At a glance

Licence status
Licence required See the source
Annual fees

Your roadmap

Trained in Canada

  • 6 steps without a listed fee
  • Annual fees: $171.60
  1. Graduates of an accredited dental assisting program in BC must successfully complete the National Dental Assisting Examining Board written exam to be eligible for licence.

    Source
    “Graduates of an accredited dental assisting program in BC who have successfully completed the National Dental Assisting Examining Board (NDAEB) written exam are eligible for licence with BCCOHP.”
    oralhealthbc.ca/licensure/licensure-renewal-lda/lda-initial-licence
  2. Applicants log in to open a web account and submit the required information for the licensing process, including contact information, dental education, NDAEB completion information, identification and other jurisdictions of licensure.

    Source
    “This online application process will allow you to open a web account and submit the required information for your licensing process with BCCOHP.”
    oralhealthbc.ca/licensure/licensure-renewal-lda/lda-initial-licence
  3. Once the application forms are completed, applicants are prompted to pay the non-refundable application and criminal record check fees.

    Source
    “Once the application information forms have been completed, you will be prompted to pay the application and criminal record check fees (non-refundable).”
    oralhealthbc.ca/licensure/licensure-renewal-lda/lda-initial-licence
  4. Applicants submit notarized documents including a statutory declaration, notarized photo identification, and notarized or certified copies of their education diploma and NDAEB certificate.

    Source
    “Notarized or certified copy of education degree/diploma*​”
    oralhealthbc.ca/licensure/licensure-renewal-lda/lda-initial-licence
  5. Once all required documents are received and the application is ready to be finalized, the applicant receives an email notification to log in and pay the licence fee.

    Source
    “Once all the required documents are received and your application is ready to be finalized, you will receive an email notification to make your final payment. You will need to log in to your account and pay for the licence fee.”
    oralhealthbc.ca/licensure/licensure-renewal-lda/lda-initial-licence
  6. After payment, the applicant receives confirmation of their licence.

    Source
    “Step 6: Licence confirmation”
    oralhealthbc.ca/licensure/licensure-renewal-lda/lda-initial-licence

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with BCCOHP

6 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Annual fees: $171.60 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.

Licensed in another province

  • 3 steps without a listed fee
  • Annual fees: $171.60
  1. Applicants currently licensed or certified in another Canadian jurisdiction complete the LDA Assessment Package for Labour Mobility to have their credentials assessed.

    Source
    “If you are currently licensed or certified in another Canadian jurisdiction please complete the LDA Assessment Package for Labour Mobility.”
    oralhealthbc.ca/licensure/licensure-renewal-lda/lda-initial-licence
  2. Applicants licensed or certified in another Canadian jurisdiction must have a Certificate of Standing from that jurisdiction sent directly to BCCOHP for their licence application.

    Source
    “If you are currently or have previously been licensed or certified in another Canadian jurisdiction, BCCOHP requires a Certificate of Standing from that jurisdiction for your application for LDA Licence.”
    oralhealthbc.ca/licensure/licensure-renewal-lda/lda-initial-licence
  3. After the assessment process and once eligibility has been determined, the applicant applies for the licensed dental assistant licence.

    Source
    “After the assessment process, and once your eligibility has been determined, you will need to apply for LDA licence.”
    oralhealthbc.ca/licensure/licensure-renewal-lda/lda-initial-licence

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with BCCOHP

3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Annual fees: $171.60 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.

Trained outside Canada

  • 3 steps without a listed fee
  • Annual fees: $171.60
  1. Internationally-trained dental healthcare professionals must hold a National Dental Assisting Examining Board certificate to be eligible for assessment.

    Source
    “Graduates of dental assisting programs in the United States and/or internationally-trained dental healthcare professionals who have National Dental Assisting Examining Board (NDAEB) certificate may be eligible for BCCOHP LDA licence pending an assessment of your credentials.”
    oralhealthbc.ca/licensure/licensure-renewal-lda/lda-initial-licence
  2. Applicants complete and submit the LDA Assessment Application Package to have their credentials assessed.

