At a glance

Licence status
Voluntary certification See the source
Routes
Annual fees
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Your roadmap

Trained in Canada

  • 5 steps without a listed fee
  1. Apprentices must find a suitable employer who is willing to hire and train them.

    Source
    “Apprentices must find suitable employers who are willing to hire and train apprentices.”
    alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/insulator-heat-an...
  2. To learn the trade, you must become a registered apprentice.

    Source
    “To learn the trade, you must become a registered apprentice.”
    alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/insulator-heat-an...
  3. Complete the four-period apprenticeship program, which includes on-the-job training and classroom instruction each year.

    Source
    “The term of apprenticeship for apprentice insulators (heat and frost) in Alberta is 4 years (four 12-month periods) that include a minimum of 1,620 hours of on-the-job training and 6 weeks of classroom instruction each year.”
    alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/insulator-heat-an...
  4. A theory exam is required to complete each period of the apprenticeship program.

    Source
    “Theory exam required to complete each period”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/033
  5. In the final period, apprentices have the option of writing the Red Seal exam.

    Source
    “Red Seal exam option in final period”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/033

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

5 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Licensed in another province

  • Listed one-time fees: $475
  • 1 step without a listed fee
  1. Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.

    Source
    “Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/033
  2. Pass a practical exam, which costs $475.00.

    Source
    “Pass a practical exam ($475.00).”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/033

Listed fees for this route

One-time total listed: $475

One-time fees listed for Licensed in another province, by type
Fee typeAmountShare
Exams $475 100%
One-time total $475 100%

1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Trained outside Canada

No separate route for this group.

Source
“Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/033

Other listed fees

The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.

Requirements

Education

  • Applicants holding a related trade certificate may be eligible for credit toward the requirements.

    Source
    “Applicants holding a related trade certificate may be eligible for credit toward these requirements (see Related Trade Certificates for the Apprenticeship Education Program above).”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/033

Experience

  • Applicants to the Work Experience Program must complete 72 months and 9720 hours of verifiable Insulator (Heat and Frost) work experience.

    Source
    “Complete 72 months and 9720 hours of verifiable Insulator (Heat and Frost) work experience.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/033

Already licensed in another province?

Direct transfer

Insulators trained in other provinces and territories can work in Alberta if they hold a certificate or license recognized by Alberta.

Source
“Insulators (heat and frost) trained in other provinces and territories can work in Alberta if they hold a certificate or license recognized by Alberta or have the skills and knowledge expected of a journeyperson certified in Alberta.”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/insulator-heat-an...

Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Check a move between two provinces

Credential assessment

Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Exams

Language tests

Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Compare scores across provinces and professions

Canadian experience

Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Supervised practice

Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Demand and pay

Job Bank wages and outlook in Alberta and Canada
WhereLowMedianHighOutlook
Alberta $24.00 $40.00 $50.00 Limited (2 of 5)
Canada $23.00 $37.61 $48.65 —

Wages by region and job outlook in Alberta

Wages in every province and territory

Insulators (heat and frost) in other provinces and territories

Compare insulator (heat and frost) licensing across Canada

Sources checked

  1. Insulator (Heat and Frost): Certifications in Alberta - alis alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/insulator-heat-an... · fetched October 8, 2026
  2. Tradesecrets - Insulator (Heat and Frost) tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/033 · fetched October 10, 2026
  3. Tradesecrets - Trades with Practical Exams and Fees tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/... · fetched October 9, 2026

Frequently asked questions

2

Do you need a licence to work as an insulator (heat and frost) in Alberta?

No. Certification is available, but it is not required to work in the trade in Alberta. Certification is managed by Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training.

Which exams are required?

Theory exam, Red Seal exam, Practical exam.

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.