At a glance

Licence status
Licence required See the source
Annual fees
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Child Care Staff Certification Office

Your roadmap

Trained in Canada

  • 4 steps without a listed fee
  1. Before applying, the applicant reads the Certification Guide to confirm eligibility and understand the steps and documents needed.

    Source
    “Before you apply for certification, read the Certification Guide to make sure you are eligible and understand all the steps.”
    alberta.ca/apply-for-certification
  2. The applicant creates an Alberta.ca Account with an email address to sign in to the application.

    Source
    “To complete the application process, you will need an Alberta.ca Account to sign in. If you do not already have one, all you need is an email address to create a basic account”
    alberta.ca/apply-for-certification
  3. The applicant logs into the online Early Childhood Educator Certification Application and applies.

    Source
    “Once you have created your account, log into the online Early Childhood Educator Certification Application.”
    alberta.ca/apply-for-certification
  4. Source
    “For Level 1, you will be asked to send copies of your educational transcripts or statement of marks verifying completion of one of the following”
    alberta.ca/apply-for-certification

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Alberta Child Care Staff Certification Office

4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Licensed in another province

Steps not listed by the regulator Check with Alberta Child Care Staff Certification Office

Trained outside Canada

  • 2 steps without a listed fee
  1. Applicants educated outside Canada refer to the Certification Guide to determine whether they need a language proficiency assessment or other additional documents.

    Source
    “If your education was completed outside of Canada, refer to the Certification Guide to determine if you require a language proficiency assessment or other additional documents.”
    alberta.ca/apply-for-certification
  2. When requested, the applicant arranges for official transcripts to be sent directly from their educational institution to the Childcare Staff Certification Office.

    Source
    “For levels 2 and 3, when requested by the Childcare Staff Certification Office, you must arrange for your official transcripts to be sent directly from your educational institution to the Childcare Staff Certification Office.”
    alberta.ca/apply-for-certification

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Alberta Child Care Staff Certification Office

2 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Requirements

Education

  • To be certified for Level 1, the applicant must complete one of the listed qualifying courses, such as a 45-hour (3 credit) post-secondary early learning and childcare course related to child development.

    Source
    “To be certified for Level 1, you must complete one of the following: - 45 hour (3 credits) post-secondary early learning and childcare course related to child development”
    alberta.ca/apply-for-certification
  • To be certified for Level 2, the applicant must complete a 1-year early learning and childcare certification program offered by an approved Alberta college or university, or an approved educational equivalency.

    Source
    “To be certified for Level 2, you must complete: - 1-year early learning and childcare certification program offered by an approved Alberta public college, private career college or university, or an approved educational equivalency”
    alberta.ca/apply-for-certification
  • To be certified for Level 3, the applicant must complete a 2-year early learning and childcare diploma program offered by an approved Alberta college or university, or an approved educational equivalency.

    Source
    “To be certified for Level 3, you have to complete: - 2-year early learning and childcare diploma program offered by an approved Alberta public college, private career college or university or an approved educational equivalency”
    alberta.ca/apply-for-certification

Good character

  • ECEs must report any current or ongoing investigation, charge, court hearing, trial or conviction for offences identified in Appendix B of the Certification Guide by filling out and signing the Self-Disclosure Reporting Form and submitting it to the Certification Office.

    Source
    “ECEs must report any current or ongoing investigation, charge, court hearing, trial or conviction to the Government of Alberta, for any offences identified in Appendix B of the Certification Guide.”
    alberta.ca/apply-for-certification

Residency

  • To register for the Early Childhood Education Orientation Course, applicants must be Alberta residents who do not have post-secondary studies in early learning and childcare, be at least 16 years of age, and be a Canadian citizen, Permanent Resident Card holder or Work or Study Visa holder legally residing in Alberta.

    Source
    “To register for the course, applicants must be at least 16 years of age, and be a Canadian citizen, a Permanent Resident Card holder or a Work or Study Visa holder legally residing in Alberta.”
    alberta.ca/apply-for-certification

Already licensed in another province?

Not stated

The page says educators already certified elsewhere in Canada may be eligible for Alberta certification if their scope of practice and competencies are similar, but does not state whether they can register directly or must complete extra steps.

Source
“Early childhood educators who are certified, registered, or licensed to work in a regulated child care setting elsewhere in Canada may be eligible for certification in Alberta if their scope of practice and competencies are similar.”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/early-childhood-e...

Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Child Care Staff Certification Office

Check a move between two provinces

Credential assessment

Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Child Care Staff Certification Office

Exams

Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Child Care Staff Certification Office

Language tests

Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Child Care Staff Certification Office

Compare scores across provinces and professions

Canadian experience

Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Child Care Staff Certification Office

Supervised practice

Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Child Care Staff Certification Office

Demand and pay

Job Bank wages and outlook in Alberta and Canada
WhereLowMedianHighOutlook
Alberta $15.60 $19.00 $28.85 Good (4 of 5)
Canada $16.95 $22.30 $30.03 —

Wages by region and job outlook in Alberta

Wages in every province and territory

Early childhood educators in other provinces and territories

Compare early childhood educator licensing across Canada

Sources checked

  1. Apply for certification | Alberta.ca alberta.ca/apply-for-certification · fetched October 10, 2026
  2. Early Childhood Educator: Certifications in Alberta - alis alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/early-childhood-e... · fetched October 10, 2026

Frequently asked questions

1

Do you need a licence to work as an early childhood educator in Alberta?

Yes. Registration with the Alberta Child Care Staff Certification Office is required to practise in Alberta.

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.