How to Become a Nail Technician in Saskatchewan
Do you need certification?
Certification is voluntary
Nail technician is a voluntary trade in Saskatchewan. You can work in the trade without a certificate.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“Esthetician-Nail Technician Agriculture, Tourism and Service Sector”
From saskapprenticeship.ca/designated-trades-searchable, checked October 11, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Voluntary certification See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 3 steps, listed one-time fees $430
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 3 done
- Listed one-time fees: $430
-
The applicant registers as an apprentice with the commission, paying the registration fee.
- registration fee: $200
Source
“registration fee will increase from $175 to $200;”
saskapprenticeship.ca/apprenticeship-fee-updates
Source
“registration fee will increase from $175 to $200;”
saskapprenticeship.ca/apprenticeship-fee-updates - registration fee: $200
-
The apprentice completes the technical training required by the commission, paying tuition while attending training.
- Tuition fees: $105
Source
“Tuition fees are increasing by $10 per week, from $95 per week to $105 per week for most programs.”
saskapprenticeship.ca/apprenticeship-fee-updates
Source
“To be eligible to write the journeyperson trade examination in the trade, a candidate must successfully complete any technical training required by the commission.”
saskapprenticeship.ca/designated_trades/esthetician-nail-technician - Tuition fees: $105
-
After completing the required technical training, the candidate writes the journeyperson trade examination, paying the written exam fee.
- written exam fee: $125
Source
“written exam fee will increase from $100 to $125;”
saskapprenticeship.ca/apprenticeship-fee-updates
Source
“To be eligible to write the journeyperson trade examination in the trade, a candidate must successfully complete any technical training required by the commission.”
saskapprenticeship.ca/designated_trades/esthetician-nail-technician - written exam fee: $125
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $430
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Exams | $125 | 29% |
| Registration | $200 | 47% |
| Other | $105 | 24% |
| One-time total | $430 | 100% |
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- practical exam fee: $175
Source
“practical exam fee will increase from $160 to $175;”
saskapprenticeship.ca/apprenticeship-fee-updates - examination review fee: $125
Source
“examination review fee will increase from $100 to $125.”
saskapprenticeship.ca/apprenticeship-fee-updates
Requirements
Education
A completed Grade 12 transcript, Canadian Adult Education Credential or General Education Development guarantees entry into apprenticeship in Saskatchewan, but completing Grade 12 is not a requirement for apprenticeship entry.
Source
“A completed Grade 12 transcript, Canadian Adult Education Credential (CAEC) or General Education Development (GED) guarantees entry into apprenticeship in Saskatchewan. However, “modified” or “general” math and science classes don’t meet entry requirements.”
saskapprenticeship.ca/entrance-requirements-for-apprenticeship-trai...
Already licensed in another province?
Not stated
The pages do not state how someone already licensed in another Canadian province or territory can register in Saskatchewan. Source
“Esthetician-Nail Technician”
saskapprenticeship.ca/designated_trades/esthetician-nail-technician
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC
Exams
-
journeyperson trade examination
Source
“To be eligible to write the journeyperson trade examination in the trade, a candidate must successfully complete any technical training required by the commission.”
saskapprenticeship.ca/designated_trades/esthetician-nail-technician -
Practical Examination
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC
Demand and pay
No Job Bank wage or outlook data for this occupation yet.
Nail technicians in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Not confirmed yet
- Alberta Not confirmed yet
- Manitoba Certification required
- Ontario Not confirmed yet
- Quebec Not confirmed yet
- New Brunswick Not confirmed yet
- Nova Scotia Not confirmed yet
- Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Sources checked
- Designated Trades | SATCC saskapprenticeship.ca/designated-trades-searchable · fetched October 11, 2026
- Esthetician-Nail Technician | SATCC saskapprenticeship.ca/designated_trades/esthetician-nail-technician · fetched October 11, 2026
- APPRENTICESHIP FEE UPDATES | SATCC saskapprenticeship.ca/apprenticeship-fee-updates · fetched October 9, 2026
- Entrance Requirements for Apprenticeship Training | SATCC saskapprenticeship.ca/entrance-requirements-for-apprenticeship-trai... · fetched October 9, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a nail technician in Saskatchewan?
No. Certification is available, but it is not required to work in the trade in Saskatchewan. Certification is managed by the Saskatchewan Apprenticeship and Trade Certification Commission.
Which exams are required?
journeyperson trade examination, Practical Examination.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.