At a glance

Licence status
Licence required See the source
Routes
Annual fees

Your roadmap

Trained in Canada

  • Listed one-time fees: $610
  • 2 steps without a listed fee
  • Annual fees: $900
  1. Finish a diploma from an approved practical nursing program within the last four years.

    Source
    “A diploma from an approved practical nursing program earned within the last 4 years”
    alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/nurse-licensed-pr...
  2. Successfully complete the CLPNA Alberta Practical Nurse Jurisprudence module.

    Source
    “The CLPNA Alberta Practical Nurse Jurisprudence module”
    alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/nurse-licensed-pr...
  3. Successfully complete the Canadian Practical Nurse Registration Examination.

    Source
    “The Canadian Practical Nurse Registration Examination (CPNRE)”
    alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/nurse-licensed-pr...

Listed fees for this route

One-time total listed: $610

One-time fees listed for Trained in Canada, by type
Fee typeAmountShare
Exams $610 100%
One-time total $610 100%

2 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Annual fees: $900 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.

Licensed in another province

  • Listed one-time fees: $100
  • 1 step without a listed fee
  • Annual fees: $900
  1. If you are currently registered as an LPN or RPN in another Canadian province, apply to the CLHA as a Labour Mobility applicant.

    Source
    “If you are currently registered as an LPN or RPN (Ontario) in another Canadian province, you can apply to the CLHA as a Labour Mobility applicant.”
    clha.com/lpn/apply-to-be-an-lpn
  2. If you are or have been registered in another jurisdiction, verification is required.

    Source
    “Verification is required if you are or have been registered in another jurisdiction.”
    clha.com/lpn/apply-to-be-an-lpn/registration-information

Listed fees for this route

One-time total listed: $100

One-time fees listed for Licensed in another province, by type
Fee typeAmountShare
Application $100 100%
One-time total $100 100%

1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Annual fees: $900 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.

Trained outside Canada

  • Listed one-time fees: $1,700
  • 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
  • 4 steps without a listed fee
  • Annual fees: $900
  • Listed time: 0.8 months (only 3 of 7 steps state a time)
  1. Provide an education credential assessment or report from the National Nursing Assessment Service.

    • NNAS Main Application (Expedited Service): $750
      Source
      “Main Application | $750 CAD ($525 USD)*”
      nnas.ca/fees
    • NNAS Main Application (RPN Pathway): $845 (for one profession and one regulator)
      Source
      “$650 USD (approximately $845 CDN) for one profession and one regulator.”
      nnas.ca/fees
    Source
    “Education credential assessment or report from the National Nursing Assessment Service.”
    clha.com/lpn/apply-to-be-an-lpn/applicants/internationally-educated...
  2. Create an account on MyCLHA, which is needed to submit an application.

    Source
    “Create your account on MyCLHA. To submit an application, you must have an account with MyCLHA.”
    clha.com/lpn/apply-to-be-an-lpn/applicants/internationally-educated...
  3. Once logged in, select APPLY under Provisional to begin the Internationally Educated Nurse provisional application.

    Source
    “Once logged in, select APPLY under Provisional to begin the Internationally Educated Nurse provisional application.”
    clha.com/lpn/apply-to-be-an-lpn/applicants/internationally-educated...
  4. Submit the application and pay the $340 application fee, filling out every field even if the CLHA already has your NNAS or credential assessment.

    Source
    “Submit the application and pay the $340 application fee. Even if the CLHA has your NNAS or educational credential assessment, you still must fill out every field of your application.”
    clha.com/lpn/apply-to-be-an-lpn/applicants/internationally-educated...
  5. If your paid application has missing requirements, the CLHA will contact you within five business days.

    Time: 5 days
    Time source
    “within five business days”
    clha.com/lpn/apply-to-be-an-lpn/applicants/internationally-educated...
    Source
    “If your paid application has any missing requirements, the CLHA will contact you within five business days.”
    clha.com/lpn/apply-to-be-an-lpn/applicants/internationally-educated...
  6. You will receive a decision letter and final invoice for your permit fee and cost of CPNRE within ten business days of all application requirements being met.

    Time: 10 days
    Time source
    “within ten business days of all application requirements being met”
    clha.com/lpn/apply-to-be-an-lpn/applicants/internationally-educated...
    Source
    “You will receive a decision letter and final invoice for your permit fee and cost of CPNRE within ten business days of all application requirements being met.”
    clha.com/lpn/apply-to-be-an-lpn/applicants/internationally-educated...
  7. After paying your invoice, you will receive information on how to register for the CPNRE within ten business days.

