How to Become a Glazier in Alberta
Do you need certification?
Certification is voluntary
Glazier is a voluntary trade in Alberta. You can work in the trade without a certificate.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“4-Period Apprenticeship Program Optional Certification”
From tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0250, checked October 11, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Voluntary certification See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 5 steps
- Licensed in another province: 2 steps, listed one-time fees $230
- Trained outside Canada: no separate route
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 5 done
- 5 steps without a listed fee
-
Explore the trade profiles and learn how apprenticeship education works before choosing the program.
Source
“Alberta offers Apprenticeship Education Programs in 47 designated trades. Here are some tips to help you choose.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/choose-you... -
Before applying, make sure you meet the eligibility requirements to register as an apprentice.
Source
“Before you apply to become a registered apprentice, make sure you are eligible.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit... -
Before enrolling in classes, meet the entrance requirements, which include specific high school courses, or pass an entrance exam or another accepted alternative.
Source
“Before you enroll in classes as a registered apprentice, you'll need to meet the entrance requirements.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit... -
Source
“- Theory exam required to complete each period”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0250 -
In the final period, apprentices may choose to write the Red Seal exam.
Source
“- Red Seal exam option in final period”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0250
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
5 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Licensed in another province
0 of 2 done
- Listed one-time fees: $230
- 1 step without a listed fee
-
Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.
Source
“1. Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0250 -
Pass a practical exam that costs $230.00.
- Practical exam: $230
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $230
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Exams | $230 | 100% |
| One-time total | $230 | 100% |
1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Trained outside Canada
No separate route for this group. Source
“Glaziers cut and install glass and aluminum systems for commercial and residential applications.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0250
Requirements
Education
Entrance requirements include specific high school courses that you must have passed before enrolling in classroom instruction.
Source
“- Entrance requirements include specific high school courses that you must have passed.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit...
Experience
Applicants to the Work Experience Program must complete 72 months and 9720 hours of verifiable Glazier work experience.
Source
“1. Complete 72 months and 9720 hours of verifiable Glazier work experience.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0250
Already licensed in another province?
Extra steps
Glaziers trained in other provinces can work in Alberta if they hold a certificate or licence recognized by the Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training Board or have the skills and knowledge expected of an Alberta journeyperson, and recognized credential applicants must pass a theory exam and a practical exam. Source
“Glaziers trained in other provinces and territories can work in Alberta if they hold a certificate or license recognized by the Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training Board or have the skills and knowledge expected of a journeyperson certified in Alberta.”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/glazier
Submit recognized trade certificate
Source
“1. Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0250Pass a practical exam
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Exams
-
Theory exam
Source
“- Theory exam required to complete each period”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0250 -
Red Seal exam
Source
“- Red Seal exam option in final period”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0250 -
Entrance exam
Source
“Take an entrance exam to show you’re ready.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit... -
Challenge exam
Source
“If you haven’t passed classroom instruction, you might be able to challenge the period exam to move in your apprenticeship. This is known as a challenge exam.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/apprentice-services/prepare-for-an-exam/typ... -
Prior Learning Assessment (PLA) exam
Source
“A PLA lets you challenge a period exam for advance credit when you register as an apprentice.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/apprentice-services/prepare-for-an-exam/typ... -
Practical exam
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alberta | $20.00 | $28.00 | $37.00 | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Canada | $22.00 | $30.16 | $43.09 | — |
Glaziers in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Voluntary certification
- Saskatchewan Voluntary certification
- Manitoba Voluntary certification
- Ontario Voluntary certification
- Quebec Certification required
- New Brunswick Voluntary certification
- Nova Scotia Voluntary certification
- Prince Edward Island Voluntary certification
- Newfoundland and Labrador Voluntary certification
- Yukon Voluntary certification
- Northwest Territories Voluntary certification
- Nunavut Voluntary certification
Sources checked
- Tradesecrets - Glazier tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0250 · fetched October 10, 2026
- Tradesecrets - Choose your program tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/choose-you... · fetched October 9, 2026
- Tradesecrets - Meet Requirements tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit... · fetched October 9, 2026
- Tradesecrets - Types of Exams tradesecrets.alberta.ca/apprentice-services/prepare-for-an-exam/typ... · fetched October 9, 2026
- Glazier: Certifications in Alberta - alis alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/glazier · fetched October 8, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a glazier in Alberta?
No. Certification is available, but it is not required to work in the trade in Alberta. Certification is managed by Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training.
Which exams are required?
Theory exam, Red Seal exam, Entrance exam, Challenge exam, Prior Learning Assessment (PLA) exam, Practical exam.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.