How to Become a Dentist in British Columbia
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the BC College of Oral Health Professionals of BC to work as a dentist in British Columbia or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“General dentists and certified specialists must register with the British Columbia College of Oral Health Professionals in order to practise in B.C.”
From oralhealthbc.ca/licensure/dentist-licensure-renewal/dentist-licensu..., checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 7 steps (1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total)
- Licensed in another province: 6 steps
- Trained outside Canada: 8 steps, listed one-time fees $8,850 (2 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total)
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with BCCOHP
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 7 done
- 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
- 6 steps without a listed fee
- Listed time: 0.1 to 0.2 months (only 1 of 7 steps state a time)
-
Graduates of accredited dental programs take the NDEB written examination and OSCE to become certified.
Source
“You can get certified by taking the NDEB® Written Examination and OSCE.”
ndeb-bned.ca/2022/06/02/obtenir-votre-certification-et-votre-permis -
After passing the examinations, graduates must provide proof of graduation to the NDEB to be issued their NDEB certificate.
- Proof of Successful Completion: $30 (each proof of successful completion requested)
Source
“Once the examinations are passed, graduates of accredited dental programs in Canada, the U.S., Australia, New Zealand, and Ireland must provide proof of graduation to the NDEB® in order to be issued their NDEB® certificate.”
ndeb-bned.ca/2022/06/02/obtenir-votre-certification-et-votre-permis -
The applicant opens a web account and completes the online application form with contact, education, NDEB certification, insurance and identification information.
Source
“This online application process will require you to open a web account and submit the required information for your licensing process with BCCOHP.”
oralhealthbc.ca/licensure/dentist-licensure-renewal/dentists -
Once the application is completed, the applicant is prompted to pay the non-refundable application and criminal record check fees.
Source
“Once the application is completed, you will be prompted to pay the application and criminal record check fees (non-refundable).”
oralhealthbc.ca/licensure/dentist-licensure-renewal/dentists -
The applicant submits notarized statutory declaration, photo identification, education degree, NDEB certificate, and certificates or letters of standing from any jurisdictions where licensed.
Source
“Notarized or certified copy of education degree/diploma*† - Notarized or certified copy of NDEB certificate*† - Certificates or Letters of Standing from jurisdictions currently and/or previously licensed or registered with”
oralhealthbc.ca/licensure/dentist-licensure-renewal/dentists -
After all required documents are received, the applicant receives an email notification and logs in to pay the licence fee.
Source
“Once all the required documents are received and your application is ready to be finalized, you will receive an email notification to make your final payment. You will need to log in to your account and pay the licence fee.”
oralhealthbc.ca/licensure/dentist-licensure-renewal/dentists -
Once the licence fee is processed, BCCOHP sends an email within three to five business days confirming the status is active, and the applicant cannot practise before receiving it.
Time: 3 to 5 daysTime source
“Once your licence fee has been processed, you will be sent an email from BCCOHP within three to five business days confirming that your status has been changed to active.”
oralhealthbc.ca/licensure/dentist-licensure-renewal/dentistsSource
“Once your licence fee has been processed, you will be sent an email from BCCOHP within three to five business days confirming that your status has been changed to active.”
oralhealthbc.ca/licensure/dentist-licensure-renewal/dentists
Listed fees for this route
1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
6 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Licensed in another province
0 of 6 done
- 6 steps without a listed fee
- Listed time: 0.1 to 0.2 months (only 1 of 6 steps state a time)
-
Applicants licensed in another Canadian jurisdiction must ask that regulator to send a Certificate of Standing directly to BCCOHP in a sealed envelope.
Source
“If you have ever been or are currently licensed or registered in another province or country, please contact that provincial or national regulatory body to request a Certificate of Standing or Letter of Standing for your BCCOHP application. The certificate must be delivered directly to BCCOHP from the licensing/regulating body in a sealed envelope.”
oralhealthbc.ca/licensure/dentist-licensure-renewal/dentists -
The applicant opens a web account and completes the online application form with contact, education, NDEB certification, insurance and identification information.
Source
“This online application process will require you to open a web account and submit the required information for your licensing process with BCCOHP.”
oralhealthbc.ca/licensure/dentist-licensure-renewal/dentists -
Once the application is completed, the applicant is prompted to pay the non-refundable application and criminal record check fees.
Source
“Once the application is completed, you will be prompted to pay the application and criminal record check fees (non-refundable).”
oralhealthbc.ca/licensure/dentist-licensure-renewal/dentists -
Applicants currently licensed in another Canadian jurisdiction applying for the same or equivalent licence class do not need to submit notarized copies of their degree and NDEB certificate.
Source
“If the applicant is currently licensed or registerd to practise dentistry in another Canadian jurisdiction, and the applicant is applying for the same or equivalent licence class in BC while they hold active licence in the other Canadian jurisdiction, submission of these documents is not required.”
oralhealthbc.ca/licensure/dentist-licensure-renewal/dentists -
After all required documents are received, the applicant receives an email notification and logs in to pay the licence fee.
