At a glance

Licence status
Licence required See the source
Routes
Annual fees
Not stated by the regulator Check with Newfoundland and Labrador College of Nurses

Your roadmap

Trained in Canada

  • Listed one-time fees: $1,152.08
  • 5 steps without a listed fee
  1. Sign up for an account in the College's Nurse Portal.

    Source
    “Sign up for an account in the College Nurse Portal”
    nlcn.ca/apply/lpn-applicants/new-graduate-lpn
  2. After creating your account, apply as an Exam Candidate.

    Source
    “After creating your account, apply as an Exam Candidate.”
    nlcn.ca/apply/lpn-applicants/new-graduate-lpn
  3. Complete your application by uploading two government-issued identification documents, one of which must contain a photo.

    Source
    “Upload two (2) of the following government issued identification documents, one of which must contain a photo:”
    nlcn.ca/apply/lpn-applicants/new-graduate-lpn
  4. Submit the College application processing fee with your application.

    Source
    “Submit the College application processing fee ($231.04 CAD includes HST) with your application.”
    nlcn.ca/apply/lpn-applicants/new-graduate-lpn
  5. Meet the English language proficiency requirement through completion of a nursing education program or language proficiency testing.

    Source
    “You can meet ELP through completion of a nursing education program or language proficiency testing.”
    nlcn.ca/apply/lpn-applicants/new-graduate-lpn
  6. Once approved, pay the CPNRE exam fee and you will receive information about the exam scheduling process by email.

    Source
    “Once approved, you will get an invoice to pay for the CPNRE exam. The exam fee is $690 (includes tax).”
    nlcn.ca/apply/lpn-applicants/new-graduate-lpn
  7. If you want to work before writing the CPNRE, apply through the Nurse Portal and pay the licensure fee for a temporary licence.

    Source
    “Apply through the Nurse Portal and pay the licensure fee ($231.04 CAD includes HST).”
    nlcn.ca/apply/lpn-applicants/new-graduate-lpn
  8. The College strongly recommends completing the free Jurisprudence Learning module.

    Source
    “The College strongly recommends that you complete the free Jurisprudence Learning module through the Newfoundland and Labrador Provincial Continuing Education Portal.”
    nlcn.ca/apply/lpn-applicants/new-graduate-lpn

Listed fees for this route

One-time total listed: $1,152.08

One-time fees listed for Trained in Canada, by type
Fee typeAmountShare
Application $462.08 40%
Exams $690 60%
One-time total $1,152.08 100%

5 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Trained outside Canada

  • Listed one-time fees: $231.04
  • 12 steps without a listed fee
  1. If you are educated outside Canada, get an ECA that confirms you graduated from an accredited nursing education program.

    Source
    “You will need to get an ECA if you are educated outside Canada. An ECA confirms that you graduated from an accredited nursing education program and determines the general academic level (diploma or degree) of the credential in Canada.”
    nlcn.ca/apply/lpn-applicants/international
  2. Show acceptable English proficiency, and if required, meet the scores set by the College Board on an English language test.

    Source
    “All applicants for licensure in Newfoundland and Labrador must show acceptable English proficiency. The College will review the information you provide in your application to determine if you need to complete an English language test.”
    nlcn.ca/apply/lpn-applicants/international
  3. Submit a criminal record check, and declare on your application if you have ever been convicted of a crime or offence.

    Source
    “You must submit a criminal record check, and you will be required to declare on your application if you have ever been convicted of a crime or offence.”
    nlcn.ca/apply/lpn-applicants/international
  4. If your documents are not in English, include an official translation completed by a certified translator.

    Source
    “If your supporting documents are in a language other than English, you must include an official translation of the original document, or a certified copy of the original document in English. That translation must be completed by a certified translator.”
    nlcn.ca/apply/lpn-applicants/international
  5. Sign up for an account in the College's Nurse Portal.

    Source
    “Sign up for an account in the College Nurse Portal”
    nlcn.ca/apply/lpn-applicants/international
  6. Source
    “After creating your account, apply as an Exam Candidate.”
    nlcn.ca/apply/lpn-applicants/international
  7. Submit the College application processing fee with your application.

    Source
    “Submit the College application processing fee ($231.04 CAD includes HST) with your application.”
    nlcn.ca/apply/lpn-applicants/international
  8. Source
    “Identify all jurisdictions where you are currently licensed and all jurisdictions where you were previously licensed.”
    nlcn.ca/apply/lpn-applicants/international
  9. Provide employment information for all your nursing employers in the last five years and self-report your practice hours over the last five years.

    Source
    “As part of your application, you will provide employment information for all your nursing employer(s) in the last five (5) years.”
    nlcn.ca/apply/lpn-applicants/international
  10. If you completed your entry-level nursing education outside the designated countries, you will require an Inspire Global competence assessment to determine if your education meets the registration requirements.

    Source
    “If you completed your entry-level nursing education outside one of the designated countries, you will require further competence (Inspire Global) assessment to determine if your education meets the requirements for registration.”
    nlcn.ca/apply/lpn-applicants/international
  11. If you meet the education requirements, you will be eligible to take the Canadian Practical Nurse Registration Exam.

    Source
    “You will be eligible to take the Canadian Practical Nurse Registration Exam (CPNRE).”
    nlcn.ca/apply/lpn-applicants/international
  12. If you do not meet currency of practice, you may be eligible for a temporary licence to participate in the Supervised Practice Experience Partnership Program with a Newfoundland and Labrador employer.

    Source
    “If you don’t meet currency of practice you may be eligible for a temporary licence to participate in the Supervised Practice Experience Partnership Program (SPEPP) with a Newfoundland and Labrador employer to gain currency of practice.”
    nlcn.ca/apply/lpn-applicants/international
  13. Following successful completion of the CPNRE and meeting currency of practice, the College will direct you to the next steps to apply for a practising licence.

