At a glance

Licence status
Licence required See the source
Routes
Annual fees
  • Annual registration fee: $160 (the fee for membership with the College and must be paid annually)
    Source
    “The registration fee of $160 is the fee for membership with the College and must be paid annually.”
    college-ece.ca/applicants/registration-faqs
  • Annual registration fee (adjusted): $175 (Effective October 1, 2024)
    Source
    “Effective October 1, 2024, annual registration fees will be adjusted from $160/year to $175/year.”
    college-ece.ca/applicants/registration-faqs

Your roadmap

Trained in Canada

  • 2 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total
  • 3 steps without a listed fee
  • Annual fees: $160 (the fee for membership with the College and must be paid annually), $175 (Effective October 1, 2024)
  1. Graduate from a diploma program in early childhood education offered by an Ontario College of Applied Arts and Technology.

    Source
    “Graduation from a diploma program in early childhood education offered by an Ontario College of Applied Arts and Technology (OCAAT).”
    college-ece.ca/applicants/section-6-educational-requirement
  2. Arrange for the post-secondary institution to send your official transcript directly to the College, since transcripts sent by applicants are not accepted.

    Source
    “The official transcript must be sent by the post-secondary institution directly to the College. You are responsible for making these arrangements with the post-secondary institution. The College does not accept transcripts that are sent by applicants or any other persons or organizations.”
    college-ece.ca/applicants/section-6-educational-requirement
  3. Complete and submit the General Application Form with the required supporting documents.

    Source
    “If you plan to meet the education requirement by way of option e, do not complete the General Application Form. You must complete the Application Form – Individual Assessment.”
    college-ece.ca/applicants/section-6-educational-requirement
  4. Pay the one-time application fee and the registration fee with your application.

    • Application fee: $85 (non-refundable, regardless of the outcome of the application process)
      Source
      “A one-time application fee of $85 is required for the processing of your application. This is non-refundable, regardless of the outcome of the application process.”
      college-ece.ca/applicants/registration-faqs
    • Registration fee: $160 (for all completed applications received before October 1)
      Source
      “This means that for all completed applications received before October 1, the fee is $160, plus the $85 application fee, totalling $245.”
      college-ece.ca/applicants/registration-faqs
    Source
    “A one-time application fee of $85 is required for the processing of your application. This is non-refundable, regardless of the outcome of the application process.”
    college-ece.ca/applicants/registration-faqs

Listed fees for this route

2 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total.

3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.

  • Annual registration fee: $160 (the fee for membership with the College and must be paid annually)
    Source
    “The registration fee of $160 is the fee for membership with the College and must be paid annually.”
    college-ece.ca/applicants/registration-faqs
  • Annual registration fee (adjusted): $175 (Effective October 1, 2024)
    Source
    “Effective October 1, 2024, annual registration fees will be adjusted from $160/year to $175/year.”
    college-ece.ca/applicants/registration-faqs

Licensed in another province

  • 5 steps without a listed fee
  • Annual fees: $160 (the fee for membership with the College and must be paid annually), $175 (Effective October 1, 2024)
  1. Source
    “The College has an application pathway for out-of-province workers who are already certified in the same occupation by a regulatory authority of another Canadian province or territory. The College will not require these applicants to undergo additional material training, experience, examinations or assessments to meet the education requirement for registration.”
    college-ece.ca/applicants/registration-faqs
  2. In Section 7 of the General Application Form, provide details of your licence or certificate, including the province or territory, name, dates, licence number, employer, and education.

    Source
    “Select this option if you currently hold licensure or registration in early childhood education with another province or territory in Canada that the College recognizes for the purpose of CFTA (AIT) and provide all of the following information in Section 7 of the General Application Form.”
    college-ece.ca/applicants/section-6-educational-requirement
  3. Submit a copy of your out-of-province certificate or licence with your application so the College can review whether you meet all registration requirements.

    Source
    “If you hold one of these certificates or licences, please submit a copy with your application. Your application will be reviewed to determine if you meet all of the College’s requirements for registration.”
    college-ece.ca/applicants/individual-assessment-faqs
  4. Source
    “Submit an Attestation to the College confirming that they meet the requirements for the “As of Right” route.”
    college-ece.ca/applicants/ontario-labour-mobility-act
  5. Submit all required documentation to the College within six months of starting the As of Right route.

    Source
    “Under the regulations, applicants have six (6) months to submit all required documentation to the College in order to meet the registration requirements for becoming a Registered Early Childhood Educator.”
    college-ece.ca/applicants/ontario-labour-mobility-act

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with College of Early Childhood Educators

5 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.

