How to Become a Parts Technician in Yukon
Do you need certification?
Certification is voluntary
Parts technician is a voluntary trade in Yukon. You can work in the trade without a certificate.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“Work in Voluntary trades may legally be performed with or without certification or apprenticeship training | V | V | V | V | Not applicable | V | V | V | V | V | V | V | V |”
From ellischart.ca/eng/trades/parts-tech/ellis-chart.shtml, checked October 11, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Voluntary certification See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 3 steps, listed one-time fees $10
- Licensed in another province: 7 steps, listed one-time fees $15
- Trained outside Canada: no separate route
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 3 done
- Listed one-time fees: $10
- 2 steps without a listed fee
-
You apply to register as an apprentice in the Yukon apprenticeship program and pay a non-refundable application fee.
- Application fee: $10
Source
“You’ll pay a $10 non-refundable application fee when you apply to register as an apprentice.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
Source
“You’ll pay a $10 non-refundable application fee when you apply to register as an apprentice.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou... - Application fee: $10
-
As a registered apprentice you spend most of your time learning on the job from a certified journeyperson and the rest in in-school technical training.
Source
“80 per cent of your time learning from a certified journeyperson on the job while getting paid; and 20 per cent of your time learning at in-school technical training.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou... -
When you finish your apprenticeship you receive a Certificate of Qualification and become a certified journeyperson.
Source
“When you finish your apprenticeship, you earn a Certificate of Qualification and become a certified journeyperson.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $10
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $10 | 100% |
| One-time total | $10 | 100% |
2 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Licensed in another province
0 of 7 done
- Listed one-time fees: $15
- 6 steps without a listed fee
- Listed time: 1.8 to 2.8 months (only 2 of 7 steps state a time)
-
You download and complete the Application for examination for the Certificate of Qualification form.
Source
“Download and complete the Application for examination for the Certificate of Qualification form”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/apply-cert... -
You download and complete a Trade Experience Verification form for each employer and include all completed forms with your application.
Source
“Download and complete a Trade Experience Verification form. Use one form for each employer. Include all completed Trade Experience Verification forms with your application.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/apply-cert... -
You pay a non-refundable application fee of $15.
- Application fee: $15
Source
“You will need to pay a non-refundable $15 application fee to apply for a Yukon certificate of qualification.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/apply-cert...
Source
“Pay a non-refundable application fee of $15.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/apply-cert... - Application fee: $15
-
You submit your application in person, by email request for a secure upload link, or by mail.
Source
“Submit your application. In person: Education Building (entrance to parking is on Hospital Road), 1000 Lewes Boulevard in Whitehorse.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/apply-cert... -
The office verifies your experience and processes your application, which can take 4 to 6 weeks.
Time: 4 to 6 weeksTime source
“Our office will verify your experience and process your application. This can take 4 to 6 weeks.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/apply-cert...Source
“Our office will verify your experience and process your application. This can take 4 to 6 weeks.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/apply-cert... -
You are contacted to schedule your exam, which you write at the Department of Education building.
Source
“We’ll contact you to schedule your written and practical exams, where applicable. You’ll write your exam at the Department of Education building.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/apply-cert... -
If you pass the exam you receive a Certificate of Qualification, which is mailed within 4 to 6 weeks.
Time: 4 to 6 weeksTime source
“If you pass the exam, you’ll receive a Certificate of Qualification. We’ll mail the certificate within 4 to 6 weeks.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/apply-cert...Source
“If you pass the exam, you’ll receive a Certificate of Qualification. We’ll mail the certificate within 4 to 6 weeks.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/apply-cert...
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $15
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $15 | 100% |
| One-time total | $15 | 100% |
6 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Trained outside Canada
No separate route for this group. Source
“You may be eligible to write or “challenge” the journeyperson Certificate of Qualification exam without completing an apprenticeship if you have enough experience working in the trade.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/apply-cert...
Requirements
Education
To register as an apprentice you must meet the entrance requirements for your trade.
Source
“meet the entrance requirements for your trade; and”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
Experience
You may challenge the journeyperson Certificate of Qualification exam without completing an apprenticeship if you have enough experience working in the trade.
Source
“You may be eligible to write or “challenge” the journeyperson Certificate of Qualification exam without completing an apprenticeship if you have enough experience working in the trade.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/apply-cert...A trade qualifier must have a minimum of 8,100 hours of work in the trade in Yukon to be eligible to challenge the certification examination.
Source
“candidates must also demonstrate experience that covers the trade’s practices | 8100 | 8100 | 8000 | 7200 | Not applicable | 6000 | 8100 | 8100 | 6750 | 7695 | 8100 | 7200 | 7200 |”
ellischart.ca/eng/trades/parts-tech/ellis-chart.shtml
Residency
To register as an apprentice you must be a Yukon resident.
Other
To register as an apprentice you must be at least 16 years old.
Source
“be at least 16 years old;”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...To register as an apprentice you must work for an employer who employs a journeyperson certified in the trade and is willing to sponsor your apprenticeship.
Source
“work for an employer who: - employs a journeyperson certified in the trade you’re applying to register in; and - is willing to sponsor your apprenticeship.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
Already licensed in another province?
Not stated
The pages do not state how someone already licensed in another Canadian province or territory registers in the Yukon as a parts technician. Source
“There are 2 ways to get your journeyperson Yukon Certificate of Qualification, with or without a Red Seal endorsement.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/apply-cert...
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training
Exams
-
journeyperson Certificate of Qualification exam
Source
“the journeyperson Certificate of Qualification exam in your trade based on:”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou... -
apprenticeship level 1 exam
Source
“the apprenticeship level 1 exam based on:”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou... -
written and practical exams
Source
“We’ll contact you to schedule your written and practical exams, where applicable.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/apply-cert... -
Red Seal exam
Source
“Review the Red Seal Exam Preparation Guide for more information about the Red Seal exam, how to prepare and practise questions.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/apply-cert...
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Yukon | $20.06 | $30.13 | $38.50 | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Canada | $19.17 | $26.00 | $40.00 | — |
Parts technicians in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Voluntary certification
- Alberta Voluntary certification
- Saskatchewan Voluntary certification
- Manitoba Voluntary certification
- Ontario Voluntary certification
- Quebec Voluntary certification
- New Brunswick Voluntary certification
- Nova Scotia Voluntary certification
- Prince Edward Island Voluntary certification
- Newfoundland and Labrador Voluntary certification
- Northwest Territories Voluntary certification
- Nunavut Voluntary certification
Sources checked
- Parts Technician - Ellis Chart ellischart.ca/eng/trades/parts-tech/ellis-chart.shtml · fetched October 9, 2026
- Apply to certify as a journeyperson in a designated trade | Yukon.ca yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/apply-cert... · fetched October 9, 2026
- Learn about the apprenticeship program | Yukon.ca yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou... · fetched October 9, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a parts technician in Yukon?
No. Certification is available, but it is not required to work in the trade in Yukon. Certification is managed by Apprenticeship Training.
Which exams are required?
journeyperson Certificate of Qualification exam, apprenticeship level 1 exam, written and practical exams, Red Seal exam.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.