How to Become a Dental Assistant in New Brunswick
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the New Brunswick Dental Society to work as a dental assistant in New Brunswick or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“Dental Assistant New Brunswick Dental Society”
From www2.gnb.ca/content/gnb/en/departments/post-secondary_education_tra..., checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 5 steps, listed one-time fees $155 (1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total)
- Licensed in another province: 1 step
- Trained outside Canada: no separate route
- Annual fees
-
- Annual license fee: $155
Source
“The fee to be paid for 2026 is $185.00 This amount represents a one time $30.00 registration fee and your annual license fee of $155.00.”
nbdent.ca/licensing-for-dentists-and-dental-assistants - Annual license fee (2024): $145
Source
“The fee to be paid for 2024 is $175.00 This amount represents a one time $30.00 registration fee and your annual license fee of $145.00.”
nbdent.ca/licensing-for-dental-assistants
- Annual license fee: $155
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 5 done
- Listed one-time fees: $155
- 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
- 4 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $300
-
The applicant completes the online application form and uploads a digital passport photo showing head and shoulders on a plain background.
Source
“Complete the Online Application form and upload: 1. Digital passport photo size (Must show head and shoulders on plain background)”
nbdent.ca/licensing-for-dentists-and-dental-assistants -
The applicant uploads a copy of ID and a copy of a diploma from the accredited school, plus a diploma from any other dental assisting program completed, if applicable.
Source
“2. Copy of ID (Citizenship certificate/card, Valid Canadian passport, birth certificate, PR card/confirmation letter or work permit). 3. A copy of a diploma from the accredited school, and if applicable, a copy of the diploma from another dental assisting program which the applicant completed.”
nbdent.ca/licensing-for-dentists-and-dental-assistants -
The applicant uploads a National Dental Assisting Examining Board Certificate (Level II).
Source
“4. A National Dental Assisting Examining Board Certificate (Level II).”
nbdent.ca/licensing-for-dentists-and-dental-assistants -
A dental assistant holding a National Dental Examining Board certificate (Level II) who graduated from a school not accredited by the CDAA uploads an NDAEB clinical practice evaluation (CPE) certificate.
Source
“5. A dental assistant who possesses a National Dental Examining Board certificate (Level II) who is a graduate from a school which is not accredited by the CDAA shall upload a NDAEB clinical practice evaluation (CPE) certificate.”
nbdent.ca/licensing-for-dentists-and-dental-assistants -
The applicant pays the fee for 2026, which is a one-time registration fee of $30.00 plus the annual license fee of $155.00.
- Registration fee: $30 (one time registration fee)
Source
“This amount represents a one time $30.00 registration fee and your annual license fee of $155.00.”
nbdent.ca/licensing-for-dentists-and-dental-assistants - Annual license fee: $155
Source
“This amount represents a one time $30.00 registration fee and your annual license fee of $155.00.”
nbdent.ca/licensing-for-dentists-and-dental-assistants
Source
“The fee to be paid for 2026 is $185.00 This amount represents a one time $30.00 registration fee and your annual license fee of $155.00.”
nbdent.ca/licensing-for-dentists-and-dental-assistants - Registration fee: $30 (one time registration fee)
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $155
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $155 | 100% |
| One-time total | $155 | 100% |
1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $300 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Annual license fee: $155
Source
“The fee to be paid for 2026 is $185.00 This amount represents a one time $30.00 registration fee and your annual license fee of $155.00.”
nbdent.ca/licensing-for-dentists-and-dental-assistants - Annual license fee (2024): $145
Source
“The fee to be paid for 2024 is $175.00 This amount represents a one time $30.00 registration fee and your annual license fee of $145.00.”
nbdent.ca/licensing-for-dental-assistants
Licensed in another province
0 of 1 done
- 1 step without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $300
-
An applicant currently or previously licensed in another province must request a letter of good standing from the Provincial Licensing Board.