  • Annual registration fee: $160 (the fee for membership with the College and must be paid annually)
    Source
    “The registration fee of $160 is the fee for membership with the College and must be paid annually.”
    college-ece.ca/applicants/registration-faqs
  • Annual registration fee (adjusted): $175 (Effective October 1, 2024)
    Source
    “Effective October 1, 2024, annual registration fees will be adjusted from $160/year to $175/year.”
    college-ece.ca/applicants/registration-faqs

Trained outside Canada

  • 3 steps without a listed fee
  • Annual fees: $160 (the fee for membership with the College and must be paid annually), $175 (Effective October 1, 2024)
  1. Apply for an International Credential Advantage Package Document-by-Document Report from World Education Services.

    Source
    “Internationally trained applicants must apply for an International Credential Advantage Package (ICAP) Document-by-Document Report from World Education Services, (WES).”
    college-ece.ca/applicants/individual-assessment-faqs
  2. Have World Education Services mail the ICAP report and your transcripts directly to the College.

    Source
    “WES will mail this report, and your transcripts, directly to the College.”
    college-ece.ca/applicants/individual-assessment-faqs
  3. Submit your application to the College with the required documentation.

    Source
    “Assessments can only be done once an application is received by the College with all of the required documentation.”
    college-ece.ca/applicants/individual-assessment-faqs

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with College of Early Childhood Educators

3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.

  • Annual registration fee: $160 (the fee for membership with the College and must be paid annually)
    Source
    “The registration fee of $160 is the fee for membership with the College and must be paid annually.”
    college-ece.ca/applicants/registration-faqs
  • Annual registration fee (adjusted): $175 (Effective October 1, 2024)
    Source
    “Effective October 1, 2024, annual registration fees will be adjusted from $160/year to $175/year.”
    college-ece.ca/applicants/registration-faqs

Other listed fees

The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.

  • NSF cheque processing fee: $50 (for any cheque that is not honoured (i.e., not sufficient funds (NSF)))
    Source
    “An additional processing fee of $50 (in Canadian dollars) will be charged for any cheque that is not honoured (i.e., not sufficient funds (NSF)).”
    college-ece.ca/applicants/requirement-3-paying-the-application-and-...
  • Cheque not honoured processing fee: $35 (Any cheque that is not honoured)
    Source
    “Any cheque that is not honoured is subject to a $35 processing fee.”
    college-ece.ca/applicants/registration-faqs
  • Total for applications received before October 1: $245 (for all completed applications received before October 1)
    Source
    “This means that for all completed applications received before October 1, the fee is $160, plus the $85 application fee, totalling $245.”
    college-ece.ca/applicants/registration-faqs
  • Total for applications received on or after October 1: $260 (Applicants submitting completed applications on or after October 1)
    Source
    “Applicants submitting completed applications on or after October 1 will pay a $175 registration fee, plus the $85 application fee, totalling $260.”
    college-ece.ca/applicants/registration-faqs

Requirements

Education

  • Applicants must have completed education that meets the standards set out in the Registration Regulation, such as graduation from an OCAAT diploma program in early childhood education, a College-approved program, recognized licensure in another province or territory, or an assessed combination of education and work experience.

    Source
    “It is a requirement for registration that applicants have completed education that meets the standards set out the in Registration Regulation. There are four ways you can do this:”
    college-ece.ca/applicants/section-6-educational-requirement
  • Applicants who do not hold a post secondary diploma or degree from a recognized post secondary institution are not eligible for registration under section 7.1.iv. of the Registration Regulation.

    Source
    “Applicants who do not hold a post secondary diploma or degree from a recognized post secondary institution are not eligible for registration under section 7.1.iv. of the Registration Regulation.”
    college-ece.ca/applicants/individual-assessment-faqs

Police check

Good character

  • Applicants must not have been denied registration or a licence by any provincial or territorial authority to practise as an Early Childhood Educator within two years prior to applying for registration in Ontario.

    Source
    “Not have been denied registration or a license by any provincial or territorial authority to practice as an Early Childhood Educator within two years prior to applying for registration in Ontario;”
    college-ece.ca/applicants/ontario-labour-mobility-act
  • Applicants must not have been found guilty in any jurisdiction of professional misconduct, incompetence, or being unfit to practise the profession.

    Source
    “Not have been found guilty in any jurisdiction of professional misconduct, incompetence, or being unfit to practice the profession;”
    college-ece.ca/applicants/ontario-labour-mobility-act
  • Applicants must not currently be the subject of any investigation or proceeding in any jurisdiction about professional misconduct, incompetence, or their ability to safely practise the profession.

    Source
    “Not currently be the subject of any investigation or proceeding in any jurisdiction about professional misconduct, incompetence, or your ability to safely practice the profession;”
    college-ece.ca/applicants/ontario-labour-mobility-act

Other

  • Applicants must meet the College's language fluency requirements in English or French.