    Source
    “Following the successful completion of CPNRE and meeting currency of practice you may be deemed eligible for licensure; the College will notify you by email and direct you to the next steps to apply for a practicing licence.”
    nlcn.ca/apply/lpn-applicants/international

Listed fees for this route

One-time total listed: $231.04

One-time fees listed for Trained outside Canada, by type
Fee typeAmountShare
Application $231.04 100%
One-time total $231.04 100%

12 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Requirements

Education

  • Internationally educated applicants must have completed a general nursing program and be licensed as a Registered Nurse in the General class, and are not eligible if educated only as a midwife or specialty nurse.

    Source
    “You are not eligible to apply to the College if you were educated only as a midwife or specialty nurse, such as a community health or public health nurse. You must have completed a general nursing program and be licensed as a Registered Nurse (RN) in the General class.”
    nlcn.ca/apply/lpn-applicants/international

Experience

  • To meet currency of practice you must have graduated from an entry-level nursing program in the last 3 years, practiced as an LPN or RN for 1125 hours in the last 5 years or 450 hours in the last 2 years, or completed an approved re-entry program in the last 3 years.

    Source
    “graduated from entry-level nursing program in the last 3 years; or - practiced as an LPN or RN for 1125 hours in the last 5 years OR 450 hours in the last 2 years; or - completed an approved re-entry program in the last 3 years.”
    nlcn.ca/apply/lpn-applicants/international

Police check

  • All applicants must provide a Criminal Record Check prior to receiving a licence.

    Source
    “All applicants must provide a Criminal Record Check prior to receiving a licence.”
    nlcn.ca/apply/registration-requirements

Other

  • You must be proficient in the English language, which you can demonstrate through education, registration status, language proficiency testing, or experience.

    Source
    “To become licensed to practice nursing in Newfoundland and Labrador you must be proficient in the English language. You can demonstrate English language proficiency through education, registration status, language proficiency testing, or experience.”
    nlcn.ca/apply/registration-requirements
  • All applicants must pass their respective licensure exam to work as a nurse in NL.

    Source
    “All applicants must pass their respective exam to work as a nurse in NL.”
    nlcn.ca/apply/registration-requirements
  • You must complete your own application and cannot use an immigration consultant, company, or any other third party.

    Source
    “Legally you must complete your own application. You cannot use an immigration consultant, company, or any other third party to complete or take part in the College’s application process.”
    nlcn.ca/apply/lpn-applicants/international

Already licensed in another province?

Not stated by the regulator Check with Newfoundland and Labrador College of Nurses

Check a move between two provinces

Credential assessment

  • Educational Credential Assessment (ECA)

    Confirms that you graduated from an accredited nursing education program and determines the general academic level (diploma or degree) of the credential in Canada.

    Source
    “An ECA confirms that you graduated from an accredited nursing education program and determines the general academic level (diploma or degree) of the credential in Canada.”
    nlcn.ca/apply/lpn-applicants/international

Exams

Language tests

No minimum test score stated by the regulator Check with Newfoundland and Labrador College of Nurses

Exemptions: You can meet the English language proficiency requirement through completion of a nursing education program or language proficiency testing.

Source
“You can meet ELP through completion of a nursing education program or language proficiency testing.”
nlcn.ca/apply/lpn-applicants/new-graduate-lpn

Compare scores across provinces and professions

Canadian experience

Applicants who completed their entry-level RN nursing education in designated countries (Australia, Ghana, Hong Kong, Ireland, India, New Zealand, Nigeria, Pakistan, Philippines, or the UK) meet the education requirement for registration.

Source
“If you completed your entry-level RN nursing education in Australia, Ghana, Hong Kong, Ireland, India, New Zealand, Nigeria, Pakistan, Philippines, or the UK, you meet the education requirement for registration.”
nlcn.ca/apply/lpn-applicants/international

Supervised practice

Not required

Applicants who do not meet currency of practice may be eligible for a temporary licence to participate in the Supervised Practice Experience Partnership Program (SPEPP) with a Newfoundland and Labrador employer.

Source
“If you don’t meet currency of practice you may be eligible for a temporary licence to participate in the Supervised Practice Experience Partnership Program (SPEPP) with a Newfoundland and Labrador employer to gain currency of practice.”
nlcn.ca/apply/lpn-applicants/international

Demand and pay

Job Bank wages and outlook in Newfoundland and Labrador and Canada
WhereLowMedianHighOutlook
Newfoundland and Labrador $26.44 $29.58 $32.08 Good (4 of 5)
Canada $25.00 $31.32 $38.00 —

Wages by region and job outlook in Newfoundland and Labrador

Wages in every province and territory

Licensed practical nurses in other provinces and territories

Compare licensed practical nurse licensing across Canada

Sources checked

  1. New Graduate LPN - NL College of NursesNew Graduate LPN - NL College of Nurses nlcn.ca/apply/lpn-applicants/new-graduate-lpn · fetched October 10, 2026
  2. Internationally Educated LPN - NL College of NursesInternationally Educated LPN - NL College of Nurses nlcn.ca/apply/lpn-applicants/international · fetched October 10, 2026
  3. Registration Requirements for Nursing in Newfoundland & LabradorRegistration Requirements for Nursing in Newfoundland & Labrador nlcn.ca/apply/registration-requirements · fetched October 10, 2026

Frequently asked questions

2

Do you need a licence to work as a licensed practical nurse in Newfoundland and Labrador?

Yes. Registration with the Newfoundland and Labrador College of Nurses is required to practise in Newfoundland and Labrador, and to use the title LPN.

Which exams are required?

Canadian Practical Nurse Registration Exam (CPNRE).

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.