At a glance

Licence status
Licence required See the source
Routes
Annual fees
  • Full Time Registration: $400
    Source
    “Full Time Registration: Full Year: January 1 - December 31 $400.00”
    sasw.ca/site/New%20Graduates
  • Full Time Registration prorated: $240 (Prorated from July 1 - December 31)
    Source
    “Prorated from: July 1 - December 31 $240.00”
    sasw.ca/site/New%20Graduates
  • Part Time Registration: $265
    Source
    “Part Time Registration Full Year: January 1-December 31 $265.00”
    sasw.ca/site/New%20Graduates
  • Part Time Registration prorated: $159 (Prorated from July 1 - December 31)
    Source
    “Prorated from: July 1 - December 31 $159.00”
    sasw.ca/site/New%20Graduates
  • Non Practising Registration: $92 (Full Year (not prorated), for members on leave, not employed, or not practising social work)
    Source
    “Non Practising Registration: Full Year (not prorated) $92.00”
    sasw.ca/site/New%20Graduates

Your roadmap

Trained in Canada

  • Listed one-time fees: $665
  • 4 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total
  • 3 steps without a listed fee
  • Annual fees: $665
  1. Complete the online application and pay by credit card for the appropriate registration category.

    • Application fee: $100 (one time non refundable, charged at time of initial application)
      Source
      “A one time non refundable application fee of $100.00 will be charged at time of initial application.”
      sasw.ca/site/New%20Graduates
    Source
    “Complete the online application and payment by clicking the “Application Form” link below; Make your payment in full by credit card for the appropriate registration category.”
    sasw.ca/site/New%20Graduates_Aug29
  2. Submit the required documents and forms together in one package, which may be sent by email while keeping the originals.

    Source
    “the following documents/forms must be provided in order to complete the registration process. These documents/forms are to be submitted together in one package”
    sasw.ca/site/New%20Graduates_Aug29
  3. Provide a current criminal record check issued within the last six months, obtained from police or RCMP or online through the office.

    Source
    “A current (not more than 6 months from date of issue) criminal record check. This may be obtained from your local police/RCMP detachment.”
    sasw.ca/site/Current%20Practicing%20Registration
  4. If you have been registered in any profession, complete the Verification of Registration/Licensure in Any Professional Jurisdiction Form.

    Source
    “If you have been a registered member of any profession (including but not limited to social work), please complete the Verification of Registration/Licensure in Any Professional Jurisdiction Form.”
    sasw.ca/site/New%20Graduates
  5. Once the application is approved, pay the registration fee for the chosen registration category.

    • Full Time Registration: $400
      Source
      “Full Time Registration: Full Year: January 1 - December 31 $400.00”
      sasw.ca/site/New%20Graduates
    • Full Time Registration prorated: $240 (Prorated from July 1 - December 31)
      Source
      “Prorated from: July 1 - December 31 $240.00”
      sasw.ca/site/New%20Graduates
    • Part Time Registration: $265
      Source
      “Part Time Registration Full Year: January 1-December 31 $265.00”
      sasw.ca/site/New%20Graduates
    • Part Time Registration prorated: $159 (Prorated from July 1 - December 31)
      Source
      “Prorated from: July 1 - December 31 $159.00”
      sasw.ca/site/New%20Graduates
    • Non Practising Registration: $92 (Full Year (not prorated), for members on leave, not employed, or not practising social work)
      Source
      “Non Practising Registration: Full Year (not prorated) $92.00”
      sasw.ca/site/New%20Graduates
    Source
    “Once your application is approved, you will be required to pay the registration fee based on the registration categories below.”
    sasw.ca/site/New%20Graduates

Listed fees for this route

One-time total listed: $665

One-time fees listed for Trained in Canada, by type
Fee typeAmountShare
Registration $665 100%
One-time total $665 100%

4 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total.

3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Annual fees: $665 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total. 3 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total.

