At a glance

Licence status
Licence required See the source
Routes
Annual fees

Your roadmap

Trained in Canada

  • Listed one-time fees: $95
  • 3 steps without a listed fee
  • Annual fees: $845
  1. Obtain a General Licensing Qualification Program certificate from an approved education provider.

    Source
    “Obtain a General Licensing Qualification Program certificate by an approved education provider”
    abcouncil.ab.ca/applying-for-a-license/general-insurance-licenses/r...
  2. Pass the General Level 1 qualifying exam with the Alberta Insurance Council.

    Source
    “Pass the General Level 1 qualifying exam with the Alberta Insurance Council”
    abcouncil.ab.ca/applying-for-a-license/general-insurance-licenses/r...
  3. Log in to the AIC Portal with your CIPR number to complete an application.

    Source
    “Met all the above requirements? Log in with your CIPR number to the AIC Portal to complete an application.”
    abcouncil.ab.ca/applying-for-a-license/general-insurance-licenses/r...
  4. Once the Designated Representative sponsor approves the application and the fees have been paid, it is submitted to the Alberta Insurance Council for final review.

    Source
    “Once approved by the sponsor (Designated Representative) and the fees have been paid, the application will be submitted to the Alberta Insurance Council for final review.”
    abcouncil.ab.ca/applying-for-a-license/general-insurance-licenses/r...

Listed fees for this route

One-time total listed: $95

One-time fees listed for Trained in Canada, by type
Fee typeAmountShare
Application $95 100%
One-time total $95 100%

3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Annual fees: $845 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.

Licensed in another province

  • 2 steps without a listed fee
  • Annual fees: $845
  1. Have held an insurance license from another home jurisdiction equivalent to Alberta's within the last 12 months from AIC receiving your approved and paid application.

    Source
    “If you are new to the province and have held an insurance license from another home jurisdiction equivalent to Alberta’s in the last 12 months from AIC receiving your approved and paid application, you may be eligible for a license without having to write and pass our provincial exams.”
    abcouncil.ab.ca/applying-for-a-license/general-insurance-licenses/r...
  2. Obtain a certificate of authority by completing the appropriate application and paying the related fees.

    Source
    “You must obtain a certificate of authority for the class of license you wish to transact in Alberta by completing the appropriate application and paying the related fees.”
    abcouncil.ab.ca/applying-for-a-license-faq

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with AIC

2 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Annual fees: $845 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.

Trained outside Canada

  • Annual fees: $845

No separate route for this group.

Source
“To be eligible as the General Designated Representative (Level 3) in Alberta, an agent must meet the education and experience requirement set in Legislation by fulfilling *one* of the following criteria:”
abcouncil.ab.ca/applying-for-a-license/general-insurance-licenses/r...

Other listed fees

The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.

Requirements

Education

  • General Level 3 applicants must either pass the General Level 3 exam within the previous 12 months or meet the General course equivalencies required for a Level 3 license.

    Source
    “Either pass the General Level 3 exam within the previous 12 months or meet the General course equivalencies required for a Level 3 license”
    abcouncil.ab.ca/applying-for-a-license/general-insurance-licenses/r...
  • Accident & Sickness applicants must first be certified for the LLQP – Accident & Sickness Course Program by an approved course provider.

    Source
    “Being certified for the LLQP – Accident & Sickness Course Program (which covers only A&S and Ethics) by an approved course provider.”
    abcouncil.ab.ca/applying-for-a-license/accident-sickness-insurance-...

Police check

Insurance

  • Applicants must have an Errors & Omissions policy issued by a licensed insurer in Alberta that meets the terms and conditions approved by AIC.

    Source
    “Must have an Errors & Omissions policy issued by a licensed insurer in Alberta that meets the terms and conditions approved by AIC; the policy must be issued in the name of the business and provide coverage for the employees and independent contractors of the business who hold certificates of authority”
    abcouncil.ab.ca/applying-for-a-license/general-insurance-licenses/r...

Other

Already licensed in another province?

Direct transfer

Applicants who have held an equivalent license in another home jurisdiction within the last 12 months may be eligible for a license without having to write and pass the provincial exams.

Source
“If you are new to the province and have held an insurance license from another home jurisdiction equivalent to Alberta’s in the last 12 months from AIC receiving your approved and paid application, you may be eligible for a license without having to write and pass our provincial exams.”
abcouncil.ab.ca/applying-for-a-license/general-insurance-licenses/r...

Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with AIC

Check a move between two provinces

Credential assessment

Not stated by the regulator Check with AIC

Exams

Language tests

Not stated by the regulator Check with AIC

Compare scores across provinces and professions

Canadian experience

Not stated by the regulator Check with AIC

Supervised practice

Not stated by the regulator Check with AIC

Demand and pay

Job Bank wages and outlook in Alberta and Canada
WhereLowMedianHighOutlook
Alberta $23.08 $31.70 $54.95 Good (4 of 5)
Canada $21.31 $30.00 $51.28 —

Wages by region and job outlook in Alberta

Wages in every province and territory

Insurance agents in other provinces and territories

  • British Columbia Not confirmed yet
  • Saskatchewan Not confirmed yet
  • Manitoba Licence required
  • Ontario Not confirmed yet
  • Quebec Not confirmed yet
  • New Brunswick Not confirmed yet
  • Nova Scotia Not confirmed yet
  • Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
  • Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet
  • Yukon Not confirmed yet
  • Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
  • Nunavut Not confirmed yet

Compare insurance agent licensing across Canada

Sources checked

  1. Insurance Agent: Certifications in Alberta - alis alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/insurance-agent · fetched October 10, 2026
  2. Represent an agency or brokerage - Alberta Insurance Council abcouncil.ab.ca/applying-for-a-license/general-insurance-licenses/r... · fetched October 10, 2026
  3. Applying for a license FAQ - Alberta Insurance Council abcouncil.ab.ca/applying-for-a-license-faq · fetched October 10, 2026
  4. Employee of an insurance company - Alberta Insurance Council abcouncil.ab.ca/applying-for-a-license/accident-sickness-insurance-... · fetched October 10, 2026
  5. Insurance company assessment fees - Alberta Insurance Council abcouncil.ab.ca/licensee-resources/insurance-company-assessment-fees · fetched October 10, 2026

Frequently asked questions

2

Do you need a licence to work as an insurance agent in Alberta?

Yes. Registration with the Alberta Insurance Council is required to practise in Alberta.

Which exams are required?

General Level 2 exam, General Level 3 exam.

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.