How to Become a Dentist in Nova Scotia
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the Nova Scotia Regulator of Dentistry and Dental Assisting to work as a dentist in Nova Scotia or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“Applicants cannot begin to practise without a license.”
From nsrdda.ca/applicants/dentists/first-application-for-a-dental-licens..., checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 7 steps, listed one-time fees $201
- Licensed in another province: 7 steps
- Trained outside Canada: 4 steps
- Annual fees
-
- Annual license fee: $1,940 (license year December 1 – November 30)
Source
“$1940 annual license fee (December 1 – November 30)”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/dentists/first-application-for-a-dental-licens... - Annual license fee (graduate student): $114 (for graduate students, license year December 1 – November 30)
Source
“$114 annual license fee (December 1 – November 30)”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/dentists/first-application-for-a-dental-licens...
- Annual license fee: $1,940 (license year December 1 – November 30)
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 7 done
- Listed one-time fees: $201
- 5 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $1,940 (license year December 1 – November 30), $114 (for graduate students, license year December 1 – November 30)
- Listed time: 0.2 months (only 1 of 7 steps state a time)
-
You start by signing up and creating a profile in the regulator's online system.
Source
“Your first step will be to create a profile within our system.”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/dentists/first-application-for-a-dental-licens... -
You complete the online application form and upload all the required supporting documents.
Source
“Once your profile is created, you can log in and you will see an area to apply for a license. You will see an “Apply” button which you can click to begin your application. You will need to upload your supporting documents within the online application.”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/dentists/first-application-for-a-dental-licens... -
After submitting, you pay a non-refundable application fee through the online portal.
- Application fee: $100
Source
“you will be sent an email asking you to pay a non-refundable application fee of $100, through our online portal”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/dentists/first-application-for-a-dental-licens...
Source
“When you submit your application, you will be sent an email asking you to pay a non-refundable application fee of $100, through our online portal, after which time your application will be reviewed.”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/dentists/first-application-for-a-dental-licens... - Application fee: $100
-
The Registrar reviews your application and supporting documentation.
Source
“The application and supporting documentation are reviewed by Registrar.”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/dentists/first-application-for-a-dental-licens... -
The office contacts you to schedule a meeting with the Registrar to discuss your application.
Source
“Our office will contact the applicant to schedule an appointment to meet with the Registrar to discuss their application.”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/dentists/first-application-for-a-dental-licens... -
Once approved, you pay the initial registration fee and the annual license fee through the online portal.
- Initial registration fee: $101
Source
“$101 initial registration fee”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/dentists/first-application-for-a-dental-licens...
Source
“Once your application has been approved, you will be required to pay the following non-refundable fees through our online portal: $101 initial registration fee, $1940 annual license fee (December 1 – November 30)”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/dentists/first-application-for-a-dental-licens... - Initial registration fee: $101
-
Time: 5 days
Time source
“Once your completed application has been received, we will arrange a licensing meeting and issue your license within 5 business days.”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/dentists/first-application-for-a-dental-licens...Source
“Successful applicants who meet all of the licensing requirements will be entered into the Dentists’ Register and issued a license.”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/dentists/first-application-for-a-dental-licens...
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $201
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $100 | 50% |
| Registration | $101 | 50% |
| One-time total | $201 | 100% |
5 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Annual license fee: $1,940 (license year December 1 – November 30)
Source
“$1940 annual license fee (December 1 – November 30)”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/dentists/first-application-for-a-dental-licens... - Annual license fee (graduate student): $114 (for graduate students, license year December 1 – November 30)
Source
“$114 annual license fee (December 1 – November 30)”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/dentists/first-application-for-a-dental-licens...
Licensed in another province
0 of 7 done
- 7 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $1,940 (license year December 1 – November 30), $114 (for graduate students, license year December 1 – November 30)
- Listed time: 0.2 months (only 1 of 7 steps state a time)
-
You start by signing up and creating a profile in the regulator's online system.
Source
“Your first step will be to create a profile within our system.”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/dentists/already-licensed-in-another-province-... -
You must ask every jurisdiction where you are or were licensed to send a Certificate of Standing directly to the regulator's office.
Source
“If you are currently or have previously been licensed in another jurisdiction, you must request that a Certificate of Standing be sent directly to our office from each of those jurisdictions.”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/dentists/already-licensed-in-another-province-... -
You complete the online application and upload all required supporting documents, including certificates of standing.
Source
“Once your profile is created, you can log in and you will see an area to apply for a license. You will see an “Apply” button which you can click to begin your application. You will need to upload your supporting documents within the online application.”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/dentists/already-licensed-in-another-province-... -
The Registrar reviews your application and supporting documentation.
Source
“The application and supporting documentation are reviewed by Registrar.”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/dentists/already-licensed-in-another-province-... -
The office contacts you to schedule a meeting with the Registrar to discuss your application.
Source
“Our office will contact the applicant to schedule an appointment to meet with the Registrar to discuss their application.”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/dentists/already-licensed-in-another-province-... -
Once approved, you pay the annual license fee; the initial application and registration fees are waived under the Patient Access to Care Act.
