How to Become a Glazier in Yukon
Do you need certification?
Certification is voluntary
Glazier is a voluntary trade in Yukon. You can work in the trade without a certificate.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“Work in Voluntary trades may legally be performed with or without certification or apprenticeship training”
From ellischart.ca/eng/trades/glazier/ellis-chart.shtml, checked October 11, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Voluntary certification See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 5 steps (1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total)
- Licensed in another province: no separate route
- Trained outside Canada: no separate route
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 5 done
- 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
- 4 steps without a listed fee
- Listed time: 24.9 to 50.3 months (only 2 of 5 steps state a time)
-
You pay a non-refundable $10 application fee when you apply to register as an apprentice.
- Application fee: $10 (when you apply to register as an apprentice)
Source
“You’ll pay a $10 non-refundable application fee when you apply to register as an apprentice.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
Source
“You’ll pay a $10 non-refundable application fee when you apply to register as an apprentice.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou... - Application fee: $10 (when you apply to register as an apprentice)
-
You register as an apprentice with an employer who employs a certified journeyperson in the trade and is willing to sponsor your apprenticeship.
Source
“work for an employer who: - employs a journeyperson certified in the trade you’re applying to register in; and - is willing to sponsor your apprenticeship.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou... -
You spend 80 per cent of your time learning on the job from a certified journeyperson and 20 per cent of your time in in-school technical training, which ranges from 4 to 10 weeks per year depending on your trade.
Time: 4 to 10 weeksTime source
“In-class training ranges from 4 to 10 weeks per year depending on your trade.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...Source
“80 per cent of your time learning from a certified journeyperson on the job while getting paid; and - 20 per cent of your time learning at in-school technical training. In-class training ranges from 4 to 10 weeks per year depending on your trade.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou... -
You write the apprenticeship level 1 exam and the journeyperson Certificate of Qualification exam in your trade, based on your previous experience and training and the requirements of your trade.
Source
“the apprenticeship level 1 exam based on: - your previous experience and training; - the requirements of your trade; and - recommendation from your employer. - the journeyperson Certificate of Qualification exam in your trade based on: - your previous experience and training; and - the requirements of your trade.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou... -
When you finish your apprenticeship you earn a Certificate of Qualification and become a certified journeyperson.
Time: 2 to 4 yearsTime source
“let you return to your job over the 2 to 4 year period until you're a certified journeyperson.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...Source
“When you finish your apprenticeship, you earn a Certificate of Qualification and become a certified journeyperson.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
Listed fees for this route
1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Licensed in another province
No separate route for this group. Source
“Trade Qualifier Challenge Option (Yes/No) Trade qualifiers are people who have experience working in the trade, but have not completed an apprenticeship program in Canada.”
ellischart.ca/eng/trades/glazier/ellis-chart.shtml
Trained outside Canada
No separate route for this group. Source
“Trade qualifiers are people who have experience working in the trade, but have not completed an apprenticeship program in Canada.”
ellischart.ca/eng/trades/glazier/ellis-chart.shtml
Requirements
Residency
To register as an apprentice you must be a Yukon resident.
Source
“- be a Yukon resident;”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
Other
To register as an apprentice you must be at least 16 years old.
Source
“To register as an apprentice in the apprenticeship program, you must: - be at least 16 years old;”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...You must meet the entrance requirements for your trade.
Source
“- meet the entrance requirements for your trade; and”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...You must work for an employer who employs a journeyperson certified in the trade and is willing to sponsor your apprenticeship.
Source
“work for an employer who: - employs a journeyperson certified in the trade you’re applying to register in; and - is willing to sponsor your apprenticeship.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
Already licensed in another province?
Not stated
The pages do not state how someone already licensed in another Canadian province or territory registers in the Yukon.
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training
Exams
-
apprenticeship level 1 exam
Source
“the apprenticeship level 1 exam based on: - your previous experience and training; - the requirements of your trade; and - recommendation from your employer.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou... -
journeyperson Certificate of Qualification exam
Source
“the journeyperson Certificate of Qualification exam in your trade based on: - your previous experience and training; and - the requirements of your trade.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Yukon | — | — | — | Undetermined |
| Canada | $22.00 | $30.16 | $43.09 | — |
Glaziers in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Voluntary certification
- Alberta Voluntary certification
- Saskatchewan Voluntary certification
- Manitoba Voluntary certification
- Ontario Voluntary certification
- Quebec Certification required
- New Brunswick Voluntary certification
- Nova Scotia Voluntary certification
- Prince Edward Island Voluntary certification
- Newfoundland and Labrador Voluntary certification
- Northwest Territories Voluntary certification
- Nunavut Voluntary certification
Sources checked
- Glazier – Ellis Chart ellischart.ca/eng/trades/glazier/ellis-chart.shtml · fetched October 9, 2026
- Learn about the apprenticeship program | Yukon.ca yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou... · fetched October 9, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a glazier in Yukon?
No. Certification is available, but it is not required to work in the trade in Yukon. Certification is managed by Apprenticeship Training.
Which exams are required?
apprenticeship level 1 exam, journeyperson Certificate of Qualification exam.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.