How to Become a Hearing Aid Practitioner in British Columbia
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the College of Health and Care Professionals of BC to work as a hearing aid practitioner in British Columbia or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- Hearing Instrument Practitioner
Show the source
“To practise as a Hearing Instrument Practitioner (HIP) in British Columbia, you must hold a licence with the College of Health and Care Professionals of BC (CHCPBC).”
From chcpbc.org/applicants/hearing-instrument-dispensing, checked October 11, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 6 steps
- Licensed in another province: 3 steps
- Trained outside Canada: 4 steps
- Annual fees
-
- Registration renewal fee: $1,165
Source
“Hearing Instrument Practitioners | $1,165 | $1,075 | +8% | March 31, 2026”
chcpbc.org/2025/10/23/questions-and-answers-about-the-chcpbc-fee-re... - Annual renewal of certification: $50
Source
“Application for certification | $250 | | Annual renewal of certification | $50 |”
chcpbc.org/2025/10/23/questions-and-answers-about-the-chcpbc-fee-re...
- Registration renewal fee: $1,165
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 6 done
- 6 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $1,215
-
You must first apply for a Provisional licence, which lets you practise under approved supervision while completing practical training and examination requirements.
Source
“A Canadian-educated applicant seeking licensure as a HIP in British Columbia must first apply for a Provisional licence.”
chcpbc.org/applicants/hearing-instrument-dispensing -
After your credential is awarded, have your program's official transcripts sent directly from the institution to the College.
Source
“After your credential has been awarded, arrange to have your hearing instrument dispensing program’s official transcripts sent directly from the institution to CHCPBC”
chcpbc.org/applicants/hearing-instrument-dispensing -
Create an account on the College's Licensee Portal and submit your application with the required information and documents.
Source
“A graduate of a recognized Canadian hearing instrument dispensing program, as outlined in the College bylaws, may apply for Provisional licensure as a HIP by having the information and documents listed below ready, and creating an account on the CHCPBC”
chcpbc.org/applicants/hearing-instrument-dispensing -
While holding the Provisional licence, complete the practical training under approved supervision.
Source
“A Provisional licence allows you to practise under approved supervision while completing the practical training and entry-to-practice examination requirements for Full licensure.”
chcpbc.org/applicants/hearing-instrument-dispensing -
Complete the entry-to-practice examination requirement for Full licensure.
Source
“A Provisional licence allows you to practise under approved supervision while completing the practical training and entry-to-practice examination requirements for Full licensure.”
chcpbc.org/applicants/hearing-instrument-dispensing -
After completing the practical training program and the required examinations, apply for a Full Licence and meet all other applicable licensure requirements.
Source
“A Provisional licensee may apply for a Full Licence after completing the practical training program under supervision (unless exempted by the Licence Committee), successfully completing the required entry-to-practice examinations, and meeting all other applicable licensure requirements.”
chcpbc.org/applicants/hearing-instrument-dispensing
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with CHCPBC
6 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $1,215 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Registration renewal fee: $1,165
Source
“Hearing Instrument Practitioners | $1,165 | $1,075 | +8% | March 31, 2026”
chcpbc.org/2025/10/23/questions-and-answers-about-the-chcpbc-fee-re... - Annual renewal of certification: $50
Source
“Application for certification | $250 | | Annual renewal of certification | $50 |”
chcpbc.org/2025/10/23/questions-and-answers-about-the-chcpbc-fee-re...
Licensed in another province
0 of 3 done
- 3 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $1,215
-
If you hold an equivalent licensure status in an accepted Canadian jurisdiction and are in good standing, you may be granted Full licensure to practise in BC.
Source
“Full licensure to practise in BC to hearing instrument practitioners (HIPs) with an equivalent licensure status in another Canadian jurisdiction, who are in good standing with the relevant regulatory body in that jurisdiction and who meet the licensure requirements set out below.”
chcpbc.org/applicants/hearing-instrument-dispensing -
Follow the application process outlined for hearing instrument dispensing applicants and select the licence class you are applying for in the Licensee Portal.
