How to Become an Auto Body Repairer in Alberta
Do you need certification?
Certification required
Auto body repairer is a compulsory trade in Alberta. You need a certificate, or registration as an apprentice, to work in the trade.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“Compulsory Certification”
From tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0106, checked October 11, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Certification required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 3 steps
- Licensed in another province: 2 steps, listed one-time fees $186
- Trained outside Canada: 2 steps, listed one-time fees $186
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 3 done
- 3 steps without a listed fee
-
Before enrolling in classroom instruction you must meet the entrance requirements, which include specific high school courses, or show you are ready another way.
Source
“Entrance requirements include specific high school courses that you must have passed.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit... -
You complete the three-period apprenticeship education program, working on the job and attending classroom instruction.
-
You must pass a theory exam to complete each period of the apprenticeship program.
Source
“Theory exam required to complete each period”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0106
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Licensed in another province
0 of 2 done
- Listed one-time fees: $186
- 1 step without a listed fee
-
You submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.
Source
“Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0106 -
You pass two practical exams, Exam A and Exam B.
- Exam A: $78
- Exam B: $108
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $186
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Exams | $186 | 100% |
| One-time total | $186 | 100% |
1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Trained outside Canada
0 of 2 done
- Listed one-time fees: $186
- 1 step without a listed fee
-
You submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.
Source
“Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0106 -
You pass two practical exams, Exam A and Exam B.
- Exam A: $78
- Exam B: $108
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $186
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Exams | $186 | 100% |
| One-time total | $186 | 100% |
1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- PLA entrance exam fee: $150
Source
“There is a $150 fee for this application.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/prior-lear... - Prior Learning Assessment Fee (period 1): $150 (each period, for Auto Body Technician – Auto Body Repairer)
Source
“Auto Body Technician – Auto Body Repairer | 1 | $150.00 | n/a”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/prior-lear... - Prior Learning Assessment Fee (period 2): $150
Source
“| 2 | $150.00 | $78.00”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/prior-lear... - Prior Learning Assessment Fee (period 3): $150
Source
“| 3 | $150.00 | $108.00”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/prior-lear... - PLA practical exam fee (period 2): $78
Source
“| 2 | $150.00 | $78.00”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/prior-lear... - PLA practical exam fee (period 3): $108
Source
“| 3 | $150.00 | $108.00”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/prior-lear... - Auto Body Technician – Auto Body Repairer: Exam A: $78
Source
“Auto Body Technician – Auto Body Repairer | Exam A $78.00 Exam B $108.00”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/... - Auto Body Technician – Auto Body Repairer: Exam B: $108
Source
“Auto Body Technician – Auto Body Repairer | Exam A $78.00 Exam B $108.00”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/...
Requirements
Education
Before enrolling in classes as a registered apprentice you must meet the entrance requirements, which include specific high school courses.
Source
“Entrance requirements include specific high school courses that you must have passed.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit...
Experience
Through the Work Experience Program you can qualify by completing 54 months and 7200 hours of verifiable Auto Body Repairer work experience.
Source
“Complete 54 months and 7200 hours of verifiable Auto Body Repairer work experience.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0106
Already licensed in another province?
Direct transfer
If you hold a recognized trade certificate, you are eligible to work in Alberta without additional exams, training, or registration. Source
“If you hold a recognized trade certificate, you are eligible to work in Alberta without additional exams, training, or registration.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/recognized-trade-certificates
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Exams
-
Theory exam
Source
“Theory exam required to complete each period”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0106 -
Exam A
-
Exam B
-
PLA entrance exam
Source
“PLA entrance exam: If you pass, you can start apprenticeship classes without the required high school courses when you register as an apprentice.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/prior-lear...
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alberta | $17.00 | $28.75 | $36.00 | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Canada | $18.50 | $27.00 | $40.00 | — |
Auto body repairers in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Not confirmed yet
- Saskatchewan Not confirmed yet
- Manitoba Not confirmed yet
- Ontario Certification required
- Quebec Not confirmed yet
- New Brunswick Not confirmed yet
- Nova Scotia Not confirmed yet
- Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet
- Yukon Voluntary certification
- Northwest Territories Voluntary certification
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Sources checked
- Tradesecrets - Auto Body Technician - Auto Body Repairer tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0106 · fetched October 10, 2026
- Tradesecrets - Meet Requirements tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit... · fetched October 9, 2026
- Tradesecrets - Prior Learning Assessments tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/prior-lear... · fetched October 9, 2026
- Tradesecrets - Trades with Practical Exams and Fees tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/... · fetched October 9, 2026
- Tradesecrets - Recognized Trade Certificates tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/recognized-trade-certificates · fetched October 9, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as an auto body repairer in Alberta?
Yes. Certification, or registration as an apprentice, is required to work in the trade in Alberta. Certification is managed by Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training.
Which exams are required?
Theory exam, Exam A, Exam B, PLA entrance exam.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.