Source
“If currently or previously licensed in another province, the applicant must request a letter of good standing from the Provincial Licensing Board.”
nbdent.ca/licensing-for-dentists-and-dental-assistants
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with New Brunswick Dental Society
1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $300 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Annual license fee: $155
Source
“The fee to be paid for 2026 is $185.00 This amount represents a one time $30.00 registration fee and your annual license fee of $155.00.”
nbdent.ca/licensing-for-dentists-and-dental-assistants - Annual license fee (2024): $145
Source
“The fee to be paid for 2024 is $175.00 This amount represents a one time $30.00 registration fee and your annual license fee of $145.00.”
nbdent.ca/licensing-for-dental-assistants
Trained outside Canada
- Annual fees: $300
No separate route for this group. Source
“The following is required for licensure:”
nbdent.ca/licensing-for-dentists-and-dental-assistants
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Total fee for 2026: $185
Source
“The fee to be paid for 2026 is $185.00 This amount represents a one time $30.00 registration fee and your annual license fee of $155.00.”
nbdent.ca/licensing-for-dentists-and-dental-assistants - Total fee for 2024: $175
Source
“The fee to be paid for 2024 is $175.00 This amount represents a one time $30.00 registration fee and your annual license fee of $145.00.”
nbdent.ca/licensing-for-dental-assistants
Requirements
Education
The applicant must provide a copy of a diploma from the accredited school, and if applicable, a copy of the diploma from another dental assisting program which the applicant completed.
Source
“3. A copy of a diploma from the accredited school, and if applicable, a copy of the diploma from another dental assisting program which the applicant completed.”
nbdent.ca/licensing-for-dentists-and-dental-assistants
Other
The applicant must hold a National Dental Assisting Examining Board Certificate (Level II).
Source
“4. A National Dental Assisting Examining Board Certificate (Level II).”
nbdent.ca/licensing-for-dentists-and-dental-assistantsA dental assistant with a National Dental Examining Board certificate (Level II) who graduated from a school not accredited by the CDAA must upload an NDAEB clinical practice evaluation (CPE) certificate.
Source
“5. A dental assistant who possesses a National Dental Examining Board certificate (Level II) who is a graduate from a school which is not accredited by the CDAA shall upload a NDAEB clinical practice evaluation (CPE) certificate.”
nbdent.ca/licensing-for-dentists-and-dental-assistantsThe applicant must upload a copy of ID such as a citizenship certificate/card, valid Canadian passport, birth certificate, PR card/confirmation letter or work permit.
Source
“2. Copy of ID (Citizenship certificate/card, Valid Canadian passport, birth certificate, PR card/confirmation letter or work permit).”
nbdent.ca/licensing-for-dentists-and-dental-assistants
Already licensed in another province?
Direct transfer
An applicant currently or previously licensed in another province must request a letter of good standing from the Provincial Licensing Board, and no additional exam or assessment is stated. Source
“If currently or previously licensed in another province, the applicant must request a letter of good standing from the Provincial Licensing Board.”
nbdent.ca/licensing-for-dentists-and-dental-assistants
Request letter of good standing
Source
“If currently or previously licensed in another province, the applicant must request a letter of good standing from the Provincial Licensing Board.”
nbdent.ca/licensing-for-dentists-and-dental-assistants
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with New Brunswick Dental Society
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with New Brunswick Dental Society
Exams
-
National Dental Assisting Examining Board Certificate (Level II)
Source
“4. A National Dental Assisting Examining Board Certificate (Level II).”
nbdent.ca/licensing-for-dentists-and-dental-assistants -
NDAEB clinical practice evaluation (CPE)
Source
“5. A dental assistant who possesses a National Dental Examining Board certificate (Level II) who is a graduate from a school which is not accredited by the CDAA shall upload a NDAEB clinical practice evaluation (CPE) certificate.”
nbdent.ca/licensing-for-dentists-and-dental-assistants
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with New Brunswick Dental Society
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with New Brunswick Dental Society
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with New Brunswick Dental Society
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| New Brunswick | $22.00 | $25.00 | $30.00 | Good (4 of 5) |
| Canada | $21.00 | $27.00 | $35.00 | — |
Dental assistants in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Licence required
- Alberta Licence required
- Saskatchewan Licence required
- Manitoba Licence required
- Ontario Licence required
- Quebec Not confirmed yet
- Nova Scotia Licence required
- Prince Edward Island Licence required
- Newfoundland and Labrador Licence required
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Sources checked
- Certified Occupations www2.gnb.ca/content/gnb/en/departments/post-secondary_education_tra... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Licensing For Dentists – New Brunswick Dental Society nbdent.ca/licensing-for-dentists-and-dental-assistants · fetched October 10, 2026
- Licensing For Dental Assistants – New Brunswick Dental Society nbdent.ca/licensing-for-dental-assistants · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a dental assistant in New Brunswick?
Yes. Registration with the New Brunswick Dental Society is required to practise in New Brunswick.
Which exams are required?
National Dental Assisting Examining Board Certificate (Level II), NDAEB clinical practice evaluation (CPE).
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.