    Source
    “Meet the College’s language fluency requirements in English or French;”
    college-ece.ca/applicants/ontario-labour-mobility-act
  • Applicants must possess the knowledge needed to practise the regulated profession of Early Childhood Education in Ontario.

    Source
    “Possess the knowledge needed to practice the regulated profession of Early Childhood Education in Ontario;”
    college-ece.ca/applicants/ontario-labour-mobility-act
  • Applicants must hold the equivalent of a Certificate of Registration from a recognized regulatory authority of another Canadian province or territory that is currently in good standing.

    Source
    “Hold the equivalent of a Certificate of Registration issued by the College of Early Childhood Educators from a recognized regulatory authority of another Canadian province or territory that is currently in good standing;”
    college-ece.ca/applicants/ontario-labour-mobility-act

Already licensed in another province?

Direct transfer

The College has an application pathway for out-of-province workers already certified in the same occupation by another Canadian province or territory and will not require these applicants to undergo additional material training, experience, examinations or assessments to meet the education requirement for registration.

Source
“The College has an application pathway for out-of-province workers who are already certified in the same occupation by a regulatory authority of another Canadian province or territory. The College will not require these applicants to undergo additional material training, experience, examinations or assessments to meet the education requirement for registration.”
college-ece.ca/applicants/registration-faqs

  1. Check the Ontario Labour Mobility Act page

    Source
    “Please check the Ontario Labour Mobility Act page for a list of certificates and licences granted by a regulatory authority of another province of territory. If you hold one of these certificates or licences, please submit a copy with your application.”
    college-ece.ca/applicants/individual-assessment-faqs
  2. Submit a copy of your licence

    Source
    “If you hold one of these certificates or licences, please submit a copy with your application. Your application will be reviewed to determine if you meet all of the College’s requirements for registration.”
    college-ece.ca/applicants/individual-assessment-faqs

Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Early Childhood Educators

Check a move between two provinces

Credential assessment

  • Individual assessment

    To determine whether applicants with a four semester (two year) diploma or degree level credential with a major in early childhood education from a recognized post secondary institution meet the College's entry to practise requirements based on their academic credentials and experience.

    Source
    “Applicants may apply if they have a four semester (two year) diploma or degree level credential with a major in early childhood education from a recognized post secondary institution. These applicants will undergo an individual assessment to determine whether they meet the College’s entry to practise requirements based on the academic credentials and experience they have.”
    college-ece.ca/applicants/individual-assessment-faqs
  • World Education Services International Credential Advantage Package (ICAP) Document-by-Document Report

    Internationally trained applicants must obtain this credential assessment report, which WES mails directly to the College.

    Source
    “Internationally trained applicants must apply for an International Credential Advantage Package (ICAP) Document-by-Document Report from World Education Services, (WES). WES will mail this report, and your transcripts, directly to the College.”
    college-ece.ca/applicants/individual-assessment-faqs

Exams

Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Early Childhood Educators

Language tests

Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Early Childhood Educators

Compare scores across provinces and professions

Canadian experience

Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Early Childhood Educators

Supervised practice

Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Early Childhood Educators

Demand and pay

Job Bank wages and outlook in Ontario and Canada
WhereLowMedianHighOutlook
Ontario $17.60 $22.00 $31.00 Good (4 of 5)
Canada $16.95 $22.30 $30.03 —

Wages by region and job outlook in Ontario

Wages in every province and territory

Early childhood educators in other provinces and territories

Compare early childhood educator licensing across Canada

Sources checked

  1. ontario.ca/page/work-your-profession-or-trade ontario.ca/page/work-your-profession-or-trade
  2. Section 6: Educational Requirement | Welcome to the College of Early Childhood Educators college-ece.ca/applicants/section-6-educational-requirement · fetched October 10, 2026
  3. Registration FAQs | Welcome to the College of Early Childhood Educators college-ece.ca/applicants/registration-faqs · fetched October 10, 2026
  4. Individual Assessment FAQs | Welcome to the College of Early Childhood Educators college-ece.ca/applicants/individual-assessment-faqs · fetched October 10, 2026
  5. Ontario Labour Mobility Act | Welcome to the College of Early Childhood Educators college-ece.ca/applicants/ontario-labour-mobility-act · fetched October 10, 2026
  6. Requirement 3: Paying the Application and Registration Fees | Welcome to the College of Early Childhood Educators college-ece.ca/applicants/requirement-3-paying-the-application-and-... · fetched October 10, 2026

Frequently asked questions

1

Do you need a licence to work as an early childhood educator in Ontario?

Yes. Registration with the College of Early Childhood Educators is required to practise in Ontario.

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.