How to Become a Scaffolder in Saskatchewan
Do you need certification?
Certification is voluntary
Scaffolder is a voluntary trade in Saskatchewan. You can work in the trade without a certificate.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“All other trades designated in Saskatchewan are voluntary (or non-compulsory). Apprenticeship and certification are not mandatory to work in voluntary trades.”
From saskapprenticeship.ca/experienced-workers/application-faqs, checked October 11, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Voluntary certification See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 3 steps, listed one-time fees $430
- Trained outside Canada: 4 steps
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 3 done
- Listed one-time fees: $430
-
The applicant registers with the apprenticeship commission to become a registered apprentice.
- registration fee: $200
Source
“registration fee will increase from $175 to $200”
saskapprenticeship.ca/apprenticeship-fee-updates
Source
“registration fee will increase from $175 to $200”
saskapprenticeship.ca/apprenticeship-fee-updates - registration fee: $200
-
The registered apprentice registers themselves for technical training through the MyATC system.
- Tuition fees: $105
Source
“Tuition fees are increasing by $10 per week, from $95 per week to $105 per week for most programs.”
saskapprenticeship.ca/apprenticeship-fee-updates
Source
“Apprentices self-register for technical training through MyATC.”
saskapprenticeship.ca/training-partners - Tuition fees: $105
-
The apprentice writes the journeyperson certification exam to become certified.
- written exam fee: $125
Source
“written exam fee will increase from $100 to $125”
saskapprenticeship.ca/apprenticeship-fee-updates
Source
“The SATCC will issue a Special Permit allowing the individual to work in the trade while they work toward meeting certification requirements, including attempting the journeyperson certification exam.”
saskapprenticeship.ca/experienced-workers/application-faqs - written exam fee: $125
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $430
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $105 | 24% |
| Exams | $125 | 29% |
| Registration | $200 | 47% |
| One-time total | $430 | 100% |
Trained outside Canada
0 of 4 done
- 4 steps without a listed fee
-
The internationally trained worker applies to be assessed as a trade qualifier.
Source
“Once an internationally trained worker has been assessed as a trade qualifer and approved to work in the trade, the employer and apprentice will register a Contract of Apprenticeship with the SATCC.”
saskapprenticeship.ca/experienced-workers/application-faqs -
Once approved, the employer and apprentice register a Contract of Apprenticeship with the SATCC.
Source
“Once an internationally trained worker has been assessed as a trade qualifer and approved to work in the trade, the employer and apprentice will register a Contract of Apprenticeship with the SATCC.”
saskapprenticeship.ca/experienced-workers/application-faqs -
The SATCC issues a Special Permit allowing the individual to work in the trade while working toward certification requirements.
Source
“The SATCC will issue a Special Permit allowing the individual to work in the trade while they work toward meeting certification requirements, including attempting the journeyperson certification exam.”
saskapprenticeship.ca/experienced-workers/application-faqs -
The individual attempts the journeyperson certification exam as part of meeting certification requirements.
Source
“The SATCC will issue a Special Permit allowing the individual to work in the trade while they work toward meeting certification requirements, including attempting the journeyperson certification exam.”
saskapprenticeship.ca/experienced-workers/application-faqs
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with SATCC
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- practical exam fee: $175
Source
“practical exam fee will increase from $160 to $175”
saskapprenticeship.ca/apprenticeship-fee-updates - examination review fee: $125
Source
“examination review fee will increase from $100 to $125”
saskapprenticeship.ca/apprenticeship-fee-updates
Requirements
Education
A completed Grade 12 transcript, Canadian Adult Education Credential or General Education Development guarantees entry into apprenticeship in Saskatchewan, but completing Grade 12 is not a requirement for apprenticeship entry.
Source
“A completed Grade 12 transcript, Canadian Adult Education Credential (CAEC) or General Education Development (GED) guarantees entry into apprenticeship in Saskatchewan.”
saskapprenticeship.ca/entrance-requirements-for-apprenticeship-trai...
Residency
To be eligible to challenge the journeyperson exam, a Saskatchewan address is required.
Source
“Yes, to be eligible to challenge the journeyperson exam, a Saskatchewan address is required.”
saskapprenticeship.ca/experienced-workers/application-faqs
Already licensed in another province?
Not stated
The pages do not state how someone already licensed in another Canadian province or territory registers in Saskatchewan. Source
“No, you can apply for an assessment from any province or country. However, if approved, you must be in Saskatchewan with a Saskatchewan mailing address to be eligible to attempt the exam.”
saskapprenticeship.ca/experienced-workers/application-faqs
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC
Exams
-
journeyperson certification exam
Source
“The SATCC will issue a Special Permit allowing the individual to work in the trade while they work toward meeting certification requirements, including attempting the journeyperson certification exam.”
saskapprenticeship.ca/experienced-workers/application-faqs
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC
Demand and pay
No Job Bank wage or outlook data for this occupation yet.
Scaffolders in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Not confirmed yet
- Alberta Not confirmed yet
- Manitoba Not confirmed yet
- Ontario Not confirmed yet
- Quebec Not confirmed yet
- New Brunswick Not confirmed yet
- Nova Scotia Not confirmed yet
- Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Sources checked
- Trade Qualifier Application FAQs | SATCC saskapprenticeship.ca/experienced-workers/application-faqs · fetched October 11, 2026
- Training Partners | SATCC saskapprenticeship.ca/training-partners · fetched October 9, 2026
- APPRENTICESHIP FEE UPDATES | SATCC saskapprenticeship.ca/apprenticeship-fee-updates · fetched October 9, 2026
- Entrance Requirements for Apprenticeship Training | SATCC saskapprenticeship.ca/entrance-requirements-for-apprenticeship-trai... · fetched October 9, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a scaffolder in Saskatchewan?
No. Certification is available, but it is not required to work in the trade in Saskatchewan. Certification is managed by the Saskatchewan Apprenticeship and Trade Certification Commission.
Which exams are required?
journeyperson certification exam.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.