Source
“Once your application has been approved, you will be required to pay the following fee: $1940 annual license fee (December 1 – November 30”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/dentists/already-licensed-in-another-province-... -
Time: 5 days
Time source
“For applicants currently licensed in another Canadian province or territory, we will process your application within 5 business days following the receipt of a COMPLETE APPLICATION.”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/dentistsSource
“Successful applicants who meet all of the licensing requirements will be entered into the Dentists’ Register and issued a license.”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/dentists/already-licensed-in-another-province-...
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Nova Scotia Regulator of Dentistry and Dental Assisting
7 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Annual license fee: $1,940 (license year December 1 – November 30)
Source
“$1940 annual license fee (December 1 – November 30)”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/dentists/first-application-for-a-dental-licens... - Annual license fee (graduate student): $114 (for graduate students, license year December 1 – November 30)
Source
“$114 annual license fee (December 1 – November 30)”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/dentists/first-application-for-a-dental-licens...
Trained outside Canada
0 of 4 done
- 4 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $1,940 (license year December 1 – November 30), $114 (for graduate students, license year December 1 – November 30)
-
If you graduated from a non-accredited program, you must successfully complete either the NDEB Equivalency Process or a Qualifying/Degree Completion Program at a Canadian faculty of dentistry to become eligible for the Virtual OSCE.
Source
“If you graduated from a dental program which is not accredited by CDAC, in order to be eligible to challenge the Virtual OSCE, you will need to successfully complete either: the NDEB Equivalency Process, or a Qualifying/Degree Completion Program as a Canadian Faculty of Dentistry”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/internationally-educated-dental-professionals/... -
You must successfully pass the Virtual OSCE administered by the NDEB.
Source
“An individual who wishes to be licensed as a general dentist in Canada must successfully pass the Virtual OSCE administered by the National Dental Examining Board of Canada (NDEB).”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/internationally-educated-dental-professionals/... -
After passing the examinations, you provide proof of graduation to the NDEB to be issued your NDEB certificate.
Source
“Once the examinations are passed, graduates of accredited dental programs in Canada, the U.S., Australia, New Zealand, and Ireland must provide proof of graduation to the NDEB® in order to be issued their NDEB® certificate.”
ndeb-bned.ca/2022/06/02/obtenir-votre-certification-et-votre-permis -
Once certified, you apply for a license with the provincial dental regulatory authority, following the first-application process.
Source
“Once certified, you will then be able to apply for a license with the Dental Regulatory Authority of the province where you plan to practice.”
ndeb-bned.ca/2022/06/02/obtenir-votre-certification-et-votre-permis
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Nova Scotia Regulator of Dentistry and Dental Assisting
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Annual license fee: $1,940 (license year December 1 – November 30)
Source
“$1940 annual license fee (December 1 – November 30)”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/dentists/first-application-for-a-dental-licens... - Annual license fee (graduate student): $114 (for graduate students, license year December 1 – November 30)
Source
“$114 annual license fee (December 1 – November 30)”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/dentists/first-application-for-a-dental-licens...
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Reduced annual license fee: $970 (if licensing after May 31)
Source
“the license fee is reduced to $970 if licensing after May 31”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/dentists/first-application-for-a-dental-licens... - Application Fee (NDEB Equivalency Process): $900 (one time fee, non-refundable)
- Assessment of Fundamental Knowledge (AFK): $1,000
- Assessment of Clinical Judgement (ACJ): $1,350
- NDECC: $6,500
- Equivalency Process Re-application Fee: $400 (non-refundable)
Source
“Equivalency Process Re-application Fee (non-refundable) $400”
ndeb-bned.ca/equivalency-process/fees - Verification of Score AFK, ACJ, or NDECC: $200
- Misconduct decision appeal: $1,200
- Proof of Successful Completion: $30 (each)
- Appeal of the Conduct of an Examination: $1,200
- Administrative fee: $200
Requirements
Education
You must provide a certified copy of your graduation certificate from a dental program accredited by CDAC, CODA, the ADC, the DCNZ, or the Irish Dental Council, along with a letter from the Dean certifying your graduation.
Source
“A certified copy of your graduation certificate from a dental program accredited by the: Commission on Dental Accreditation of Canada (CDAC), American Dental Association Commission on Dental Accreditation (CODA)”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/dentists/first-application-for-a-dental-licens...You must provide a copy of your National Dental Examining Board of Canada general dentistry certificate.
Source
“A copy of your National Dental Examining Board of Canada (NDEB) general dentistry certificate”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/dentists/first-application-for-a-dental-licens...
Experience
If you are not a new graduate, you must provide a letter from employer(s) or a sworn affidavit verifying a minimum of 450 hours of practice within the last three years.
Source
“A letter from employer(s) or a sworn affidavit verifying currency of practice defined as a minimum of 450 hours within the last three years preceding the date of application (Applicable only if not a new graduate)”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/dentists/first-application-for-a-dental-licens...
Police check
You must provide a Vulnerable Sector Search and a Criminal Record Check performed within the previous 12 months.
Source
“A Vulnerable Sector Search and a Criminal Record Check (Performed within the previous 12 months)”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/dentists/first-application-for-a-dental-licens...
