Province comparison
Ironworker (structural/ornamental) Licensing by Province
Licence status by province and territory
Boundaries simplified for display. Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Canada. Source: Statistics Canada, 2021 Census boundary files.
- Certification required
- Voluntary certification
- Not confirmed yet
- British Columbia: Voluntary certification
- Alberta: Certification required
- Saskatchewan: Voluntary certification
- Manitoba: Not confirmed yet
- Ontario: Voluntary certification
- Quebec: Certification required
- New Brunswick: Voluntary certification
- Nova Scotia: Voluntary certification
- Prince Edward Island: Voluntary certification
- Newfoundland and Labrador: Voluntary certification
- Yukon: Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories: Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut: Not confirmed yet
Compare the provinces
Listed one-time fees
| Where | Fees | Route | No-fee steps |
|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | Not listed | Trained outside Canada | 5 |
| Alberta | Not listed | Trained in Canada | 5 |
| Saskatchewan | Not listed | — | — |
| Ontario | Not listed | Trained in Canada | 6 |
| Quebec | Not listed | Trained in Canada | 3 |
| New Brunswick | $100 | Trained outside Canada | 4 |
| Nova Scotia | Not listed | Trained outside Canada | 2 |
| Prince Edward Island | Not listed | — | — |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Not listed | Trained in Canada | 5 |
Listed time
Time not stated for every step: British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Ontario, Quebec, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island, and Newfoundland and Labrador.
Side by side
| Where | Routes | Exams | Language | Listed fees | Listed time | Median wage | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Certification exam, Practical assessment, Red Seal exam | — | Not listed | 26.3 to 26.8 months (partial) | $38.09 an hour | Very limited (1 of 5) |
| Alberta | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province | Red Seal exam, entrance exam | — | Not listed | 24 to 36 months (partial) | $40.60 an hour | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Saskatchewan | — | Interprovincial Journeyperson Examination, Level One Examination | — | Not listed | — | $39.08 an hour | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Ontario | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province | certifying exam, in-school exemption test | — | Not listed | — | $44.34 an hour | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Quebec | Trained in Canada | Red Seal exam | — | Not listed | — | $44.23 an hour | Very limited (1 of 5) |
| New Brunswick | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Certification Exam, final examination, Red Seal exam | — | $100 (Trained outside Canada) | — | $38.00 an hour | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Nova Scotia | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Trade qualifier exam | — | Not listed | — | $36.71 an hour | Good (4 of 5) |
| Prince Edward Island | — | Written Certification Examination | — | Not listed | — | — | Undetermined |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province | certification exam, certification examination, Red Seal exam | — | Not listed | — | $41.09 an hour | Limited (2 of 5) |
Moving between provinces
- Direct transfer (24)
- Extra steps (8)
- Not stated (40)
All answers as a table
Demand and pay
Median wage
| Where | Low | Median | High |
|---|---|---|---|
| Canada | $29.00 | $43.00 | $49.80 |
| British Columbia | $26.00 | $38.09 | $50.59 |
| Alberta | $27.00 | $40.60 | $51.00 |
| Saskatchewan | $25.00 | $39.08 | $46.92 |
| Manitoba | $25.07 | $35.00 | $48.00 |
| Ontario | $32.27 | $44.34 | $50.25 |
| Quebec | $35.10 | $44.23 | $48.60 |
| New Brunswick | $26.00 | $38.00 | $48.36 |
| Nova Scotia | $24.72 | $36.71 | $47.35 |
| Prince Edward Island | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | $32.00 | $41.09 | $48.11 |
| Yukon | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Northwest Territories | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Nunavut | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Job outlook
| Where | Outlook |
|---|---|
| British Columbia | Very limited (1 of 5) |
| Alberta | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Saskatchewan | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Manitoba | Very limited (1 of 5) |
| Ontario | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Quebec | Very limited (1 of 5) |
| New Brunswick | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Nova Scotia | Good (4 of 5) |
| Prince Edward Island | Outlook not determined |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Yukon | Outlook not determined |
| Northwest Territories | Outlook not determined |
| Nunavut | Outlook not determined |
Tools and tables
- Licence transfer checker Already licensed in one province? See what another province asks for.
- Roadmap builder Your steps, listed fees and time for one occupation and province.
- Language test scores Minimum IELTS, CELPIP and other scores, by occupation and province.
- Credential assessments Which regulators ask for an assessment of your education.
- Licensing exams Which exams each regulator asks for.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.