At a glance

Licence status
Certification required See the source
Routes
Annual fees
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Your roadmap

Trained in Canada

  • 5 steps without a listed fee
  1. Apprentices must find a suitable employer who is willing to hire and train apprentices.

    Source
    “Apprentices must find suitable employers who are willing to hire and train apprentices.”
    alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/sheet-metal-worker
  2. You apply to become a registered apprentice, and you can begin working on the job before meeting the entrance requirements for classroom instruction.

    Source
    “You can register and start one part of your apprenticeship journey while working toward the other requirements.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit...
  3. Before enrolling in your first period of classroom instruction, you must meet the entrance requirements, such as having passed the required high school courses or an accepted alternative.

    Source
    “You must meet them before you enroll in your first period [classroom instruction]”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit...
  4. Source
    “All periods: 1500 hours work experience per period 10 weeks classroom instruction per period Theory exam required”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/011
  5. Source
    “Sheet Metal Worker apprentices who successfully complete all of the requirements for the Sheet Metal Worker program will receive two Alberta Journeyperson Certificates: Sheet Metal Worker and Gasfitter – Class B.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/011

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

5 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Licensed in another province

  • Listed one-time fees: $220
  • 1 step without a listed fee
  1. You submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.

    Source
    “Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/011
  2. You must pass two practical exams, Exam A and Exam B, each costing $110.00.

    Source
    “Pass two practical exams: Exam A ($110.00) and Exam B ($110.00)”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/011

Listed fees for this route

One-time total listed: $220

One-time fees listed for Licensed in another province, by type
Fee typeAmountShare
Exams $220 100%
One-time total $220 100%

1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Trained outside Canada

  • Listed one-time fees: $220
  • 1 step without a listed fee
  1. You submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.

    Source
    “Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/011
  2. You must pass two practical exams, Exam A and Exam B, each costing $110.00.

    Source
    “Pass two practical exams: Exam A ($110.00) and Exam B ($110.00)”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/011

Listed fees for this route

One-time total listed: $220

One-time fees listed for Trained outside Canada, by type
Fee typeAmountShare
Exams $220 100%
One-time total $220 100%

1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Other listed fees

The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.

Requirements

Education

  • To enroll in classroom instruction, you must meet the entrance requirements, which include English 20-2, Math 20-3, and Science 10, or a GED/CAEC, or an entrance exam.

    Source
    “Entrance requirements: English 20-2, Math 20-3, and Science 10 or GED/CAEC or Entrance Exam”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/011

Experience

  • Applicants to the Work Experience Program must have completed 72 months and 9000 hours of verifiable Sheet Metal Worker work experience.

    Source
    “Complete 72 months and 9000 hours of verifiable Sheet Metal Worker work experience.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/011

Already licensed in another province?

Extra steps

Sheet metal workers from other provinces and territories can work in Alberta if they hold a certificate or license recognized by the Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training Board, and through the Recognized Credentials Program they must submit their certificate and pass a theory exam and two practical exams.

Source
“Sheet metal workers from other provinces and territories can work in Alberta if they hold a certificate or license recognized by the Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training Board.”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/sheet-metal-worker

  1. Submit recognized trade certificate

    Source
    “Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/011
  2. Pass two practical exams

    Source
    “Pass two practical exams: Exam A ($110.00) and Exam B ($110.00)”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/011

Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Check a move between two provinces

Credential assessment

Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Exams

Language tests

Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Compare scores across provinces and professions

Canadian experience

Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Supervised practice

Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Demand and pay

Job Bank wages and outlook in Alberta and Canada
WhereLowMedianHighOutlook
Alberta $20.00 $30.00 $42.00 Moderate (3 of 5)
Canada $22.70 $34.07 $45.95 —

Wages by region and job outlook in Alberta

Wages in every province and territory

Sheet metal workers in other provinces and territories

Compare sheet metal worker licensing across Canada

Sources checked

  1. Sheet Metal Worker: Certifications in Alberta - alis alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/sheet-metal-worker · fetched October 8, 2026
  2. Tradesecrets - Sheet Metal Worker tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/011 · fetched October 9, 2026
  3. Tradesecrets - Meet Requirements tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit... · fetched October 9, 2026
  4. Tradesecrets - Trades with Practical Exams and Fees tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/... · fetched October 9, 2026

Frequently asked questions

2

Do you need a licence to work as a sheet metal worker in Alberta?

Yes. Certification, or registration as an apprentice, is required to work in the trade in Alberta. Certification is managed by Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training.

Which exams are required?

Exam A, Exam B, Entrance Exam.

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.