How to Become a Master Electrician in Alberta
Do you need certification?
Certification required
Master electrician is a compulsory trade in Alberta. You need a certificate, or registration as an apprentice, to work in the trade.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“In Alberta, only Master Electricians awarded a Certificate of Competency by the Safety Codes Council are able to obtain electrical permits (other than homeowners)”
From alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/electrical-contra..., checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Certification required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 5 steps, listed one-time fees $200
- Licensed in another province: 4 steps, listed one-time fees $200
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with Safety Codes Council
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 5 done
- Listed one-time fees: $200
- 3 steps without a listed fee
-
Submit an application on Council Connect showing you meet the entrance requirements, including your journeyperson electrician trade certificate and work experience.
- Application fee: $50
Source
“The application fee is $50.”
safetycodes.ab.ca/for-master-electricians/master-electrician-exam
Source
“To write the exam, you must submit an application that shows you meet the entrance requirements. Your application must demonstrate: Your journeyperson electrician trade certificate from Alberta or another province. Work experience demonstrating you have worked as a journeyperson electrician for three out of the last five years.”
safetycodes.ab.ca/for-master-electricians/master-electrician-exam - Application fee: $50
-
Once your application is approved, register for the exam on Council Connect and complete your payment.
- Exam fee: $150
Source
“Once your application is approved, you can register and pay for your exam.”
safetycodes.ab.ca/for-master-electricians/become-an-alberta-master-... -
Write the two-part online open-book exam and achieve at least 60% on each part with a 75% average between both parts.
Source
“The exam is two parts. To pass, you must achieve both of the following: Score 60% or higher on each part of the exam. Achieve an average of 75% between both parts.”
safetycodes.ab.ca/for-master-electricians/master-electrician-exam -
If you pass the exam, you will receive your master electrician card and certificate.
Source
“If you pass the exam, you will receive your master electrician card and certificate.”
safetycodes.ab.ca/for-master-electricians/become-an-alberta-master-... -
Keep your certification active by paying the annual renewal fee and completing code update training when required.
Source
“Keep your certification active by paying the annual renewal fee and completing code update training when required.”
safetycodes.ab.ca/for-master-electricians/become-an-alberta-master-...
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $200
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $50 | 25% |
| Exams | $150 | 75% |
| One-time total | $200 | 100% |
3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Licensed in another province
0 of 4 done
- Listed one-time fees: $200
- 2 steps without a listed fee
-
Submit an application through Council Connect showing you meet the entrance requirements, including an eligible certification from another province.
- Application fee: $50
Source
“The application fee is $50.”
safetycodes.ab.ca/for-master-electricians/become-an-alberta-master-...
Source
“To write the interprovincial exam, you must submit an application that shows you meet the entrance requirements. Eligible certifications include: British Columbia, Electrical Field Safety Representative (FSR A or B), Ontario, Master Electrician certification”
safetycodes.ab.ca/for-master-electricians/become-an-alberta-master-... - Application fee: $50
-
Register for the interprovincial exam on Council Connect and complete your payment to finalize registration.
- Exam fee: $150
Source
“To register for your exam on Council Connect: Go to the Courses/Exams tab. Under Event Type, select Exam Offerings from the dropdown menu. In the Course/Exam Code field, enter "ME" and click Search. Select the interprovincial offering. Choose Individual Registration, then select your exam date (must be 7 days in advance). Complete your payment to finalize registration.”
safetycodes.ab.ca/for-master-electricians/become-an-alberta-master-... -
If you pass the exam, you will receive your master electrician card and certificate.
Source
“If you pass the exam, you will receive your master electrician card and certificate.”
safetycodes.ab.ca/for-master-electricians/become-an-alberta-master-... -
Keep your certification active by paying the annual renewal fee and completing code update training when required.
Source
“Keep your certification active by paying the annual renewal fee and completing code update training when required.”
safetycodes.ab.ca/for-master-electricians/become-an-alberta-master-...
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $200
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $50 | 25% |
| Exams | $150 | 75% |
| One-time total | $200 | 100% |
2 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Exam rewrite fee: $75
Source
“The cost to rewrite is $75 per part.”
safetycodes.ab.ca/for-master-electricians/master-electrician-exam - Exam rewrite fee: $150
Source
“The cost to rewrite is $150. You can rewrite the exam as many times as necessary.”
safetycodes.ab.ca/for-master-electricians/become-an-alberta-master-... - Regrading fee: $50 (refunded if your mark increases to a passing grade)
Source
“Fee: $50 (refunded if your mark increases to a passing grade)”
safetycodes.ab.ca/for-master-electricians/master-electrician-exam
Requirements
Education
Applicants must hold a journeyperson electrician trade certificate from Alberta or another province.
Source
“Your application must demonstrate: Your journeyperson electrician trade certificate from Alberta or another province.”
safetycodes.ab.ca/for-master-electricians/master-electrician-exam
Experience
Certification as a master electrician requires at least 3 years of experience as a journeyperson electrician within the previous 5 years.
Source
“Certification as a master electrician requires at least 3 years of experience as a journeyperson electrician (within the previous 5 years) and successful completion of an approved examination.”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/electrical-contra...
Already licensed in another province?
Extra steps
Applicants certified in another province may qualify to write the interprovincial exam to become certified in Alberta. Source
“If you have a master electrician certification from another province, you may qualify to write the interprovincial exam to become certified in Alberta.”
safetycodes.ab.ca/for-master-electricians/become-an-alberta-master-...
Write interprovincial exam
Source
“If you have a master electrician certification from another province, you may qualify to write the interprovincial exam to become certified in Alberta.”
safetycodes.ab.ca/for-master-electricians/become-an-alberta-master-...
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Safety Codes Council
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with Safety Codes Council
Exams
Not stated by the regulator Check with Safety Codes Council
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with Safety Codes Council
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with Safety Codes Council
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with Safety Codes Council
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alberta | $29.33 | $42.00 | $64.00 | Good (4 of 5) |
| Canada | $30.00 | $44.79 | $64.00 | — |
Master electricians in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Not confirmed yet
- Saskatchewan Not confirmed yet
- Manitoba Not confirmed yet
- Ontario Certification required
- Quebec Not confirmed yet
- New Brunswick Not confirmed yet
- Nova Scotia Not confirmed yet
- Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Sources checked
- Electrical Contractor / Master Electrician: Certifications in Alberta - alis alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/electrical-contra... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Master Electrician Exam - Safety Codes Council safetycodes.ab.ca/for-master-electricians/master-electrician-exam · fetched October 10, 2026
- Become an Alberta Master Electrician - Safety Codes Council safetycodes.ab.ca/for-master-electricians/become-an-alberta-master-... · fetched October 10, 2026
- ME Out-of-Province Credentials and Interprovincial Exam - Safety Codes Council safetycodes.ab.ca/for-master-electricians/become-an-alberta-master-... · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
1
Do you need a licence to work as a master electrician in Alberta?
Yes. Certification, or registration as an apprentice, is required to work in the trade in Alberta. Certification is managed by the Safety Codes Council.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.