Insurance
You must verify malpractice insurance through CDSPI with a minimum of $3 million coverage.
Source
“Verification of malpractice insurance through CDSPI – minimum of $3 million coverage”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/dentists/first-application-for-a-dental-licens...
Other
You must provide a certified copy of your Canadian birth certificate, citizenship card, or proof of permanent residency, or, if not a Canadian citizen or permanent resident, documentation of your authorization to practise dentistry in Canada.
Source
“An applicant must provide a certified copy of their Canadian birth certificate, Canadian citizenship card, or proof of permanent Canadian residency status.”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/dentists/first-application-for-a-dental-licens...You must verify certification in BLS obtained within the past 12 months from an in-person hands-on course with a recognized provider.
Source
“Verification of your certification in BLS obtained within the past 12 months (must be an in-person hands-on course from a recognized provider)”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/dentists/first-application-for-a-dental-licens...
Already licensed in another province?
Direct transfer
Applicants already licensed in another Canadian province or territory register by submitting an online application with certificates of standing from every jurisdiction they have been licensed in, and the initial application and registration fees are waived; no entry-to-practice exam or competence assessment is required. Source
“Already Licensed in Another Province - General Dentist”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/dentists/already-licensed-in-another-province-...
Create an online profile
Source
“Your first step will be to create a profile within our system.”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/dentists/already-licensed-in-another-province-...Request certificates of standing
Source
“you must request that a Certificate of Standing be sent directly to our office from each of those jurisdictions.”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/dentists/already-licensed-in-another-province-...Submit the online application
Source
“you will be required to upload the following documents within your online application”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/dentists/already-licensed-in-another-province-...Pay the annual license fee
Source
“you will be required to pay the following fee: $1940 annual license fee”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/dentists/already-licensed-in-another-province-...Receive your license
Source
“Successful applicants who meet all of the licensing requirements will be entered into the Dentists’ Register and issued a license.”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/dentists/already-licensed-in-another-province-...
Processing time: 5 days
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with Nova Scotia Regulator of Dentistry and Dental Assisting
Exams
-
Virtual OSCE
Source
“must successfully pass the Virtual OSCE administered by the National Dental Examining Board of Canada (NDEB)”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/internationally-educated-dental-professionals/... -
NDEB Written Examination
Source
“You can get certified by taking the NDEB® Written Examination and OSCE.”
ndeb-bned.ca/2022/06/02/obtenir-votre-certification-et-votre-permis -
OSCE
Source
“You can get certified by taking the NDEB® Written Examination and OSCE.”
ndeb-bned.ca/2022/06/02/obtenir-votre-certification-et-votre-permis -
Assessment of Fundamental Knowledge (AFK)
-
Assessment of Clinical Judgement (ACJ)
-
National Dental Specialty Examination (NDSE)
Source
“must successfully pass the National Dental Specialty Examination (NDSE) administered by the Royal College of Dentists of Canada (RCDC)”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/internationally-educated-dental-professionals/...
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with Nova Scotia Regulator of Dentistry and Dental Assisting
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with Nova Scotia Regulator of Dentistry and Dental Assisting
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with Nova Scotia Regulator of Dentistry and Dental Assisting
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nova Scotia | — | $126,000 | — | Good (4 of 5) |
| Canada | $32,867 | $110,000 | $228,000 | — |
Dentists in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Licence required
- Alberta Licence required
- Saskatchewan Licence required
- Manitoba Licence required
- Ontario Licence required
- Quebec Licence required
- New Brunswick Licence required
- Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Licence required
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Sources checked
- First Application for a Dental License in Canada – General Dentist | Nova Scotia Regulator of Dentistry and Dental Assisting nsrdda.ca/applicants/dentists/first-application-for-a-dental-licens... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Already Licensed in Another Province – General Dentist | Nova Scotia Regulator of Dentistry and Dental Assisting nsrdda.ca/applicants/dentists/already-licensed-in-another-province-... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Dentists | Nova Scotia Regulator of Dentistry and Dental Assisting nsrdda.ca/applicants/dentists · fetched October 10, 2026
- Graduates from Non Accredited Dental Programs | Nova Scotia Regulator of Dentistry and Dental Assisting nsrdda.ca/applicants/internationally-educated-dental-professionals/... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Obtaining Certification and Licensure - The National Dental Examining Board of Canada ndeb-bned.ca/2022/06/02/obtenir-votre-certification-et-votre-permis · fetched October 9, 2026
- First Application for a Dental License in Canada – Graduate Student | Nova Scotia Regulator of Dentistry and Dental Assisting nsrdda.ca/applicants/dentists/first-application-for-a-dental-licens... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Fees - The National Dental Examining Board of Canada ndeb-bned.ca/equivalency-process/fees · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a dentist in Nova Scotia?
Yes. Registration with Nova Scotia Regulator of Dentistry and Dental Assisting is required to practise in Nova Scotia.
Which exams are required?
Virtual OSCE, NDEB Written Examination, OSCE, Assessment of Fundamental Knowledge (AFK), Assessment of Clinical Judgement (ACJ), National Dental Specialty Examination (NDSE).
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.