Source
“Once all the required documents are received and your application is ready to be finalized, you will receive an email notification to make your final payment. You will need to log in to your account and pay the licence fee.”
oralhealthbc.ca/licensure/dentist-licensure-renewal/dentists -
Once the licence fee is processed, BCCOHP sends an email within three to five business days confirming the status is active, and the applicant cannot practise before receiving it.
Time: 3 to 5 daysTime source
“Once your licence fee has been processed, you will be sent an email from BCCOHP within three to five business days confirming that your status has been changed to active.”
oralhealthbc.ca/licensure/dentist-licensure-renewal/dentistsSource
“Once your licence fee has been processed, you will be sent an email from BCCOHP within three to five business days confirming that your status has been changed to active.”
oralhealthbc.ca/licensure/dentist-licensure-renewal/dentists
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with BCCOHP
6 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Trained outside Canada
0 of 8 done
- Listed one-time fees: $8,850
- 2 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total
- 6 steps without a listed fee
- Listed time: 0.1 to 0.2 months (only 1 of 8 steps state a time)
-
Graduates of non-accredited programs must complete either the NDEB Equivalency Process or an accredited two-year Qualifying Program to become eligible for the national examinations.
- Application Fee: $900 (one time fee non-refundable)
- Assessment of Fundamental Knowledge (AFK): $1,000
- Assessment of Clinical Judgement (ACJ): $1,350
- NDECC: $6,500
Source
“These are the two paths by which you can become eligible to take the Canadian national examinations administered by the National Dental Examining Board of Canada (NDEB) – a requirement for all candidates.”
oralhealthbc.ca/licensure/dentist-licensure-renewal/dentist-licensu... -
After becoming eligible, the candidate takes the NDEB written examination and OSCE to become certified.
Source
“You can get certified by taking the NDEB® Written Examination and OSCE.”
ndeb-bned.ca/2022/06/02/obtenir-votre-certification-et-votre-permis -
After passing the examinations, the graduate must provide proof of graduation to the NDEB to be issued their NDEB certificate.
- Proof of Successful Completion: $30 (each proof of successful completion requested)
Source
“Once the examinations are passed, graduates of accredited dental programs in Canada, the U.S., Australia, New Zealand, and Ireland must provide proof of graduation to the NDEB® in order to be issued their NDEB® certificate.”
ndeb-bned.ca/2022/06/02/obtenir-votre-certification-et-votre-permis -
The applicant opens a web account and completes the online application form with contact, education, NDEB certification, insurance and identification information.
Source
“This online application process will require you to open a web account and submit the required information for your licensing process with BCCOHP.”
oralhealthbc.ca/licensure/dentist-licensure-renewal/dentists -
Once the application is completed, the applicant is prompted to pay the non-refundable application and criminal record check fees.
Source
“Once the application is completed, you will be prompted to pay the application and criminal record check fees (non-refundable).”
oralhealthbc.ca/licensure/dentist-licensure-renewal/dentists -
The applicant submits notarized statutory declaration, photo identification, education degree, NDEB certificate, and certificates or letters of standing from any jurisdictions where licensed.
Source
“Notarized or certified copy of education degree/diploma*† - Notarized or certified copy of NDEB certificate*† - Certificates or Letters of Standing from jurisdictions currently and/or previously licensed or registered with”
oralhealthbc.ca/licensure/dentist-licensure-renewal/dentists -
After all required documents are received, the applicant receives an email notification and logs in to pay the licence fee.
Source
“Once all the required documents are received and your application is ready to be finalized, you will receive an email notification to make your final payment. You will need to log in to your account and pay the licence fee.”
oralhealthbc.ca/licensure/dentist-licensure-renewal/dentists -
Once the licence fee is processed, BCCOHP sends an email within three to five business days confirming the status is active, and the applicant cannot practise before receiving it.
Time: 3 to 5 daysTime source
“Once your licence fee has been processed, you will be sent an email from BCCOHP within three to five business days confirming that your status has been changed to active.”
oralhealthbc.ca/licensure/dentist-licensure-renewal/dentistsSource
“Once your licence fee has been processed, you will be sent an email from BCCOHP within three to five business days confirming that your status has been changed to active.”
oralhealthbc.ca/licensure/dentist-licensure-renewal/dentists
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $8,850
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Exams | $8,850 | 100% |
| One-time total | $8,850 | 100% |
2 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total.
