How to Become an Ironworker (structural/ornamental) in Alberta
Do you need certification?
Certification required
Ironworker (structural/ornamental) is a compulsory trade in Alberta. You need a certificate, or registration as an apprentice, to work in the trade.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“Under Alberta’s Skilled Trades and Apprenticeship Education Act [pdf], you must have a certificate that is recognized by Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training or be a registered apprentice to fabricate, construct or join scaffolding, structural steel buildings, bridges, ornamental ironwork or pre-cast structures in Alberta.”
From alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/ironworker, checked October 11, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Certification required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 5 steps
- Licensed in another province: 1 step
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 5 done
- 5 steps without a listed fee
- Listed time: 24 to 36 months (only 1 of 5 steps state a time)
-
Apprentices must find a suitable employer who is willing to hire and train apprentices.
Source
“Apprentices must find suitable employers who are willing to hire and train apprentices.”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/ironworker -
You apply to become a registered apprentice, and if you completed high school in Alberta your marks are checked when you apply.
Source
“If you completed high school in Alberta, we'll check your marks when you apply for apprenticeship.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit... -
Before enrolling in your first period of classroom instruction you must meet the entrance requirements, which include specific high school courses or alternatives such as an entrance exam.
Source
“You can register as an apprentice before you meet the entrance requirements. - You must meet them before you enroll in your first period [classroom instruction]”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit... -
Complete the apprenticeship term of 2 to 3 years, with each year including at least 1,620 hours of on-the-job training and 6 weeks of classroom instruction.
Time: 2 to 3 yearsTime source
“The term of apprenticeship vary for each branch of this trade, ranging from 2 to 3 years (12-month periods).”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/ironworkerSource
“The term of apprenticeship vary for each branch of this trade, ranging from 2 to 3 years (12-month periods). Each year includes a minimum of 1,620 hours of on-the-job training and 6 weeks of classroom instruction.”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/ironworker -
After completing the apprenticeship you may take the Red Seal exam, which apprentices in Red Seal trades can write at their school after passing their final period exam.
Source
“You may take the Red Seal Exam upon the completion of your apprenticeship in this trade.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0405
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
5 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Licensed in another province
0 of 1 done
- 1 step without a listed fee
-
Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.
Source
“1. Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0405
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Requirements
Education
Entrance requirements for classroom instruction include specific high school courses that you must have passed, or alternatives such as an entrance exam, a GED or CAEC certificate, a recognized training program, or a recognized trade certificate.
Source
“Entrance requirements include specific high school courses that you must have passed.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit...
Experience
Applicants to the Trades Qualifier Work Experience Program must complete 54 months and 7290 hours of verifiable Ironworker - Structural/Ornamental work experience.
Source
“1. Complete 54 months and 7290 hours of verifiable Ironworker - Structural/Ornamental work experience.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0405
Already licensed in another province?
Extra steps
Ironworkers from other provinces can work in Alberta if they hold a recognized certificate, but under the Recognized Credentials Program they must submit a copy of the certificate and pass a theory exam. Source
“Ironworkers from other provinces and territories can work in Alberta if they hold a certificate or license recognized by Alberta.”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/ironworker
Submit recognized certificate
Source
“1. Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0405
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Exams
-
Red Seal Exam
Source
“You may take the Red Seal Exam upon the completion of your apprenticeship in this trade.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0405 -
entrance exam
Source
“Take an entrance exam to show you’re ready.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit...
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alberta | $27.00 | $40.60 | $51.00 | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Canada | $29.00 | $43.00 | $49.80 | — |
Ironworkers (structural/ornamental) in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Voluntary certification
- Saskatchewan Voluntary certification
- Manitoba Not confirmed yet
- Ontario Voluntary certification
- Quebec Certification required
- New Brunswick Voluntary certification
- Nova Scotia Voluntary certification
- Prince Edward Island Voluntary certification
- Newfoundland and Labrador Voluntary certification
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Compare ironworker (structural/ornamental) licensing across Canada
Sources checked
- Ironworker: Certifications in Alberta - alis alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/ironworker · fetched October 8, 2026
- Tradesecrets - Meet Requirements tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit... · fetched October 9, 2026
- Tradesecrets - Ironworker (Structural/Ornamental) tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0405 · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as an ironworker (structural/ornamental) in Alberta?
Yes. Certification, or registration as an apprentice, is required to work in the trade in Alberta. Certification is managed by Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training.
Which exams are required?
Red Seal Exam, entrance exam.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.