How to Become a Master Electrician in Ontario
Do you need certification?
Certification required
Master electrician is a compulsory trade in Ontario. You need a certificate, or registration as an apprentice, to work in the trade.
- Protected titles
- Master Electrician
Show the source
“The Master Electrician licence is a requirement to be the designated Master Electrician for an electrical contracting company licensed by ECRA/ESA.”
From esasafe.com/contractor-licensing-master-electricians, checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Certification required See the source
- Routes
-
- Licensed in another province: 4 steps
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with ESA
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Licensed in another province
0 of 4 done
- 4 steps without a listed fee
- Listed time: 0.3 months (only 1 of 4 steps state a time)
-
Before submitting the provisional application, you need to obtain your equivalent certification from Skilled Trades Ontario, the Professional Engineers of Ontario, or the Ontario Association of Certified Engineering Technicians & Technologists, depending on your qualifications.
Source
“Before submitting the Provisional ESA ME Licence Application you will need to obtain your equivalent certification from Skilled Trades Ontario (STO), the Professional Engineers of Ontario (PEO), or the Ontario Association of Certified Engineering Technicians & Technologists (OACETT).”
esasafe.com/contractors/out-of-province-master-electrician-(me)-lic... -
You email the completed Provisional ESA ME Licence Application and required documents to ESA, and once paid for and approved you receive a one-time provisional licence valid for six months.
Time: 10 daysTime source
“You will be notified by email within 10 business days if your application is approved, denied, or requires more information.”
esasafe.com/contractors/out-of-province-master-electrician-(me)-lic...Source
“Email the Provisional ESA ME Licence Application and required documents to [email protected]. ... Once paid for, approved applications will receive a one-time Provisional ESA ME Licence valid for a six-month period.”
esasafe.com/contractors/out-of-province-master-electrician-(me)-lic... -
To keep working beyond the six-month provisional period, you must apply for, write and pass ESA's ME Exam focused on the Ontario context.
Source
“To keep working beyond those 6 months, you must apply for, write and pass ESA's ME Exam (version focused on Ontario context).”
esasafe.com/contractors/out-of-province-master-electrician-(me)-lic... -
Once you pass the ME Exam, you are automatically issued your Ontario Master Electrician Licence before your provisional licence expires.
Source
“Once you pass ESA's ME Exam, you will be automatically issued your Ontario ME Licence before your Provisional Licence expires.”
esasafe.com/contractors/out-of-province-master-electrician-(me)-lic...
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with ESA
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Copyright licensing fee: $10
Source
“A licensing fee of $10.00, plus applicable taxes, applies per person.”
esasafe.com/contractors/training/terms-and-fees - Half-day (Classroom) course - up to 25 participants: $3,450 (group registration, up to 25 participants)
Source
“Half-day (Classroom) course - up to 25 participants: $3,450.00* + applicable taxes.”
esasafe.com/contractors/training/terms-and-fees - Half-day (Virtual Instructor-led) course - up to 20 participants: $4,600 (group registration, up to 20 participants)
Source
“Half-day (Virtual Instructor-led) course - up to 20 participants: $4,600.00* + applicable taxes.”
esasafe.com/contractors/training/terms-and-fees
Requirements
Experience
Applicants from British Columbia need at least 3 years of experience working in the trade for Ontario to recognize their licence.
Source
“If you have a valid Field Safety Representative (FSR) Licence from British Columbia and have 3+ years of experience working in the trade, Ontario will recognize your licence for a six-month period.”
esasafe.com/contractors/out-of-province-master-electrician-(me)-lic...
Other
Applicants must pass the Master Electrician Exam to receive their ME licence.
Source
“Eligible applicants must pass the Master Electrician Exam to receive their ME licence.”
esasafe.com/contractors/me-exam/exam-preparation
Already licensed in another province?
Extra steps
Applicants with an equivalent ME licence from another province can start working in Ontario on a six-month provisional licence, but must pass ESA's Ontario-context ME Exam to keep working beyond six months. Source
“A key change includes the introduction of a new 'deemed certified' provisional licensing process which allows individuals with an equivalent ME licence from another jurisdiction to start working in Ontario immediately while completing a streamlined registration process.”
esasafe.com/contractors/out-of-province-master-electrician-(me)-lic...
Obtain equivalent certification
Source
“Before submitting the Provisional ESA ME Licence Application you will need to obtain your equivalent certification from Skilled Trades Ontario (STO), the Professional Engineers of Ontario (PEO), or the Ontario Association of Certified Engineering Technicians & Technologists (OACETT).”
esasafe.com/contractors/out-of-province-master-electrician-(me)-lic...Submit provisional application
Source
“Email the Provisional ESA ME Licence Application and required documents to [email protected].”
esasafe.com/contractors/out-of-province-master-electrician-(me)-lic...Pass the ME Exam
Source
“To keep working beyond those 6 months, you must apply for, write and pass ESA's ME Exam (version focused on Ontario context).”
esasafe.com/contractors/out-of-province-master-electrician-(me)-lic...Receive Ontario ME licence
Source
“Once you pass ESA's ME Exam, you will be automatically issued your Ontario ME Licence before your Provisional Licence expires.”
esasafe.com/contractors/out-of-province-master-electrician-(me)-lic...
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with ESA
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with ESA
Exams
-
Master Electrician Exam
Source
“Eligible applicants must pass the Master Electrician Exam to receive their ME licence.”
esasafe.com/contractors/me-exam/exam-preparation -
ESA's ME Exam (version focused on Ontario context)
Source
“To keep working beyond those 6 months, you must apply for, write and pass ESA's ME Exam (version focused on Ontario context).”
esasafe.com/contractors/out-of-province-master-electrician-(me)-lic...
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with ESA
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with ESA
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with ESA
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ontario | $28.85 | $45.05 | $69.00 | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Canada | $30.00 | $44.79 | $64.00 | — |
Master electricians in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Not confirmed yet
- Alberta Certification required
- Saskatchewan Not confirmed yet
- Manitoba Not confirmed yet
- Quebec Not confirmed yet
- New Brunswick Not confirmed yet
- Nova Scotia Not confirmed yet
- Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Sources checked
- Contractor Licensing/Master Electricians - ESA esasafe.com/contractor-licensing-master-electricians · fetched October 10, 2026
- Out of Province Master Electrician (ME) Licence - ESA esasafe.com/contractors/out-of-province-master-electrician-(me)-lic... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Exam Preparation and Tips - ESA esasafe.com/contractors/me-exam/exam-preparation · fetched October 10, 2026
- Training Solutions Terms and Fees - ESA esasafe.com/contractors/training/terms-and-fees · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a master electrician in Ontario?
Yes. Certification, or registration as an apprentice, is required to work in the trade in Ontario. Certification is managed by the Electrical Safety Authority.
Which exams are required?
Master Electrician Exam, ESA's ME Exam (version focused on Ontario context).
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.