    Time: 10 days
    Time source
    “within ten business days of your invoice being paid”
    clha.com/lpn/apply-to-be-an-lpn/applicants/internationally-educated...
    Source
    “You will receive information on how to register for the CPNRE within ten business days of your invoice being paid.”
    clha.com/lpn/apply-to-be-an-lpn/applicants/internationally-educated...

Listed fees for this route

One-time total listed: $1,700

One-time fees listed for Trained outside Canada, by type
Fee typeAmountShare
Application $340 20%
Assessment $750 44%
Exams $610 36%
One-time total $1,700 100%

1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.

4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Annual fees: $900 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.

Other listed fees

The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.

Requirements

Education

Experience

  • The CLHA requires applicants to complete 1,000 practice hours over the past four years or to have graduated in the past four years.

    Source
    “the CLHA requires that applicants complete 1,000 practice hours over the past four years OR that they graduated in the past four years.”
    clha.com/lpn/apply-to-be-an-lpn/applicants/internationally-educated...

Police check

Insurance

Other

Already licensed in another province?

Not stated

The page says LPNs registered by and in good standing with a regulatory body elsewhere in Canada may be eligible for registration in Alberta if their scope of practice and competencies are similar, but does not state whether they can register directly without an exam or assessment.

Source
“Licensed practical nurses who are registered by and in good standing with a regulatory body elsewhere in Canada may be eligible for registration in Alberta if their scope of practice and competencies are similar.”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/nurse-licensed-pr...

Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with CLPNA

Check a move between two provinces

Credential assessment

Not stated by the regulator Check with CLPNA

Exams

Language tests

No minimum test score stated by the regulator Check with CLPNA

Exemptions: Applicants can meet the English language requirement in several ways, including nursing education where English was the language of instruction, a two-year non-practical nurse program in Canada taught in English, secondary school completed in English, or current nursing registration in another Canadian jurisdiction where English proficiency was assessed.

Source
“You can meet the CLHA’s English language requirement in one of the following ways: If you completed nursing education, in any country, where English was the language of instruction. If you graduated from a two-year non-practical nurse program in Canada where English was the language of instruction. If you completed secondary school in English in any country. If you have current nursing registration in another Canadian jurisdiction where English language proficiency has been assessed as meeting the requirements of language proficiency.”
clha.com/lpn/apply-to-be-an-lpn/registration-information/english-la...

Compare scores across provinces and professions

Canadian experience

Applicants must have 1,000 practice hours over the past four years or have graduated in the past four years.

Source
“the CLHA requires that applicants complete 1,000 practice hours over the past four years OR that they graduated in the past four years.”
clha.com/lpn/apply-to-be-an-lpn/applicants/internationally-educated...

Supervised practice

Required

Applicants on the provisional register must work under supervision.

Source
“Must work under supervision”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/nurse-licensed-pr...

Demand and pay

Job Bank wages and outlook in Alberta and Canada
WhereLowMedianHighOutlook
Alberta $25.80 $32.00 $36.00 Good (4 of 5)
Canada $25.00 $31.32 $38.00 —

Wages by region and job outlook in Alberta

Wages in every province and territory

Licensed practical nurses in other provinces and territories

Compare licensed practical nurse licensing across Canada

Sources checked

  1. Nurse - Licensed Practical: Certifications in Alberta - alis alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/nurse-licensed-pr... · fetched October 10, 2026
  2. Fee Schedule for Applicants - CLHA clha.com/lpn/apply-to-be-an-lpn/registration-information/fee-schedule · fetched October 10, 2026
  3. Apply To Be an LPN - CLHA clha.com/lpn/apply-to-be-an-lpn · fetched October 10, 2026
  4. Registration Information - CLHA clha.com/lpn/apply-to-be-an-lpn/registration-information · fetched October 10, 2026
  5. Internationally Educated Nurses - CLHA clha.com/lpn/apply-to-be-an-lpn/applicants/internationally-educated... · fetched October 10, 2026
  6. Fees - National Nursing Assessment Service nnas.ca/fees · fetched October 10, 2026
  7. Applicants - CLHA clha.com/lpn/apply-to-be-an-lpn/applicants · fetched October 10, 2026
  8. English Language Requirements - CLHA clha.com/lpn/apply-to-be-an-lpn/registration-information/english-la... · fetched October 10, 2026

Frequently asked questions

2

Do you need a licence to work as a licensed practical nurse in Alberta?

Yes. Registration with the College of Licensed Practical Nurses of Alberta is required to practise in Alberta.

Which exams are required?

Canadian Practical Nurse Registration Examination (CPNRE), Objective Structured Clinical Exam (OSCE), Rex-PN.

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.