Source
“Follow the application process and requirements outlined on the For Hearing Instrument Dispensing Applicants page. When completing your application in the Licensee Portal, select Provisional as the licence class you are applying for.”
chcpbc.org/applicants/hearing-instrument-dispensing -
If you meet all requirements except passing the entry-to-practice examination, you may hold a Provisional licence and practise under supervision while completing the examination requirement.
Source
“A Provisional licence allows eligible individuals who meet the applicable licensure requirements, except for passing the required entry-to-practice examination, to practise in British Columbia under supervision while completing the examination requirement for Full licensure.”
chcpbc.org/applicants/hearing-instrument-dispensing
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with CHCPBC
3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $1,215 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Registration renewal fee: $1,165
Source
“Hearing Instrument Practitioners | $1,165 | $1,075 | +8% | March 31, 2026”
chcpbc.org/2025/10/23/questions-and-answers-about-the-chcpbc-fee-re... - Annual renewal of certification: $50
Source
“Application for certification | $250 | | Annual renewal of certification | $50 |”
chcpbc.org/2025/10/23/questions-and-answers-about-the-chcpbc-fee-re...
Trained outside Canada
0 of 4 done
- 4 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $1,215
- Listed time: 1.4 to 1.8 months (only 1 of 4 steps state a time)
-
Submit the assessment fee and required documentation, and the Licence Committee will review your education, clinical training, and professional practice experience.
Time: 6 to 8 weeksTime source
“Estimated timeline: Approximately 6–8 weeks after all required documentation and fees have been received.”
chcpbc.org/applicants/hearing-instrument-dispensingSource
“Once the assessment fee and required supporting documentation have been received, your education, clinical training, and/or professional practice experience will be reviewed by the Licence Committee.”
chcpbc.org/applicants/hearing-instrument-dispensing -
If the Licence Committee finds you substantially equivalent, apply for a Provisional HIP licence.
Source
“Internationally educated applicants seeking licensure as a HIP in British Columbia must first apply for a Provisional Licence.”
chcpbc.org/applicants/hearing-instrument-dispensing -
Complete the supervised practical training program (unless exempted) and successfully complete the required entry-to-practice examinations.
Source
“A Provisional licensee may apply for a Full Licence after completing the practical training program under supervision (unless exempted by the Licence Committee), successfully completing the required entry-to-practice examinations, and meeting all other applicable licensure requirements.”
chcpbc.org/applicants/hearing-instrument-dispensing -
After meeting all requirements, apply for a Full Licence.
Source
“A Provisional licensee may apply for a Full Licence after completing the practical training program under supervision (unless exempted by the Licence Committee), successfully completing the required entry-to-practice examinations, and meeting all other applicable licensure requirements.”
chcpbc.org/applicants/hearing-instrument-dispensing
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with CHCPBC
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $1,215 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Registration renewal fee: $1,165
Source
“Hearing Instrument Practitioners | $1,165 | $1,075 | +8% | March 31, 2026”
chcpbc.org/2025/10/23/questions-and-answers-about-the-chcpbc-fee-re... - Annual renewal of certification: $50
Source
“Application for certification | $250 | | Annual renewal of certification | $50 |”
chcpbc.org/2025/10/23/questions-and-answers-about-the-chcpbc-fee-re...
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Application for certification: $250
Source
“Application for certification | $250”
chcpbc.org/2025/10/23/questions-and-answers-about-the-chcpbc-fee-re... - Reinstatement of certification: $100
Source
“Reinstatement of certification | $100”
chcpbc.org/2025/10/23/questions-and-answers-about-the-chcpbc-fee-re... - Certified practice application fee: $250
Source
“If eligible, you will be invoiced the $250 application fee.”
chcpbc.org/licensees/certified-practices - Initial application for registration: $380 (any profession regulated by CHCPBC)
Source
“- $380 for initial application for registration of any profession regulated by CHCPBC.”
chcpbc.org/2025/10/23/questions-and-answers-about-the-chcpbc-fee-re... - Late renewal fee: $350 (registrants who fail to renew on or before March 31 but renew their registration within 30 days of that deadline)
Source
“- A late renewal fee of $350 will be charged to registrants who fail to renew on or before March 31 but renew their registration within 30 days of that deadline.”
chcpbc.org/2025/10/23/questions-and-answers-about-the-chcpbc-fee-re...