  • Full Time Registration: $400
    Source
    “Full Time Registration: Full Year: January 1 - December 31 $400.00”
    sasw.ca/site/New%20Graduates
  • Full Time Registration prorated: $240 (Prorated from July 1 - December 31)
    Source
    “Prorated from: July 1 - December 31 $240.00”
    sasw.ca/site/New%20Graduates
  • Part Time Registration: $265
    Source
    “Part Time Registration Full Year: January 1-December 31 $265.00”
    sasw.ca/site/New%20Graduates
  • Part Time Registration prorated: $159 (Prorated from July 1 - December 31)
    Source
    “Prorated from: July 1 - December 31 $159.00”
    sasw.ca/site/New%20Graduates
  • Non Practising Registration: $92 (Full Year (not prorated), for members on leave, not employed, or not practising social work)
    Source
    “Non Practising Registration: Full Year (not prorated) $92.00”
    sasw.ca/site/New%20Graduates

Licensed in another province

  • 4 steps without a listed fee
  • Annual fees: $665
  1. Complete the online application and pay in full by credit card for the appropriate registration category.

    Source
    “Complete the online application and payment by clicking the “Application Form” link below; Make your payment in full by credit card for the appropriate registration category.”
    sasw.ca/site/Current%20Practicing%20Registration
  2. Submit the required documents together in one package, either by email with a certification statement while keeping originals, or by mailing original documents to the SASW office.

    Source
    “the following documents/forms must be provided in order to complete the registration process. These documents/forms are to be submitted together in one package”
    sasw.ca/site/Current%20Practicing%20Registration
  3. Provide a current criminal record check issued within the last six months, obtained from police or RCMP or online through the office.

    Source
    “A current (not more than 6 months from date of issue) criminal record check. This may be obtained from your local police/RCMP detachment.”
    sasw.ca/site/Current%20Practicing%20Registration
  4. Provide a Verification of Registration Form for each social work regulatory body where you hold current practicing registration.

    Source
    “A Verification of Registration Form for each social work regulatory body you have current practicing registration with.”
    sasw.ca/site/Current%20Practicing%20Registration

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Saskatchewan Association of Social Workers

4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Annual fees: $665 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total. 3 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total.

  • Full Time Registration: $400
    Source
    “Full Time Registration: Full Year: January 1 - December 31 $400.00”
    sasw.ca/site/New%20Graduates
  • Full Time Registration prorated: $240 (Prorated from July 1 - December 31)
    Source
    “Prorated from: July 1 - December 31 $240.00”
    sasw.ca/site/New%20Graduates
  • Part Time Registration: $265
    Source
    “Part Time Registration Full Year: January 1-December 31 $265.00”
    sasw.ca/site/New%20Graduates
  • Part Time Registration prorated: $159 (Prorated from July 1 - December 31)
    Source
    “Prorated from: July 1 - December 31 $159.00”
    sasw.ca/site/New%20Graduates
  • Non Practising Registration: $92 (Full Year (not prorated), for members on leave, not employed, or not practising social work)
    Source
    “Non Practising Registration: Full Year (not prorated) $92.00”
    sasw.ca/site/New%20Graduates

Trained outside Canada

  • 1 step without a listed fee
  • Annual fees: $665
  1. If your degree is from outside Canada or the United States and has not been assessed, have it assessed by CASW, since verification from CASW that the degree is equivalent is accepted for application.

    Source
    “verification from CASW that your international degree is equivalent to a Canadian social work degree”
    sasw.ca/site/member/registered

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Saskatchewan Association of Social Workers

1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Annual fees: $665 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total. 3 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total.

