How to Become an Insulator (heat and Frost) in Saskatchewan
Do you need certification?
Certification is voluntary
Insulator (heat and frost) is a voluntary trade in Saskatchewan. You can work in the trade without a certificate.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“The compulsory apprenticeship trades are Construction Electrician, Plumber, Refrigeration and Air Conditioning Mechanic, Sheet Metal Worker and Sprinkler Fitter.”
From saskapprenticeship.ca/faqs, checked October 11, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Voluntary certification See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 4 steps
- Licensed in another province: 4 steps
- Trained outside Canada: no separate route
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 4 done
- 4 steps without a listed fee
-
Find an employer who is willing to provide the necessary on-the-job training and supervision.
Source
“1. Find an employer willing to provide the necessary on-the-job training and supervision.”
saskapprenticeship.ca/faqs -
Submit an apprenticeship application together with the employer through MyATC.
Source
“2. Submit an apprenticeship application with the employer through MyATC.”
saskapprenticeship.ca/faqs -
Work and learn on the job and attend and successfully complete the technical training.
Source
“3. Work and learn on the job, and attend and successfully complete your technical training.”
saskapprenticeship.ca/faqs -
Write the journeyperson examination and pass with a minimum of 70%.
Source
“4. Write your journeyperson examination and pass with a minimum of 70%.”
saskapprenticeship.ca/faqs
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with SATCC
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Licensed in another province
0 of 4 done
- 4 steps without a listed fee
-
Submit a Trade Qualifier Application and fee through MyATC, accompanied by the Form 6A Verification of Trade Experience confirming work experience in the trade.
Source
“Tradespersons: First time applicants must submit a Trade Qualifier Application and fee through MyATC. The application must be accompanied by Verification of Trade Experience – (Form 6A) form confirming their work experience in the trade.”
saskapprenticeship.ca/faqs -
Candidates applying for examination in the Insulator (Heat & Frost) trade must complete prescribed upgrading first.
Source
“Candidates applying for examination in the Insulator (Heat & Frost) or Powerline Technician trades must complete prescribed upgrading first.”
saskapprenticeship.ca/faqs -
Register for the examination through MyATC and submit the required fee.
Source
“Tradespersons taking a written or practical examination for a first or subsequent attempt in the same trade must register for an exam through MyATC and submit the required fee.”
saskapprenticeship.ca/faqs -
Write the journeyperson examination for the trade.
Source
“Please refer to the Examination Schedules for locations and dates.”
saskapprenticeship.ca/faqs
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with SATCC
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Trained outside Canada
No separate route for this group. Source
“There are two ways for you to become a journeyperson in the Province of Saskatchewan.”
saskapprenticeship.ca/faqs
Requirements
Education
A completed Grade 12 transcript, Canadian Adult Education Credential (CAEC) or General Education Development (GED) guarantees entry into apprenticeship in Saskatchewan, and modified or general math and science classes do not meet entry requirements.
Source
“A completed Grade 12 transcript, Canadian Adult Education Credential (CAEC) or General Education Development (GED) guarantees entry into apprenticeship in Saskatchewan. However, “modified” or “general” math and science classes don’t meet entry requirements.”
saskapprenticeship.ca/entrance-requirements-for-apprenticeship-trai...
Experience
Tradespeople applying for the journeyperson examination must submit proof of working 1.5 times the term of apprenticeship for the trade.
Source
“Tradespeople must submit proof of working 1.5 times the term of apprenticeship for that trade.”
saskapprenticeship.ca/faqs
Other
Candidates applying for examination in the Insulator (Heat & Frost) trade must complete prescribed upgrading first.
Source
“Candidates applying for examination in the Insulator (Heat & Frost) or Powerline Technician trades must complete prescribed upgrading first.”
saskapprenticeship.ca/faqs
Already licensed in another province?
Not stated
The pages do not state how someone already licensed in another Canadian province or territory registers in Saskatchewan. Source
“There are two ways for you to become a journeyperson in the Province of Saskatchewan.”
saskapprenticeship.ca/faqs
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC
Exams
-
journeyperson examination
Source
“4. Write your journeyperson examination and pass with a minimum of 70%.”
saskapprenticeship.ca/faqs -
certification examination
Source
“Once completed all levels, you will write the certification examination at the end of training.”
saskapprenticeship.ca/faqs -
Red Seal Written Examination
Source
“Red Seal Written Examination Study Guide”
saskapprenticeship.ca/designated_trades/insulator-heat-and-frost
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Saskatchewan | $21.75 | $39.19 | $47.06 | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Canada | $23.00 | $37.61 | $48.65 | — |
Insulators (heat and frost) in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Voluntary certification
- Alberta Voluntary certification
- Manitoba Voluntary certification
- Ontario Voluntary certification
- Quebec Certification required
- New Brunswick Voluntary certification
- Nova Scotia Voluntary certification
- Prince Edward Island Voluntary certification
- Newfoundland and Labrador Voluntary certification
- Yukon Voluntary certification
- Northwest Territories Voluntary certification
- Nunavut Voluntary certification
Sources checked
- FAQs – Resources and Programs | SATCC saskapprenticeship.ca/faqs · fetched October 9, 2026
- Entrance Requirements for Apprenticeship Training | SATCC saskapprenticeship.ca/entrance-requirements-for-apprenticeship-trai... · fetched October 9, 2026
- Insulator (Heat and Frost) | SATCC saskapprenticeship.ca/designated_trades/insulator-heat-and-frost · fetched October 11, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as an insulator (heat and frost) in Saskatchewan?
No. Certification is available, but it is not required to work in the trade in Saskatchewan. Certification is managed by the Saskatchewan Apprenticeship and Trade Certification Commission.
Which exams are required?
journeyperson examination, certification examination, Red Seal Written Examination.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.