Requirements
Education
Canadian-educated audiology graduates must have completed a recognized Canadian Audiology program within three years immediately preceding their application.
Source
“completed a recognized Canadian program in Audiology within three years immediately preceding your application; and”
chcpbc.org/applicants/hearing-instrument-dispensing
Good character
Labour mobility applicants must be in good standing with the regulatory body in their jurisdiction.
Source
“Full licensure to practise in BC to hearing instrument practitioners (HIPs) with an equivalent licensure status in another Canadian jurisdiction, who are in good standing with the relevant regulatory body in that jurisdiction and who meet the licensure requirements set out below.”
chcpbc.org/applicants/hearing-instrument-dispensing
Other
Applicants must not have failed the applicable entry-to-practice examination more than once.
Source
“have not failed the applicable entry-to-practice examination more than once;”
chcpbc.org/applicants/hearing-instrument-dispensingProvisional applicants must be registered for the next available entry-to-practice examination.
Source
“are registered for the next available entry-to-practice examination; and”
chcpbc.org/applicants/hearing-instrument-dispensingProvisional applicants must have an approved supervision arrangement.
Source
“have an approved supervision arrangement.”
chcpbc.org/applicants/hearing-instrument-dispensingLabour mobility applicants must currently be authorized to practise, so those holding non-practising licensure are ineligible.
Source
“Labour mobility applicants must be currently authorized to practise, therefore those holding non-practising licensure are ineligible.”
chcpbc.org/applicants/hearing-instrument-dispensing
Already licensed in another province?
Direct transfer
The College grants Full licensure to HIPs with an equivalent licensure status in another Canadian jurisdiction who are in good standing, based on their current licence without requiring them to retake the entry-to-practice examination. Source
“Full licensure to practise in BC to hearing instrument practitioners (HIPs) with an equivalent licensure status in another Canadian jurisdiction, who are in good standing with the relevant regulatory body in that jurisdiction and who meet the licensure requirements set out below.”
chcpbc.org/applicants/hearing-instrument-dispensing
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with CHCPBC
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with CHCPBC
Exams
Not stated by the regulator Check with CHCPBC
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with CHCPBC
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with CHCPBC
Supervised practice
Required · 660 hours
Provisional HIP licensees must complete a 660-hour practical training program under supervision, unless exempted by the Licence Committee. Source
“The Licence Committee will also consider whether you may be eligible for an exemption from the 660-hour practical training program required for Provisional HIP licensees.”
chcpbc.org/applicants/hearing-instrument-dispensing
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | $22.00 | $30.00 | $39.56 | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Canada | $17.62 | $26.85 | $36.71 | — |
Hearing aid practitioners in other provinces and territories
- Alberta Licence required
- Saskatchewan Licence required
- Manitoba Licence required
- Ontario Not confirmed yet
- Quebec Licence required
- New Brunswick Not confirmed yet
- Nova Scotia Licence required
- Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador Licence required
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Sources checked
- Hearing Instrument Dispensing | CHCPBC chcpbc.org/applicants/hearing-instrument-dispensing · fetched October 10, 2026
- Questions and answers about the CHCPBC Fee Restructuring Project | CHCPBC chcpbc.org/2025/10/23/questions-and-answers-about-the-chcpbc-fee-re... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Certified Practices | CHCPBC chcpbc.org/licensees/certified-practices · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
1
Do you need a licence to work as a hearing aid practitioner in British Columbia?
Yes. Registration with the College of Health and Care Professionals of BC is required to practise in British Columbia, and to use the title Hearing Instrument Practitioner.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.