    Source
    “Please complete and submit the LDA Assessment Application Package (PDF).”
    oralhealthbc.ca/licensure/licensure-renewal-lda/lda-initial-licence
  3. After the assessment process and once eligibility has been determined, the applicant applies for the licensed dental assistant licence.

    Source
    “After the assessment process, and once your eligibility has been determined, you will need to apply for LDA licence.”
    oralhealthbc.ca/licensure/licensure-renewal-lda/lda-initial-licence

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with BCCOHP

3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Annual fees: $171.60 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.

Other listed fees

The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.

Requirements

Education

  • Applicants must have graduated from a level II dental assisting program from an accredited program and hold an NDAEB Certificate.

    Source
    “This licence category is for individuals who have graduated from a level II dental assisting program from an accredited program and have a NDAEB Certificate.”
    oralhealthbc.ca/licensure/licensure-renewal-lda/lda-initial-licence
  • Graduates from a non-accredited dental assisting program in BC must successfully complete both the written and clinical portions of the NDAEB exam to be eligible for licence.

    Source
    “Graduates from a non-accredited dental assisting program in BC must successfully complete both the written and clinical portions of the NDAEB exam to be eligible for licence with BCCOHP.”
    oralhealthbc.ca/licensure/licensure-renewal-lda/lda-initial-licence

Police check

  • As part of the application process, applicants must undergo a criminal record check process conducted by the Ministry of Public Safety & Solicitor General.

    Source
    “As part of the application process, applicants will have to undergo a criminal record check (CRC) process conducted by the Ministry of Public Safety & Solicitor General.”
    oralhealthbc.ca/licensure/licensure-renewal-lda/lda-initial-licence

Already licensed in another province?

Extra steps

Licensed dental assistants licensed or certified in another Canadian jurisdiction recognized under the CFTA must apply for an assessment of their credentials before applying for a licence in British Columbia.

Source
“Licensed dental assistants licensed or certified in another Canadian jurisdiction recognized under the Canadian Free Trade Agreement (CFTA), are eligible to apply for an assessment to practice in British Columbia.”
oralhealthbc.ca/licensure/licensure-renewal-lda/lda-licensure-info

Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with BCCOHP

Check a move between two provinces

Credential assessment

Not stated by the regulator Check with BCCOHP

Exams

Language tests

Not stated by the regulator Check with BCCOHP

Compare scores across provinces and professions

Canadian experience

Not stated by the regulator Check with BCCOHP

Supervised practice

Not stated by the regulator Check with BCCOHP

Demand and pay

Job Bank wages and outlook in British Columbia and Canada
WhereLowMedianHighOutlook
British Columbia $24.00 $31.00 $36.00 Moderate (3 of 5)
Canada $21.00 $27.00 $35.00 —

Wages by region and job outlook in British Columbia

Wages in every province and territory

Dental assistants in other provinces and territories

Compare dental assistant licensing across Canada

Sources checked

  1. Licensed Dental Assistant Licensure Information | British Columbia College of Oral Health Professionals oralhealthbc.ca/licensure/licensure-renewal-lda/lda-licensure-info · fetched October 10, 2026
  2. Licensed Dental Assistants - Initial Licence | British Columbia College of Oral Health Professionals oralhealthbc.ca/licensure/licensure-renewal-lda/lda-initial-licence · fetched October 10, 2026
  3. Renewal Fees | British Columbia College of Oral Health Professionals oralhealthbc.ca/licensure/annual-renewals/renewal-fees · fetched October 10, 2026

Frequently asked questions

2

Do you need a licence to work as a dental assistant in British Columbia?

Yes. Registration with the BC College of Oral Health Professionals of BC is required to practise in British Columbia.

Which exams are required?

National Dental Assisting Examining Board (NDAEB) Written Examination, NDAEB Clinical Practice Evaluation.

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.