How to Become a Registered Nurse in Saskatchewan
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the College of Registered Nurses of Saskatchewan to work as a registered nurse in Saskatchewan or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“The Registered Nurses Act, 1988 in Saskatchewan outlines the need to be registered to engage in the practice of registered nursing and to use protected titles.”
From crns.ca/nursing-practice/nursing-practice-resources/ask-a-nursing-a..., checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 4 steps, listed one-time fees $672
- Licensed in another province: 1 step
- Trained outside Canada: 1 step
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Registered Nurses of Saskatchewan
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 4 done
- Listed one-time fees: $672
- 2 steps without a listed fee
- Listed time: 0.1 months (only 1 of 4 steps state a time)
-
Do not apply with the CRNS until your university has emailed that the Program Completion document has been sent to the CRNS on your behalf.
Source
“Do not apply with the CRNS until you have received an email from your University that the Program Completion document has been sent to the CRNS on your behalf.”
crns.ca/register-license -
Register for the NCLEX-RN examination with Pearson VUE and pay the required fee, after which you receive a Registration Acknowledgement email with your NCSBN ID number.
- NCLEX-RN examination fee: $378
Source
“Register for the NCLEX-RN examination with Pearson VUE and pay the required fee of $378.00.”
crns.ca/register-license
Source
“Register for the NCLEX-RN examination with Pearson VUE and pay the required fee of $378.00. You will receive a NCLEX Registration Acknowledgement email which has your NCSBN ID number”
crns.ca/register-license - NCLEX-RN examination fee: $378
-
Create an account with the CRNS, complete your initial application and pay the required fee.
- Initial application fee: $294
Source
“Create an account with the CRNS, complete your initial application and pay the required fee of $294.00.”
crns.ca/register-license
Source
“Create an account with the CRNS, complete your initial application and pay the required fee of $294.00.”
crns.ca/register-license - Initial application fee: $294
-
Within 3 business days Pearson VUE will email the Authorization to Test, and you must book your exam appointment within the dates stated on the ATT.
Time: 3 daysTime source
“Within 3 business days Pearson VUE will email the Authorization to Test (ATT) to you”
crns.ca/register-licenseSource
“Within 3 business days Pearson VUE will email the Authorization to Test (ATT) to you, if you do not receive your ATT email after 3 business days send an email to [email protected]. You must book your exam appointment within the dates stated on the ATT.”
crns.ca/register-license
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $672
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $294 | 44% |
| Exams | $378 | 56% |
| One-time total | $672 | 100% |
2 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Licensed in another province
0 of 1 done
- 1 step without a listed fee
-
Begin your application process through the CRNS application page.
Source
“For Registered Nurses (RN) educated in Canada or Internationally Educated Nurses (IEN) currently licensed in another Canadian province or territory, begin your application process here.”
crns.ca/register-license
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with College of Registered Nurses of Saskatchewan
1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Trained outside Canada
0 of 1 done
- 1 step without a listed fee
-
If you have questions, contact the CRNS by email.
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with College of Registered Nurses of Saskatchewan
1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Reinstatement fee: $157.50
Source
“You will need to complete a reinstatement application by going to the CRNS Portal. An additional reinstatement fee of $157.50 will apply.”
crns.ca/register-license/license-renewal - Graduate Nurse License application fee: $157.50
Source
“Create an account with the CRNS, submit your initial application and required fee of $157.50”
crns.ca/register-license
Requirements
Education
Entry-level nursing programs in Saskatchewan must receive program approval from CRNS for graduates to be eligible to proceed with registration.
Source
“Entry-level nursing programs in Saskatchewan must receive program approval from CRNS for graduates to be eligible to proceed with registration.”
crns.ca/about-us/governance/education-program-approval
Experience
To renew a practicing RN license, you must have completed one of several options, including graduating from an approved RN nursing education program within the last five years or working a minimum of 1125 hours of RN nursing practice within the last five years.
Source
“Option 1: Graduated from an approved RN nursing education program within the last five (5) years. Option 2: Worked a minimum of 1125 hours of RN nursing practice within the last five (5) years.”
crns.ca/register-license/license-renewal
Police check
Applicants seeking licensure are required to submit a Criminal Record Check report that has an issue date within 6 months of the date of the application.
Source
“Criminal Record Check Report (CRC) - Applicants seeking licensure are required to submit a CRC (City Police, RCMP or through CSI Background Screening) report that has an issue date within 6 months of the date of this application.”
crns.ca/register-license
Other
Every RN and NP must complete the Continuing Competence Program annually as part of the requirements to hold a license to practice registered nursing in Saskatchewan.
Source
“Every RN and NP must complete the CCP annually as part of the requirements to hold a license to practice registered nursing in Saskatchewan.”
crns.ca/nursing-practice/continuing-competence
Already licensed in another province?
Not stated
The pages say RNs currently licensed in another Canadian province or territory can begin their application process, but do not state whether they can register without retaking the entry-to-practice exam or a competence assessment. Source
“For Registered Nurses (RN) educated in Canada or Internationally Educated Nurses (IEN) currently licensed in another Canadian province or territory, begin your application process here.”
crns.ca/register-license
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Registered Nurses of Saskatchewan
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Registered Nurses of Saskatchewan
Exams
-
National Council Licensure Examination (NCLEX-RN)
Source
“The following information provided is for graduate nursing students ready to apply for the National Council Licensure Examination (NCLEX-RN)”
crns.ca/register-licenseWhich provinces ask for the National Council Licensure Examination (NCLEX-RN)
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Registered Nurses of Saskatchewan
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Registered Nurses of Saskatchewan
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Registered Nurses of Saskatchewan
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Saskatchewan | $38.00 | $47.13 | $52.20 | Good (4 of 5) |
| Canada | $30.00 | $43.27 | $54.37 | — |
Registered nurses in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Licence required
- Alberta Licence required
- Manitoba Licence required
- Ontario Licence required
- Quebec Licence required
- New Brunswick Licence required
- Nova Scotia Licence required
- Prince Edward Island Licence required
- Newfoundland and Labrador Licence required
- Yukon Licence required
- Northwest Territories Licence required
- Nunavut Licence required
Sources checked
- Ask a Nursing Advisor - College of Registered Nurses of Saskatchewan (CRNS) crns.ca/nursing-practice/nursing-practice-resources/ask-a-nursing-a... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Register & License - College of Registered Nurses of Saskatchewan (CRNS) crns.ca/register-license · fetched October 10, 2026
- Education Program Approval - College of Registered Nurses of Saskatchewan (CRNS) crns.ca/about-us/governance/education-program-approval · fetched October 10, 2026
- Continuing Competence Program - College of Registered Nurses of Saskatchewan (CRNS) crns.ca/nursing-practice/continuing-competence · fetched October 10, 2026
- License Renewal - College of Registered Nurses of Saskatchewan (CRNS) crns.ca/register-license/license-renewal · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a registered nurse in Saskatchewan?
Yes. Registration with the College of Registered Nurses of Saskatchewan is required to practise in Saskatchewan.
Which exams are required?
National Council Licensure Examination (NCLEX-RN).
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.