Province comparison
Sheet Metal Worker Licensing by Province
Licence status by province and territory
Boundaries simplified for display. Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Canada. Source: Statistics Canada, 2021 Census boundary files.
- Certification required
- Voluntary certification
- British Columbia: Certification required
- Alberta: Certification required
- Saskatchewan: Certification required
- Manitoba: Voluntary certification
- Ontario: Certification required
- Quebec: Certification required
- New Brunswick: Certification required
- Nova Scotia: Certification required
- Prince Edward Island: Voluntary certification
- Newfoundland and Labrador: Voluntary certification
- Yukon: Voluntary certification
- Northwest Territories: Voluntary certification
- Nunavut: Voluntary certification
Compare the provinces
Listed one-time fees
| Where | Fees | Route | No-fee steps |
|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | $120 | Trained outside Canada | 6 |
| Alberta | $220 | Trained outside Canada | 1 |
| Saskatchewan | Not listed | Trained outside Canada | 6 |
| Manitoba | Not listed | Trained outside Canada | 5 |
| Ontario | Not listed | Trained in Canada | 7 |
| Quebec | Not listed | Trained outside Canada | 3 |
| New Brunswick | $100 | Trained outside Canada | 4 |
| Nova Scotia | Not listed | Trained in Canada | 5 |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Not listed | Trained outside Canada | 1 |
| Yukon | Not listed | Trained outside Canada | 2 |
| Northwest Territories | Not listed | — | — |
Listed time
Time not stated for every step: British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Ontario, Quebec, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Newfoundland and Labrador, Yukon, and Northwest Territories.
Side by side
| Where | Routes | Exams | Language | Listed fees | Listed time | Median wage | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Certification exam, Red Seal exam, Level exam | — | $120 (Trained outside Canada) | 25.4 to 25.8 months (partial) | $32.16 an hour | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Alberta | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Exam A, Exam B, Entrance Exam | — | $220 (Trained outside Canada) | — | $30.00 an hour | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Saskatchewan | Trained in Canada, Trained outside Canada | — | — | Not listed | — | $29.50 an hour | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Manitoba | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Level Placement Exam | — | Not listed | — | $29.50 an hour | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Ontario | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province | Certifying exam, In-school exemption test | — | Not listed | — | $35.00 an hour | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Quebec | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Provincial qualification examination | — | Not listed | 0.7 months (partial) | $40.00 an hour | Very limited (1 of 5) |
| New Brunswick | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Certification Exam | — | $100 (Trained outside Canada) | — | $27.30 an hour | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Nova Scotia | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province | — | — | Not listed | — | $29.00 an hour | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Trained in Canada, Trained outside Canada | certification exam | — | Not listed | — | $34.75 an hour | Undetermined |
| Yukon | Trained in Canada, Trained outside Canada | Apprenticeship level 1 exam, Journeyperson Certificate of Qualification exam, Practical level examinations, Written level examinations, Practical final examination, Written certification examination | — | Not listed | — | — | Undetermined |
| Northwest Territories | — | entrance examination, Practical Level Examinations, Written Level Examinations, Practical Final Examination, Written Certification Examination, Red Seal exam | — | Not listed | — | — | Undetermined |
Moving between provinces
- Direct transfer (60)
- Extra steps (12)
- Not stated (84)
All answers as a table
Demand and pay
Median wage
| Where | Low | Median | High |
|---|---|---|---|
| Canada | $22.70 | $34.07 | $45.95 |
| British Columbia | $23.14 | $32.16 | $45.60 |
| Alberta | $20.00 | $30.00 | $42.00 |
| Saskatchewan | $19.74 | $29.50 | $44.66 |
| Manitoba | $20.00 | $29.50 | $42.00 |
| Ontario | $22.94 | $35.00 | $48.17 |
| Quebec | $25.50 | $40.00 | $44.79 |
| New Brunswick | $20.00 | $27.30 | $35.73 |
| Nova Scotia | $19.50 | $29.00 | $38.32 |
| Prince Edward Island | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | $24.50 | $34.75 | $45.25 |
| Yukon | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Northwest Territories | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Nunavut | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Job outlook
| Where | Outlook |
|---|---|
| British Columbia | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Alberta | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Saskatchewan | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Manitoba | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Ontario | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Quebec | Very limited (1 of 5) |
| New Brunswick | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Nova Scotia | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Prince Edward Island | Outlook not determined |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Outlook not determined |
| Yukon | Outlook not determined |
| Northwest Territories | Outlook not determined |
| Nunavut | Outlook not determined |
Tools and tables
- Licence transfer checker Already licensed in one province? See what another province asks for.
- Roadmap builder Your steps, listed fees and time for one occupation and province.
- Language test scores Minimum IELTS, CELPIP and other scores, by occupation and province.
- Credential assessments Which regulators ask for an assessment of your education.
- Licensing exams Which exams each regulator asks for.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.