At a glance

Licence status
Voluntary certification See the source
Annual fees
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Your roadmap

Trained in Canada

  • 5 steps without a listed fee
  1. Apprentices must find a suitable employer who is willing to hire and train them.

    Source
    “Apprentices must find suitable employers who are willing to hire and train apprentices.”
    alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/parts-technician
  2. Before enrolling in classroom instruction you must have passed the required high school courses or otherwise show you are ready, for example by passing an entrance exam.

    Source
    “Entrance requirements include specific high school courses that you must have passed.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit...
  3. You attend the classroom instruction periods of the apprenticeship program while working on the job.

    Source
    “Parts technicians attend 6 weeks of classroom instruction in the first and third years, and 8 weeks of classroom instruction in the second year.”
    alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/parts-technician
  4. You must pass a theory exam to complete each period of the apprenticeship program.

    Source
    “Theory exam required to complete each period”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0271
  5. In the final period you may choose to write the Red Seal exam to show you meet the national standard.

    Source
    “Red Seal exam option in final period”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0271

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

5 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Licensed in another province

  • 1 step without a listed fee
  1. You submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.

    Source
    “1. Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0271

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Other listed fees

The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.

Requirements

Education

Experience

  • Applicants to the Work Experience Program must have 54 months and 6750 hours of verifiable Parts Technician work experience.

    Source
    “1. Complete 54 months and 6750 hours of verifiable Parts Technician work experience.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0271

Other

Already licensed in another province?

Extra steps

Parts technicians trained in other provinces and territories can work in Alberta if they hold a recognized certificate or licence, and to be certified through the Recognized Credentials Program they must submit their recognized trade certificate and pass a theory exam.

Source
“Parts technicians trained in other provinces and territories can work in Alberta if they hold a certificate or license recognized by Alberta or have the skills and knowledge expected of a journeyperson certified in Alberta.”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/parts-technician

Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Check a move between two provinces

Credential assessment

Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Exams

Language tests

Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Compare scores across provinces and professions

Canadian experience

Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Supervised practice

Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Demand and pay

Job Bank wages and outlook in Alberta and Canada
WhereLowMedianHighOutlook
Alberta $20.00 $30.29 $45.13 Limited (2 of 5)
Canada $19.17 $26.00 $40.00 —

Wages by region and job outlook in Alberta

Wages in every province and territory

Parts technicians in other provinces and territories

Compare parts technician licensing across Canada

Sources checked

  1. Parts Technician: Certifications in Alberta - alis alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/parts-technician · fetched October 8, 2026
  2. Tradesecrets - Parts Technician - Parts Technician tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0271 · fetched October 9, 2026
  3. Tradesecrets - Meet Requirements tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit... · fetched October 9, 2026
  4. Tradesecrets - Entrance Exams tradesecrets.alberta.ca/apprentice-services/prepare-for-an-exam/ent... · fetched October 9, 2026
  5. Tradesecrets - Prior Learning Assessments tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/prior-lear... · fetched October 9, 2026
  6. Tradesecrets - Types of Exams tradesecrets.alberta.ca/apprentice-services/prepare-for-an-exam/typ... · fetched October 9, 2026

Frequently asked questions

2

Do you need a licence to work as a parts technician in Alberta?

No. Certification is available, but it is not required to work in the trade in Alberta. Certification is managed by Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training.

Which exams are required?

Entrance exam, Theory exam, Red Seal exam.

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.