canada
No separate route for this group. Source
“Trade qualifiers are people who have experience working in the trade, but have not completed an apprenticeship program in Canada.”
ellischart.ca/eng/trades/non-red-seal/meat-cut-slaught-end.shtml
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Registration fee: $200
Source
“registration fee will increase from $175 to $200;”
saskapprenticeship.ca/apprenticeship-fee-updates - Written exam fee: $125
Source
“written exam fee will increase from $100 to $125;”
saskapprenticeship.ca/apprenticeship-fee-updates - Practical exam fee: $175
Source
“practical exam fee will increase from $160 to $175;”
saskapprenticeship.ca/apprenticeship-fee-updates - Examination review fee: $125
Source
“examination review fee will increase from $100 to $125.”
saskapprenticeship.ca/apprenticeship-fee-updates - Tuition fees: $105 (per week for apprentices attending technical training)
Source
“Tuition fees are increasing by $10 per week, from $95 per week to $105 per week for most programs.”
saskapprenticeship.ca/apprenticeship-fee-updates
Requirements
Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC
Already licensed in another province?
Not stated
The pages do not state how someone already licensed in another Canadian province or territory registers in Saskatchewan. Source
“Trade Qualifier Challenge Option (Yes/No) Trade qualifiers are people who have experience working in the trade, but have not completed an apprenticeship program in Canada.”
ellischart.ca/eng/trades/non-red-seal/meat-cut-slaught-end.shtml
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC
Exams
-
Written Certification Examination
Source
“Written Certification Examination Indicates if there is a written examination required for certification.”
ellischart.ca/eng/trades/non-red-seal/meat-cut-slaught-end.shtml
Language tests
No minimum test score stated by the regulator Check with SATCC
Exemptions: The pages do not state any language test exemptions. Source
“Written Certification Examination Indicates if there is a written examination required for certification.”
ellischart.ca/eng/trades/non-red-seal/meat-cut-slaught-end.shtml
Canadian experience
The pages do not state any Canadian experience requirement. Source
“Trade qualifiers are people who have experience working in the trade, but have not completed an apprenticeship program in Canada.”
ellischart.ca/eng/trades/non-red-seal/meat-cut-slaught-end.shtml
Supervised practice
Not required
The pages do not state any supervised practice requirement. Source
“Work in Voluntary trades may legally be performed with or without certification or apprenticeship training”
ellischart.ca/eng/trades/non-red-seal/meat-cut-slaught-end.shtml
Demand and pay
No Job Bank wage or outlook data for this occupation yet.
Meat cutters - (slaughterer endorsement) in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Not confirmed yet
- Alberta Not confirmed yet
- Manitoba Not confirmed yet
- Ontario Not confirmed yet
- Quebec Not confirmed yet
- New Brunswick Not confirmed yet
- Nova Scotia Not confirmed yet
- Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Compare meat cutter - (slaughterer endorsement) licensing across Canada
Sources checked
- Meat Cutter - (Slaughterer Endorsement) - Ellis Chart ellischart.ca/eng/trades/non-red-seal/meat-cut-slaught-end.shtml · fetched October 9, 2026
- APPRENTICESHIP FEE UPDATES | SATCC saskapprenticeship.ca/apprenticeship-fee-updates · fetched October 9, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a meat cutter - (slaughterer endorsement) in Saskatchewan?
No. Certification is available, but it is not required to work in the trade in Saskatchewan. Certification is managed by the Saskatchewan Apprenticeship and Trade Certification Commission.
Which exams are required?
Written Certification Examination.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.