  • Full Time Registration: $400
    Source
    “Full Time Registration: Full Year: January 1 - December 31 $400.00”
    sasw.ca/site/New%20Graduates
  • Full Time Registration prorated: $240 (Prorated from July 1 - December 31)
    Source
    “Prorated from: July 1 - December 31 $240.00”
    sasw.ca/site/New%20Graduates
  • Part Time Registration: $265
    Source
    “Part Time Registration Full Year: January 1-December 31 $265.00”
    sasw.ca/site/New%20Graduates
  • Part Time Registration prorated: $159 (Prorated from July 1 - December 31)
    Source
    “Prorated from: July 1 - December 31 $159.00”
    sasw.ca/site/New%20Graduates
  • Non Practising Registration: $92 (Full Year (not prorated), for members on leave, not employed, or not practising social work)
    Source
    “Non Practising Registration: Full Year (not prorated) $92.00”
    sasw.ca/site/New%20Graduates

Requirements

Education

  • You must have a certificate, bachelor, master or doctorate in Social Work from an approved social work education program, with Certificates in Social Work accepted only from the Faculty of Social Work, University of Regina.

    Source
    “Any person who has a certificate, bachelor, master or doctorate in Social Work from an approved social work education program may apply to be registered as a social worker with the Saskatchewan Association of Social Workers (SASW). (SASW only accepts Certificates in Social Work from the Faculty of Social Work, University of Regina).”
    sasw.ca/site/member/registered
  • Applicants with an international degree must have verification from CASW that the degree is equivalent to a Canadian social work degree.

    Source
    “verification from CASW that your international degree is equivalent to a Canadian social work degree”
    sasw.ca/site/member/registered

Police check

  • You must provide a current criminal record check issued not more than six months before the date of issue.

    Source
    “A current (not more than 6 months from date of issue) criminal record check.”
    sasw.ca/site/Current%20Practicing%20Registration

Good character

  • The Registrar determines the good character of every applicant for registration.

    Source
    “It is the responsibility of the Registrar to determine the good character of any applicant admitted for registration.”
    sasw.ca/site/New%20Graduates

Already licensed in another province?

Direct transfer

Applicants with current practicing registration with a social work regulatory body in Canada can register by completing the application and providing a criminal record check and a Verification of Registration Form for each regulatory body, with no additional exam or competence assessment stated.

Source
“Applicants with Current Practicing Registration with a Social Work Regulatory Body in Canada ... A Verification of Registration Form for each social work regulatory body you have current practicing registration with.”
sasw.ca/site/Current%20Practicing%20Registration

Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Saskatchewan Association of Social Workers

Check a move between two provinces

Credential assessment

Not stated by the regulator Check with Saskatchewan Association of Social Workers

Exams

Not stated by the regulator Check with Saskatchewan Association of Social Workers

Language tests

Not stated by the regulator Check with Saskatchewan Association of Social Workers

Compare scores across provinces and professions

Canadian experience

Not stated by the regulator Check with Saskatchewan Association of Social Workers

Supervised practice

Not stated by the regulator Check with Saskatchewan Association of Social Workers

Demand and pay

Job Bank wages and outlook in Saskatchewan and Canada
WhereLowMedianHighOutlook
Saskatchewan $27.08 $38.00 $46.00 Moderate (3 of 5)
Canada $25.00 $38.46 $50.26 —

Wages by region and job outlook in Saskatchewan

Wages in every province and territory

Social workers in other provinces and territories

Compare social worker licensing across Canada

Sources checked

  1. New Graduates_Aug29 - Saskatchewan Association of Social Workers sasw.ca/site/New%20Graduates_Aug29 · fetched October 10, 2026
  2. Become a Registered Member_Aug29 - Saskatchewan Association of Social Workers sasw.ca/site/member/registered_Aug29 · fetched October 10, 2026
  3. New Graduates - Saskatchewan Association of Social Workers sasw.ca/site/New%20Graduates · fetched October 10, 2026
  4. Current Practicing Registration - Saskatchewan Association of Social Workers sasw.ca/site/Current%20Practicing%20Registration · fetched October 10, 2026
  5. Become a Registered Member - Saskatchewan Association of Social Workers sasw.ca/site/member/registered · fetched October 10, 2026

Frequently asked questions

1

Do you need a licence to work as a social worker in Saskatchewan?

Yes. Registration with the Saskatchewan Association of Social Workers is required to practise in Saskatchewan, and to use the title Registered Social Worker or social worker.

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.