6 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- In-office assessment fee: $2,500
Source
“The in-office assessment fee is $2,500. All fees can be found in Schedule “A” Fees.”
oralhealthbc.ca/sedation-ga-updates-july2025 - Equivalency Process Re-application Fee: $400 (non-refundable re-application to the equivalency process)
Source
“Equivalency Process Re-application Fee (non-refundable) $400”
ndeb-bned.ca/equivalency-process/fees - Verification of Score AFK, ACJ, or NDECC: $200 (verification of an AFK, ACJ, or NDECC score)
- Misconduct decision appeal: $1,200 (appealing a misconduct decision)
- Appeal of the Conduct of an Examination: $1,200 (appealing the conduct of an examination)
- Administrative fee: $200
- NDECC: Clinical Skills Component: $3,250 (clinical skills component of the NDECC)
- NDECC: Situational Judgment Component: $3,250 (situational judgment component of the NDECC)
Requirements
Education
Applicants need a degree or equivalent qualification from an accredited general dentistry program or equivalent general dentistry program.
Source
“a degree or equivalent qualification from an accredited general dentistry program or equivalent general dentistry program”
oralhealthbc.ca/licensure/dentist-licensure-renewal/dentists
Experience
Applicants must have successfully completed the NDEB examinations no more than three years before the date of their application for licence to BCCOHP.
Source
“successful completion of the National Dental Examining Board (NDEB) examinations no more than three years before the date of your application for licence to BCCOHP.”
oralhealthbc.ca/licensure/dentist-licensure-renewal/dentists
Police check
As part of the application process, applicants must undergo a criminal record check process conducted by the Ministry of Public Safety & Solicitor General.
Source
“NOTE: As part of the application process, applicants will have to undergo a criminal record check (CRC) process conducted by the Ministry of Public Safety & Solicitor General.”
oralhealthbc.ca/licensure/dentist-licensure-renewal/dentists
Other
Applicants must provide professional liability insurance information as part of the online application form.
Source
“Professional liability insurance information”
oralhealthbc.ca/licensure/dentist-licensure-renewal/dentistsApplicants who are currently or have previously been licensed in another Canadian jurisdiction must provide a Certificate of Standing from that jurisdiction.
Source
“If you are applying for a licence in BC and are currently or have previously been licensed or registered in another Canadian jurisdiction, BCCOHP requires a Certificate of Standing from that jurisdiction.”
oralhealthbc.ca/licensure/dentist-licensure-renewal/dentist-licensu...
Already licensed in another province?
Direct transfer
Dentists licensed or registered in another Canadian jurisdiction are recognized under the Canadian Free Trade Agreement and are eligible to apply for licence to practise dentistry in British Columbia. Source
“Dentists licensed or registered in another Canadian jurisdiction are recognized under the Canadian Free Trade Agreement (CFTA). They are eligible to apply for licence to practice dentistry in British Columbia.”
oralhealthbc.ca/licensure/dentist-licensure-renewal/dentist-licensu...
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with BCCOHP
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with BCCOHP
Exams
-
NDEB Written Examination
Source
“You can get certified by taking the NDEB® Written Examination and OSCE.”
ndeb-bned.ca/2022/06/02/obtenir-votre-certification-et-votre-permis -
OSCE
Source
“You can get certified by taking the NDEB® Written Examination and OSCE.”
ndeb-bned.ca/2022/06/02/obtenir-votre-certification-et-votre-permis -
National Dental Specialty Examination (NDSE)
Source
“successful completion of the National Dental Specialty Examination (NDSE)”
oralhealthbc.ca/licensure/dentist-licensure-renewal/dentists -
Assessment of Fundamental Knowledge (AFK)
-
Assessment of Clinical Judgement (ACJ)
-
NDECC
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with BCCOHP
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with BCCOHP
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with BCCOHP
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | $37,929 | $84,000 | $214,000 | Very good (5 of 5) |
| Canada | $32,867 | $110,000 | $228,000 | — |
Dentists in other provinces and territories
- Alberta Licence required
- Saskatchewan Licence required
- Manitoba Licence required
- Ontario Licence required
- Quebec Licence required
- New Brunswick Licence required
- Nova Scotia Licence required
- Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Licence required
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Sources checked
- Dentist Licensure Information | British Columbia College of Oral Health Professionals oralhealthbc.ca/licensure/dentist-licensure-renewal/dentist-licensu... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Obtaining Certification and Licensure - The National Dental Examining Board of Canada ndeb-bned.ca/2022/06/02/obtenir-votre-certification-et-votre-permis · fetched October 9, 2026
- Fees - The National Dental Examining Board of Canada ndeb-bned.ca/equivalency-process/fees · fetched October 10, 2026
- Dentists Initial Licences | British Columbia College of Oral Health Professionals oralhealthbc.ca/licensure/dentist-licensure-renewal/dentists · fetched October 10, 2026
- Sedation & General Anesthesia Updates | British Columbia College of Oral Health Professionals oralhealthbc.ca/sedation-ga-updates-july2025 · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a dentist in British Columbia?
Yes. Registration with the BC College of Oral Health Professionals of BC is required to practise in British Columbia.
Which exams are required?
NDEB Written Examination, OSCE, National Dental Specialty Examination (NDSE), Assessment of Fundamental Knowledge (AFK), Assessment of Clinical Judgement (ACJ), NDECC.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.