How to Become an Auto Body Repairer in Yukon
Do you need certification?
Certification is voluntary
Auto body repairer is a voluntary trade in Yukon. You can work in the trade without a certificate.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“Not applicable | Not applicable | Not applicable | Not applicable | Not applicable | C | Not applicable | Not applicable | C | Not applicable | V | Not applicable | Not applicable”
From ellischart.ca/eng/trades/non-red-seal/auto-body-repair.shtml, checked October 11, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Voluntary certification See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 5 steps (1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total)
- Licensed in another province: no separate route
- Trained outside Canada: no separate route
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 5 done
- 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
- 4 steps without a listed fee
- Listed time: 24 to 48 months (only 1 of 5 steps state a time)
-
Before applying, you must be at least 16 years old, be a Yukon resident, meet your trade's entrance requirements, and work for an employer who employs a certified journeyperson in the trade and will sponsor your apprenticeship.
Source
“To register as an apprentice in the apprenticeship program, you must: - be at least 16 years old; - be a Yukon resident; - meet the entrance requirements for your trade; and - work for an employer who: - employs a journeyperson certified in the trade you’re applying to register in; and - is willing to sponsor your apprenticeship.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou... -
You pay a $10 non-refundable fee when you apply to register as an apprentice.
- Application fee: $10 (non-refundable, paid when applying to register as an apprentice)
Source
“You’ll pay a $10 non-refundable application fee when you apply to register as an apprentice.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
Source
“You’ll pay a $10 non-refundable application fee when you apply to register as an apprentice.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou... - Application fee: $10 (non-refundable, paid when applying to register as an apprentice)
-
As a registered apprentice you spend 80 per cent of your time learning on the job from a certified journeyperson and 20 per cent in in-school technical training.
Time: 2 to 4 yearsTime source
“let you return to your job over the 2 to 4 year period until you're a certified journeyperson.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...Source
“80 per cent of your time learning from a certified journeyperson on the job while getting paid; and - 20 per cent of your time learning at in-school technical training.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou... -
You write the journeyperson Certificate of Qualification exam in your trade, which is based on your previous experience and training and the requirements of your trade.
Source
“the journeyperson Certificate of Qualification exam in your trade based on: - your previous experience and training; and - the requirements of your trade.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou... -
When you finish your apprenticeship you earn a Certificate of Qualification and become a certified journeyperson.
Source
“When you finish your apprenticeship, you earn a Certificate of Qualification and become a certified journeyperson.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
Listed fees for this route
1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Licensed in another province
No separate route for this group. Source
“Motor Vehicle Body Repairer | Not applicable | Not applicable | Not applicable | Not applicable | Not applicable | Not applicable | Not applicable | Not applicable | Not applicable | Not applicable | !Check MarkYT | Not applicable | Not applicable”
ellischart.ca/eng/trades/non-red-seal/auto-body-repair.shtml
Trained outside Canada
No separate route for this group. Source
“Trade qualifiers are people who have experience working in the trade, but have not completed an apprenticeship program in Canada.”
ellischart.ca/eng/trades/non-red-seal/auto-body-repair.shtml
Requirements
Experience
A trade qualifier must have a minimum of 8100 hours working in the trade to be eligible to challenge the certification examination.
Source
“Not applicable | Not applicable | Not applicable | Not applicable | Not applicable | 6000 | Not applicable | Not applicable | 7200 | Not applicable | 8100 | Not applicable | Not applicable”
ellischart.ca/eng/trades/non-red-seal/auto-body-repair.shtml
Residency
You must be a Yukon resident to register as an apprentice.
Source
“- be a Yukon resident;”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
Other
You must be at least 16 years old to register as an apprentice.
Source
“- be at least 16 years old;”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...You must meet the entrance requirements for your trade.
Source
“- meet the entrance requirements for your trade; and”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...You must work for an employer who employs a journeyperson certified in the trade and is willing to sponsor your apprenticeship.
Source
“- work for an employer who: - employs a journeyperson certified in the trade you’re applying to register in; and - is willing to sponsor your apprenticeship.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
Already licensed in another province?
Not stated
The pages do not state how someone already licensed in another Canadian province or territory registers in the Yukon. Source
“Motor Vehicle Body Repairer | Not applicable | Not applicable | Not applicable | Not applicable | Not applicable | Not applicable | Not applicable | Not applicable | Not applicable | Not applicable | !Check MarkYT | Not applicable | Not applicable”
ellischart.ca/eng/trades/non-red-seal/auto-body-repair.shtml
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training
Exams
-
apprenticeship level 1 exam
Source
“the apprenticeship level 1 exam based on: - your previous experience and training; - the requirements of your trade; and - recommendation from your employer.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou... -
journeyperson Certificate of Qualification exam
Source
“the journeyperson Certificate of Qualification exam in your trade based on: - your previous experience and training; and - the requirements of your trade.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou... -
Written Level Examinations
Source
“Written Level Examinations Indicates if written examinations are required to successfully complete and advance past each level of training”
ellischart.ca/eng/trades/non-red-seal/auto-body-repair.shtml -
Written Certification Examination
Source
“Written Certification Examination Indicates if there is a written examination required for certification.”
ellischart.ca/eng/trades/non-red-seal/auto-body-repair.shtml
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Yukon | $28.45 | $36.46 | $47.47 | Undetermined |
| Canada | $18.50 | $27.00 | $40.00 | — |
Auto body repairers in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Not confirmed yet
- Alberta Certification required
- Saskatchewan Not confirmed yet
- Manitoba Not confirmed yet
- Ontario Certification required
- Quebec Not confirmed yet
- New Brunswick Not confirmed yet
- Nova Scotia Not confirmed yet
- Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Voluntary certification
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Sources checked
- Auto Body Repairer - Ellis Chart ellischart.ca/eng/trades/non-red-seal/auto-body-repair.shtml · fetched October 9, 2026
- Learn about the apprenticeship program | Yukon.ca yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou... · fetched October 9, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as an auto body repairer in Yukon?
No. Certification is available, but it is not required to work in the trade in Yukon. Certification is managed by Apprenticeship Training.
Which exams are required?
apprenticeship level 1 exam, journeyperson Certificate of Qualification exam, Written Level Examinations, Written Certification Examination.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.